We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hungarian meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunyadi Etterem Restaurant

Hunyadi Etterem Restaurant
Ranked #286 of 3,043 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: Hunyadi Restaurant is located in the 1st district of Budapest, 2 minutes from the Chain Bridge and 5 minutes from the famous Castle of Buda. On the menu, you can find special Hungarian dishes and Hungarian wines as well as other meals from around the world. We are open on Tue-Wed-Thu from 5pm to 10pm. Fri-Sat-Sun from 12am to 10pm.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hungarian meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Order only the most local food and ask for the wine's house. It's like 10? the bottle.
Recommend the breaded cheese starter and the beef strogonoff ofcourse.

Helpful?
Thank DrMartens
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    120
    36
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is tucked away but not too difficult to find. It was a wonderful example of Hungarian food with enormous serves, great wine and terrific staff. The food was unexpectedly light and not stodgy as we had expected. After encouragement we tried the Palincka.. woo.
Tip, they don't take cards, but accepted Euro for us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank helsie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a great experience. The food was divine, and great Hungarian cuisine. This is in a quiet neighborhood on the Buda side, and just feels non-touristy. The hostess/waitress was awesome. The one thing that we weren't aware of was that they take cash only, which is fine, but you have to walk to the Hilton up by the Fisherman's Bastion up 4-5 flights of stairs if you need cash.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raininroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delightful night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We ate here on our first night in Budapest. We had seen the reviews on Trip Advisor and sought it out as it was close to our hotel. It proved to be our best meal in Budapest. The food was very good, the room pretty and comfortable, and the service was delightful. It is located halfway up the hill from the Chain Bridge up to the castle district, so is convenient for lunch or dinner, even if staying in Pest. It is well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeighCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of our life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by a friend and on the trip advisor list so we thought we'd give it a try. Grab your friends, your loved ones and head on over when in Budapest. You won't be disappointed. Don't know why it isn't showing a higher rating, maybe because it's a little out of the way and hard to find. It's near the Castle District down the hill a bit. The chicken was recommended so i had that and the sauce was out of this world! We went early and were the only ones in the restaurant. After my first bite i couldn't believe this place wasn't packed to the roof. It began to fill up later but no where near it should be for the quality of the meal, the service, the value, and the quiet, comfortable ambience. We were treated to a couple of glasses of Palinka by the host as he heard our oohs and ah's and asked us about our meal. Please don't miss the opportunity to treat your taste buds!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adventuregirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunyadi Etterem Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hunyadi Etterem Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing