We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but nothing special to us”

Hunyadi Etterem Restaurant
Ranked #290 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Hungarian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: Hunyadi Restaurant is located in the 1st district of Budapest, 2 minutes from the Chain Bridge and 5 minutes from the famous Castle of Buda. On the menu, you can find special Hungarian dishes and Hungarian wines as well as other meals from around the world. We are open on Tue-Wed-Thu from 5pm to 10pm. Fri-Sat-Sun from 12am to 10pm.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but nothing special to us”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a good meal there, but now I can't even remember, what I was eating there :) And this is only week after our visit, but 4 or 5 restaurant later also. All of them were better than this one and that is why I can't give it more that 3 stars.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SylwiaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    126
    37
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must if you wish to experience splendour”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went here from the recommendations on TA. It was a lovely place, nicely decorated, staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. It was not busy when we went, but the food was devine! I had the chicken with goats cheese and my husband had the veal cheak, we were very impressed, and the bill was not as high as expected considering the quality of food and service.
It is located in the Buda side rather than Pest, but close to the main bridge, it was a lovely walk back with all the lights making the scenary very romantic.
I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ayalajacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Excellent food, Excellent service, Amazing night!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It's a must when you are in Budapest. The service was pretty great. It's not the first time I visited this restaurant, but not the last, thats for sure. As for the food, It was pretty great, I ordered chicken with goat cheese. Excelent, the only word describes this meal.
I pretty much recommend this place, if you want to have an amazing night starting in a charming restaurant!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaurinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food, family atmosphere but still nice and quit luxury restaurat!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Definitely must try when you are in Budapest. Warming service, they know what to recommend. Food is perfectly decorated. I recommend antipasti with goose liver.Duck breast with forest mushrooms! Nice and crispy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndinoKekino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Was hoping for a lot more”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were so excited to try this place out as it is so highly rated on here. It is on a very, very noisy street where all the tour buses go non-stop up a very steep hill to Matthias Church. We came here for early dinner and were the only ones in the restaurant. We were seated right in front of the door, which stayed open the entire time, which means the noise and the terrible smells from the tour buses was just awful. Looking back, we should have asked to be reseated. I'm thinking that the door stayed open to get more people in. The whole time we were there we were alone and the waitress was nice and pretty good. The food wasn't bad, but not great, definitely not a traditional Hungarian fare, smaller portions and prices on the high side. As the other reviewer has pointed out, Americans will probably be happy with the food, but Europeans who actually know good food will not think much of it. They need to keep the door closed to keep the noise and smells away from the paying customers. It's a good location being close to the cathedral if you are in shape, but being on such a steep hill, anybody with achy knees will not like it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank romeopitbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunyadi Etterem Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hunyadi Etterem Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing