We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Ranked #20 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is amazing, the decor is very unique to other hotels, its so lovely, very modern with a very welcoming atmosphere, the staff are very helpful and polite, the food at the restaurant was also very nice, with a good choice on the menu and the wine was nice too, there is a good choice of restaurants and bars near by and a big shopping mall in easy walking distance, we stayed for 2 nights and we are going back in a few weeks as i left some clothes there, the hotel manager (Kate) has been so helpful in finding my clothes and keeping them for me, she was going to post them back to me, but we thought we might aswell go back again, as we loved it so much, hopefully no snow this time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carollane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very good hotel in the heart of it all. Excellent large and modern rooms with all amenities. Walking distance to everything. Service is very good. I would be skeptical of anyone who has something negative to say about this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: request room looking over the park.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed her for 3 nights with my girlfriend and it was brilliant. Before I arrived the staff were very helpful over email organising a transfer from the airport. When we arrived the staff were so friendly and helpfull. The room was amazing with a free standing barh and view of the square outside. The hotel is also in a great location 2 mins from St Stephens Basillica and Parliament and te Danube. The breakfast was very nice as well and again the staff couldnt do enough to help. Overall the stay was brilliant becasue of the hotel and staff and the city itself. Would definatley go back and stay there again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillDornan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The rooms are quirky - a cross between kinky / brothel type of a vibe with the red lighting above the bed and the use of red and black colour palette. However the rooms are extremely spacious, comfy, and extremely clean (great housekeeping).

The service was really weird and mixed - and as per comments made by other reviewers, not of a 5 star standard. They were not at all helpful regarding things to do in Budapest, or assisting with bookings. The reception desk has an unfriendly design where the receptionist effectively sits behind a wall - I found it rude and by the end of my stay just sat down and talked through the wall to them. Staff seem to have very narrow roles and get quite agitated when you unknowingly ask them a question that is outside of their role (eg. at breakfast asking the lady in charge of taking drink orders as you entered the restaurant for info about the buffet before I committed to eating there and placed my drink order). I'm not sure if there are better options in Budapest, or if this unfriendly service thing is more cultural.

This is a comfy, modern hotel in a great location - I would stay there again, but lower my service expectations.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms do not have windows to the outside - they are directed internally. If you like ou...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandyMoo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel's physical structure is new, clean and well designed. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The room decor might be considered by some a bit garish in its bold contemporary colors and patterns. But for the roominess and comfort the guest rooms provide, I'll gladly live with sub-optimal color schemes.

The hotel has clearly attempted to project an image of luxury with it's high end accoutrements : electric curtains, rainhead showers, separate luxury bathtub, built in 40 in' flat screen TV, canopy beds, mirrored walls, terry robes, bidets, bathroom scales, TV speakers in the bathroom, etc.

While these are all nice touches, there are some major gaps on the service side. One annoying aspect is their fitness center. For reasons incomprehensible to me, the facility is closed until 9 AM. This may reflect the Spanish lineage of the hotel. But for many international business travelers, workouts are an important consideration in their travel requirements. And most of us dispense with this daily obligation first thing in the morning. A 9 AM opening makes this facility useless.

There is an attempt to mimic other luxury lodging in the way guests are registered. Instead of walking up to a counter to register, the guests are offered seats in a cushy chair with a drink in front of a desk for that personalized attention. The guest is then escorted to the room and shown the tricks of the trade (how to work the electric curtains, control the volume of the TV in the bathroom, etc.). When this works, it is a nice welcome to a place of lodging.

But then there are those times when more than one guest arrives at the same time. There is only one desk and one person registering people. The process can be slow, and wait for the later arriving registrants can be long, especially when the people registering have an issue to be resolved. There is apparently no procedure for calling out a backup person to handle .'crowds'. This otherwise wonderfully welcoming ritual, turned in to an agonizingly long wait to finally get to my room.

But the biggest disappointment was the difficulty getting guidance on how to navigate a city one is very unfamiliar with. A previous reviewer with a similar concern noted that concierge service was limited to the midday hours. I was unaware of any such service as my needs for such always would be in the early AM and early evening. One should expect a reasonable level of support for guests trying to figure out the transport system,-- taxi, tram, trains,etc. Restaurant suggestions, reservation booking, map reading help, These are the things that make the difference between a pleasant visit and one that is frustrating and agonizing.

There is no concierge desk in the lobby. My questions were fielded by whoever happened to be working registration, and it was someone different each time. And their responses (garnered only when they were not otherwise tied up in registering arriving guests) clearly indicated no real experience or inclination toward helpfulness in these areas. The information I received from one contradicted information received from another. The staff was polite but there was nonetheless an unspoken message "you do know: this ain't my job".

If your lodging requirements are limited to a very comfortable room in a very nice location, this place could be ideal for you. But if you needs extend to accessing information about the city, you might want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The north-facing rooms and the most desirable as they overlook Liberty Square.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just spent a couple of days in Budapest, my boyfriend booked it for me as a treat.
Normally he never books anything this good. Bless him.
On arrival we got an a fresh orange juice and then a porter took us to our room.
A little high tec for a girl from Wales, automatic dark curtains, sound system in the bathroom and light swiches to control mood and light. I felt like a superstar, after a difficult period I could at last relax and enjoy. If honest I could have spent the three days in the room.
The hotel was so close to everything and plenty to do and see.
The weather was not brillant raining a bit of the time and then the sun came out.
Everything was cool and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
P.S.Thank you Atilla you were like an Oracle you knew everything where to go and what to see.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the park
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A really good hotel in a great location with large and quirky rooms. The hotel is located in a nice part of Budapest at the end of a road with a beautiful square and if you're lucky (and we were) with great views over the square towards the Parliament building. The decor is very modern as are the rooms, the bathroom has glass walls but the shower and toilet are in obscured glass cubicles and very tastefully done. The staff were efficient but not in your face which I like. The road outside has shops and restaurants all along it and everything is within walking distance, I will certainly return to Budapest and use this hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MartinS39194S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,342 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
365 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 333 in Budapest
3,413 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest

Address: Oktober 6. utca 26. | at Szabadság tér, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $142 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance in Budapest can be experienced in many interesting ways. One of the most exclusive ways to experience it is by staying at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, a luxury hotel that offers superior, elegant, and different accommodation. Located next to Liberty Square, the hotel offers a host of details that a luxury traveller will appreciate, including gourmet cuisine, the grandeur of resting in a suite with views of the city, the passions that a SPA Sensations treatment offers, the decoration of the hotel’s details that have been designed by the famed Philippe Starck, and the hosting of sophisticated events. The 50 Grand rooms at this Budapest hotel are the perfect spot for those wishing to explore Budapest, knowing that they can continue experiencing the city inside and outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing