We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience, wasted time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of K9 Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
K9 Residence
Ranked #10 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad experience, wasted time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment by a friend in Budapest. When he wanted to collect the keys, they told the apartment would not be there (Karoly korut 9.), but farther from the city center because of "technical problems". The other apartment was in an old building near Octogon metro station at the back side of the building, we had to walk through on a dark corridor to reach. The guy at this apartment told about overbooking situation, not "technical problem".
And we did not like the apartment (it was old and had totally different style than K9), eventually we did not stay, we chose another option. So it was wasted time (for us and for my friend as well), wasted money and not the best start.

And I have seen now among the reviews it was not the first time.

Avoid this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanschrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    199
    40
    1
    3
See reviews for
98
261
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 days at the K9 Residence in Budapest in mid November. Excellent location, great price, apartment had all the amenities (including CNN and BBC) and everything seemed new. Front desk receptionist Laura OUTSTANDING, extremely helpful in providing traveler information.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The apartments are perfectly located - we have used the underground only once, when going to Kelety railway station on our way to Vienna.

Another definite advantage (as we were checking out very early) is 24hrs reception which is not typical for apartment hotels. The reception and lifts areas may seem rather shabby at the first sight but the apartment itself is very neat (especially kitchen appliances) and cozy.

Supermarkets are nearby and all the conditions for the self-made breakfast and dinner are present. But in Budapest it is rather cheap to eat outside, therefore we used the kitchen for morning meals mainly.

The staff is very friendly, and speaks English which is very helpful in Hungary ) No deposits on arrival are required. The only disappointment was the fact that credit cards were not accepted, though the booking.com said they do accept them.

Rather noisy in the room at nights due to the large street the windows are facing. We got so tied that it did not bother us at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is quite good, central. Next to the apartment is a supermarket. In spite of what the booking site said it was not possible to pay with credit card, we had to get money out of a nearby ATM (located the left when you leave the K2 complex). The staff was friendly and helpful. The apartment was spacious enough (two bedrooms, separate beds).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mestreech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Well located with cooking facilities and shops & pubs nearby. Near the Danube and not too badly priced.The staff are quite nice too. However they don't take plastic, cash only and the rooms get cleaned only every 3 days or so.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siroisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

When we saw the entrance and poor reception , we were nearly decided to move the next day. When we entered the apartment, we were nicely suprised by comfortbale, simple but very clean premises.But again when we have heart the noise from the street , I was sure to leave it the next morning. What was the suprise when instead of noise we have aslept at once. The next morning we didnot want to move. Nice apartment , very helpful staff at the reception,location just perfect .In the range of 10-200 m from the residence was everything....shops, bars, restaurant (at reasonable prices with good food,buses, trams,metro ........And the residence location in the heart of jewish district with fantastic spirit , synagogas,kosher restaurants....I advise this place .This place has good energy and fantastic location.

Room Tip: rooms like ours are big , no of room 503
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firma8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I highly recommend this accommodation in Budapest - it has a wonderful location, facilities and quality of service!

The accommodation: clean and nicely furnished studio. It has all the facilities necessary for a comfortable stay. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need to prepare fast breakfast or meal. The staff at the reception was extremely polite with us.
At the entrance there is a supermarket in case you need some food or drinks late in the evening :)

As per the location, It is situated in the downtown, pretty close to all the Pest's landmarks, at 10 minutes walking to Danube from the one side and St. Istvan Cathedral from the other. Next to the building is the WizzTransfer meeting point.

Great value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabsBubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K9 Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K9 Residence

Property: K9 Residence
Address: Karoly koerut 9, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — K9 Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
K9 Residence offers modern accommodation in the heart of Budapest with 24h Reception service. Our Studios and 2 Bedroom Apartments are fully equipped and all offer great views over the city. All our units are Air Conditioned and feature broad band wifi internet connection and secure safe boxes. As we are ideally based between Deak Ferenc square and Astoria square our location allows our guests to have excellent access to all means of public transportation or to explore the city easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your K9 Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing