We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in Budapest”
Review of Butterfly Home B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Butterfly Home B&B
Ranked #5 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Butterfly home provided us with a perfect place to explore Budapest, with its proximity to the city and facilities. Tonji was kind enough to wait for us as our bus arrived after normal hours. He proved a hospitable host, providing us with ideas, maps, explanations, and chat. We really enjoyed his company. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable, the breakfast excellent served in the delightful breakfast room. Within walking distance were many excellent restaurants which meant we didn't have to go far to eat. Thanks Tonji, for a fabulous experience. If I am ever in Budapest again I will certainly stay at Butterfly Home. Joy. Australia

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 618JoyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Butterfly Home B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 510 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent three nights at Butterfly home. It was very clean, stylish, and quiet, while being in close walking distance to wonderful neighborhoods and sights. Tonci, the owner, was very welcoming, accommodating and went above and beyond to ensure that our visit to Budapest was as wonderful as possible. Breakfast was also delicious. I highly recommend staying here while visiting Budapest.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bluegreen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Was taken here as a surprise birthday treat. Fabulous Bed and Breakfast. Can't fault it. Huge rooms, friendly, helpful owner, lovely fresh breakfasts and a prime location.
If you are ever in Budapest I insist you stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitteecat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved our stay in Tonci's lovely B&B. He was a wonderful host and provided a warm welcome and help; the room and bath were comfortable, roomy and well'equiped. And the location was perfect. Tonci's suggestions of the restaurant on the corner (Brossu Bistro) was the gem of our eating experience while in Budapest.
Thanks, Tonci.
Regards from Don and Jackie Feinstein

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a wonderful visit here! Tonci was extremely helpful and accommodating. He provided us with helpful informayion from the first day of our stay through arranging transport for our departure. We loved the location and the accommodations could not have been more splendid. The breakfast was the perfect way to begin our exploration of beautiful Budapest! We felt like we had the best of both worlds. We could easily access all the sites, yet we returned to a quieter area(neighborhood) to relax. There were plenty of fabulous restaurants in the immediate area. One of our favorites was literally steps from the Butterfly Home, Borsso Bistro, a Hungarian culinary treat that shouldn't be missed. We will definitely return to Tonci 's Butterfly Home when in Budapest. Thanks Tonsi! Best to your wife and daughter.
Theodora, Rob, and Lukas Kret
Santa Fe, NM USA

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodoratravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Everything about this hotel was good. Our room was very large with a lounge area. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is good for all the attractions. There is a very very good restaurant next door the Borsso Bistro. We really enjoyed our stay here and would book again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likeroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Butterfly Home. We were warmly cared for by owners Tonci and Agnes and delightful staff, Bori. The small Bed and Breakfast is located on the upper floors of a building situated on the Pest side, in an ideal location within walking distance of cafe's, the Danube, a large indoor market, the Green Bridge and many wonderful sights. Tonci couldn't have been a nicer host! He remembered that I had mentioned we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and left a celebratory gift for us in our room. He spent time showing us a map of the city and pointing out sights and local places we should visit (one place was a cafe in Alexander's Book Store - a beautifully adorned, indoor, relaxing spot). Also, conveniently, we were able to purchase Hop on/off bus tickets at the Butterfly Home, which was a great way to see Budapest! Each morning we had a delicious breakfast of meats, cheeses, breads, freshly squeezed OJ and coffee made personally for us by Bori. What a treat!
The owners, the staff, the location, and the friendliness and personal attention provided makes the Butterfly Home a very nice place to stay while visiting Budapest. Thank you Tonci, Agnes and Bori!

Room Tip: Rooms located on the same floor as the breakfast room are a convenient location.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagoannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
2,448 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#48 of 333 in Budapest
1,154 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#43 of 333 in Budapest
721 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#52 of 333 in Budapest
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Home B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Home B&B

Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: $69 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a grand building in the heart of the city, right by the Danube, a stone's throw away from the famous pedestrian walking street Váci utca. Within walking distance, you can visit Hungarian National Museum, the popular Gellert Bath, the Great Synagogue and Budapest's new SoHo - the Jewish District, Raday Street, Liberty Bridge, Grand Market Hall, or take a romantic stroll along the Danube. Experience Hungarian hospitality in the numerous bars and restaurants of the neighborhood. Almost all of our rooms offer picturesque views of the Danube, Liberty Bridge, Gellért Hill, Fővám Square and Grand Market Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Butterfly Home B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing