We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in Every Way!”
Review of Butterfly Home B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Butterfly Home B&B
Ranked #6 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Outstanding in Every Way!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were extremely happy with our stay in the Butterfly Home! The room was large, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The location was quiet, on a pedestrian side-street, but only a short distance from the transit, the river, and main restaurant areas. Andras speaks perfect English, and was very helpful with suggestions and tips for Budapest. Breakfast was excellent, complete with Andras's made-to-order coffees. The building only has a few floors, with a wide, easy staircase, but there are no lifts, so be aware of that if mobility is a concern. Andras arranged for a door-to-door taxi service to the airport that was quite reasonably priced. We'd love to go back to Budapest and we'd definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Room 22 is enormous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    60
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
64
265
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Butterfly is definetly a great spot for couple of days in beautiful and romantic Budapest, as it is central and its owners András & Timea fill the space with a soul! They advise on sightseeing, lunch, dinners and boat-cruise and are much better than any travel-book. Book the room on top, which has balcony and space.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjoernrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had four lovely nights at the Butterfly Home, the first part of our stay in Budapest. The B&B is on a quiet street with no cars allowed. Andras Szuhay is a wonderful host. He speaks perfect English and offered us many suggestions for the Pest part of our stay of nearby attractions, museums and restaurants to have great meals.He and his wife Timi provide a large, delicious buffet breakfast and have both a French press and a cappuccino coffee machine--my husband loved their coffee! Lots of tea choices for me as well. They enjoy engaging their guests in conversation at breakfast. We had a lovely, very comfortable room. We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful introduction to this marvelous city than to stay at Butterfly Home. Andras Szuhay and his parents Judit and Lajos (in the Bellevue B&B on the Buda side) are terrific ambassadors for Budapest! Leslie England

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of days and enjoyed the great hospitality. Very interesting tips for exploring Budapest and extremely helpful in arranging a programme - we asked for Opera tickets and got a great deal for a show at the same day! The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean, breakfast is delicious and includes home-made jams as well as freshly-made pancakes.

Room Tip: quiet room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Butterfly Home is very well located in a clean, well kept neighborhood near the Keleti Station, where most trains from cities to the west arrive. The new owners of the b & b, Andras, his wife Timi and mother Judit, are extremely helpful and accommodating. We were treated as part of the family and had many interesting conversations. They had recently taken over the facility from the previous owners and went to great lengths to make sure that everything was perfect. We will definitely stay here again when in Budapest. Many sites, i.e., the river, Vaci Utca, the Gellert baths and the national museum are very close, as are the metro and several trams to access areas further out. A wonderful and memorable experience.

Room Tip: We were in a front (pedestrian only) street-facing room, but all the rooms should be equally quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUZZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az usa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Norma and I had the good fortune to spend one night at the Butterfly B & B this September. Andras and his wife Timi were engaging and accommodating. They treated us as if we were kin not absolute strangers. The Butterfly is wonderfully located with stylishly decorated and charming rooms - one with the remnants of a Medieval rock wall to beguile those happy enough to book it. It's people that make traveling rewarding. Andras and Timi are proof of that. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normaTucsonAzUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of being Andreas' first customers after he took ownership of Butterfly Home in early September, and we were overwhelmed by the overall experience. Andreas is well tutored in B&B accommodation (by his parents), and he went out of his way to ensure our 3 night stay was enjoyable and memorable. As mentioned in previous reviews, nothing was too much trouble. Andreas was the perfect host, ensuring we knew some of his recommended eateries in the area, and ensured we knew our way around quite quickly. Our room on the 2nd floor was spacious and well presented. The bathroom was modern and spotless, and the breakfasts were varied and more than adequate to start the day. Thanks Andreas for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,406 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#48 of 334 in Budapest
1,124 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,924 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#53 of 334 in Budapest
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Home B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Home B&B

Property: Butterfly Home B&B
Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a grand building in the heart of the city, right by the Danube, a stone's throw away from the famous pedestrian walking street Váci utca. Within walking distance, you can visit Hungarian National Museum, the popular Gellert Bath, the Great Synagogue and Budapest's new SoHo - the Jewish District, Raday Street, Liberty Bridge, Grand Market Hall, or take a romantic stroll along the Danube. Experience Hungarian hospitality in the numerous bars and restaurants of the neighborhood. Almost all of our rooms offer picturesque views of the Danube, Liberty Bridge, Gellért Hill, Fővám Square and Grand Market Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Butterfly Home B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing