We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hospital in the Rock
Budapest Card
151 Reviews
from $25.60
More Info
from $53.50
More Info
from $53.50
More Info
from $72.00
More Info
Reviews (4,281)
Filter reviews
2,647 results
Traveler rating
1,708
740
151
40
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,708
740
151
40
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nuclear bunker cold war wax figures guided tour medical equipment cave system original equipment air raid red cross short film medical staff bomb shelter every hour on the hour fascinating place second world war hungarian revolution tour starts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,647 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

The work that has gone in to preserve this site is incredible - and it's been kind to an accurate depiction of the four periods of history it's been actually used - 1930's (Air raid shelter), 1940's (WW2), 1956 (Hungarian revolution), 1960's to 2002 (Cold war and beyond).

The guide had perfect English. Her narration, tonality, and knowledge was superb.

This is a MUST see museum.

Going on a weekend, it was a little busy - and my group - maybe a little too large - but the museum had to accommodate demand. The tour took approximately 50 minutes. I could have easily spent the whole day here just wandering around. If I had more time - I would come again even within a few days of visiting.

This is a superb museum. Really really well done.

Photographs are not allowed inside (Shame).

Thank Morser221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This (~1 hour) tour gives you great insight into the heroic efforts of the doctors during the siege of Budapest. It further explains how the hospital was turned into a secret nuclear bunker. Nuclear holocaust is not for the faint of heart. It gives one great pause to think that man could venture down this path. Moving!

Thank cmcstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This attraction should be on your list to see in Budapest. The hospital was active during WW II and then was upgraded during the cold war in anticipation of a nuclear attack. It was interesting for an American to hear and see the other side of the bombing. Tours are given hourly in English.

Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This is a worthwhile slice of history, well presented, informative and emotionally moving, go. It takes one hour and runs once an hour.

Thank RosiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow this place was so interesting. The history, not only of the nuclear bunker, but also it's previous hospital days was excellent. The guide we had was very professional and detailed, she kept everything fresh and interesting.
Also we found the prices great, even the price of buying genuine army and hospital surplus items from the gift shop was cheap.
Definitely recommend.

Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sziklakorhaz, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hospital in the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Todd S,

thank you for your kind review and recommendation! We are glad to hear you had a great time with us.

We work tirelessly to share the extraordinary history of Hospital in the Rock among our visitors.

Kind regards,
Hospital in the Rock Nuclear Bunker Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was lucky enough to choose visiting this attraction, just 2 weeks ago, with a group of friends.
The hospital was used in WW11 and also again in the Hungarian Revolution, The chief medical officer managed to give Red Cross passes to over 1000 Jews, during WW11, this meant that they escaped and their lives were saved. During the Hungarian revolution, the deputy medical officer from WW11, again worked in the Hospital, which also doubled as a nuclear bunker.
There is an initial sub-titled film, Sadly by reading the text, I often missed that pictures from the time. We then had an english speaking guide, who was very enthusiastic. We did have ear-pieces, but as there are many twists and turns, sometimes we lost the information.
The final part of the tour showed pictures drawn by those that had experienced a nuclear attck. So, so vivid and moving.
Well worth a visit if you have time to spend in this amazing city.

Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our local guide spoke good English and was very knowledgeable about the hospital and it's history.
A fascinating look at how the wounded soldiers were cared for in this most unusual setting.
The tour also includes how the site was later used as a nuclear bunker during the Cold War.

Thank betterthanwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited the Hospital in the Rock because I had some time to kill while I was in the city. It is 100% worth a visit, you really get to see a different side of Budapest. Tour guide (Máté) was knowledgeable and friendly.

Thank noahp629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very informative tour, detailing the history of the hospital from WW2 to the present day.Well worth a visit.

Thank 548keelyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here in our last day, mostly because a friend had said it was cooler being in the rocks and Budapest was roasting in August! But it turned out to be a great experience. The majority of the tour is through the old hospital and administration areas which are kitted out with waxwork patients and original medical equipment and provisions. Then it switches to the nuclear bunker, a more modern warfare room (complete with helicopter) and then the nuclear warfare part which was moving/sobering.

Thank Cali369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews