We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, immaculate, central and quiet - ideal accommodation in Budapest”
Review of Butterfly Home B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Butterfly Home B&B
Ranked #6 of 190 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Butterfly Home is a converted mid 20th century apartment building on a quiet, pedestrianised street in the centre of Budapest. The Danube is five minutes walk away, looking across to Budapest castle (gentle 20 minutes), as is the principal shopping street. The opera, parks, trams, metro, Jewish quarter and so on are also close by. Rooms are large and spotlessly clean, the proprietors are friendly and helpful - eg recommending a v good Hungarian restaurant close by - and breakfast is good, calm and plentiful. I would recommend without hesitation.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank RobertHenryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 511 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We just left this great hotel, the hoteliers were super friendly. The coffee was the best we had on our entire trip. The breakfast was great (fresh squeezed OJ), the room was huge with a really nice bathroom. No phone in room, but the owner lent me his, very nice. We will return. Great location, one block from the metro (which was great) and just tucked in enough to be quiet (except for the occasional construction noise) The owners helped us plan our day trips (don't miss the szcecneay baths, I didn't spell this correctly, but you'll be able to find it, the metro has a stop there)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

it really is all true! We were a group of 5 women staying in 2 rooms. The rooms were big with high ceilings, clean and plenty of space for all. The bathrooms were clean and fresh with all the required amenities. Great breakfast with plenty of choice and these guys really cannot do enough for you - even doing research on opening times and bus routes for us as we were there over New Year and as we all know things can get a little disrupted then. We were even given a bottle of the local plonk to celebrate New Year's Eve with in each room!
The lock to one of the rooms was a little tricky butotherwise I have only good things to say!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

When I traveled to Budapest this november, I booked a room in Butterfly home. I had some information about this B&B, but what I found, exceeded my expectations. The room was nice, big and clean, breakfast was good - great coffee - , and Tonci, who runs this fine B&B, is a nice and helping guy. When you are looking for something special and individual, go there. The location is great - the market hall and the is around the corner and you´ll find a lot of good restaurants nearby. It´s located near the river, just a mile or so from Gellert. From there, you can reach every point of interest easily with public transport, Another good thing is the fast internet access - for free. I will definitely stay there for my next trip to Budapest.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mofateam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Why repeat what all other reviews say. It is true! Really great place to stay in Budapest - perfect location, spacious room, helpful host, delicious breakfast, very professional but homy at the same time. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuzana_svetlikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The proprietors are kind and friendly and will help with anything. The rooms are modern and comfortable. Very much appreciated the kettle to boil water for tea!
Breakfasts are delicious. There is a great little cafe downstairs. One evening I opened my window to soak in the sounds of gypsy music below - was just beautiful. Great location but nice and quiet too. I would recommend this B&B as a great place to stay..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Butterfly home is situated in quite pedestrian street, the location is perfect. Main streets, Gellert baths, Central market, metro station are near, only few minutes walk away. The owner is very friendly. The breakfast is perfect, the room is very spacious and clean.We really enjoyed our stay at the Butterfly Home and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank František B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 335 in Budapest
2,468 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#48 of 335 in Budapest
1,167 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 335 in Budapest
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,863 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#49 of 335 in Budapest
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Home B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Home B&B

Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: $46 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a grand building in the heart of the city, right by the Danube, a stone's throw away from the famous pedestrian walking street Váci utca. Within walking distance, you can visit Hungarian National Museum, the popular Gellert Bath, the Great Synagogue and Budapest's new SoHo - the Jewish District, Raday Street, Liberty Bridge, Grand Market Hall, or take a romantic stroll along the Danube. Experience Hungarian hospitality in the numerous bars and restaurants of the neighborhood. Almost all of our rooms offer picturesque views of the Danube, Liberty Bridge, Gellért Hill, Fővám Square and Grand Market Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Butterfly Home B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing