We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect experience”
Review of Butterfly Home B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Butterfly Home B&B
Ranked #6 of 190 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Butterfly Home B & B provided us with an excellent experience on our first visit to Budapest. Owner Tonci was accommodating and helpful in every way, in spite of the fact that his wife was at home with a fever and a 12-week old baby. (I hope that you are completely recovered, Agnes!). On his way home on Saturday evening,Tonci even offered us a ride to the Opera House! What generous hospitality. The little side street on which the B & B is located is quiet, but very convenient to everything. At the corner of the block is an excellent restaurant, which Tonci recommended, and where we ate not only our first night's dinner, but brought friends back for lunch the next day. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was an actual feast. We could not have had a more perfect experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moxie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 513 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We always turn to TripAdvisor for recommendations, and we've never been disappointed. But Butterfly Home exceeded all our expectations. The room was enormous, sparkling, and elegantly decorated. The location was perfect, a short walk from the Market Hall and the Danube, and we had secure parking nearby at the Merkure Hotel. Breakfast was abundant and delicious. And our hosts were incredibly helpful. We'd been unable to get tickets for Parliament on our first day, and mentioned at breakfast that we should have ordered online: our host promptly logged in to the appropriate website for us and helped us to order tickets for the following morning. Our hosts had lots of tips and advice when asked, but never tried to push a particular tour or restaurant on us. Budapest was the highlight of our trip, and if you're staying anywhere else in Budapest but the Butterfly Home, you're staying at the wrong hotel. A real gem!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Title says it all really, everything was as expected and like all the other reviews I've only got good things to say about the Butterfly Home.
Location is excellent, room was large and clean, same with the bathroom, hosts were very helpful and breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntonyWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Massive bedroom, great breakfasts, excellent tips on excursions and incredibly friendly hosts and hospitality for a bargain price.
Agnes and Tonci were so helpful with all parts of our trip putting themselves out to make our trip as easy as possible.
The location was great making it very easy to get around the city.
Would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

As a couple we stayed 3 nights at Butterfly home, which is located in a quiet corner in the center of Budapest, so we could reach all main attractions by feet in the city.
Our room and the bathroom were very clean and comfortable, the breakfast very tasty.
Espacially the service was great, our very nice hosts gave us everytime good help for any questions we had.
We want to visit Budapest again, for us there will be no other choice to sleep. Very great !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Excellent quiet location close to the trams and metro for all the main sights and attractions.
Agnes and Tonci are fantastic hosts and gave us good advice , restaurant recommendations etc. When we booked tickets for the opera they provided us with a printed synopsis in English. This was a great help as it was sung in Italian with Hungarian subtitles displayed. Rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was great with freshly made coffee and orange juice as well as cheeses, meats, cereals , yoghurt and pastries. We had a great time and recommend the Butterfly Home as the place to stay for travellers who prefer the personal touch rather than a large hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris1953190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful hotel and it was really pleasure. Very good central but in the same time quiet location, nice huge room with real fireplace, comfortable beds, new shower, soft towels, it's better then Hyatt or Ritz:) What I really love there- breakfast!!)) Fresh orange juice, the Owner make tasty coffee every day for us, yammi croissants, traditional pastry, all different cheese.. Ohh you have to go one day and try it! Thank you so much dear Agi&Tonci! I wish you all the best!! My impression of Budapest would not be the same without you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Azazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 335 in Budapest
758 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 335 in Budapest
2,506 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#52 of 335 in Budapest
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Anabelle B&B
Anabelle B&B
#4 of 190 in Budapest
417 reviews
Kapital Inn
#1 of 190 in Budapest
672 reviews
House Beletage
#5 of 190 in Budapest
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Home B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Home B&B

Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: $53 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a grand building in the heart of the city, right by the Danube, a stone's throw away from the famous pedestrian walking street Váci utca. Within walking distance, you can visit Hungarian National Museum, the popular Gellert Bath, the Great Synagogue and Budapest's new SoHo - the Jewish District, Raday Street, Liberty Bridge, Grand Market Hall, or take a romantic stroll along the Danube. Experience Hungarian hospitality in the numerous bars and restaurants of the neighborhood. Almost all of our rooms offer picturesque views of the Danube, Liberty Bridge, Gellért Hill, Fővám Square and Grand Market Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Butterfly Home B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing