We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Ranked #21 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon hotel.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We came here for 3 nights on our recent honeymoon and it was perfect. Champagne on arrival, a beautiful room with a lovely view and friendly staff. Plus the breakfast was delicious and had everything you could want. The location was perfect as you could walk everywhere and there were some great restaurants on the same street. Highly recommended, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsCH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear guest,

In the first place, we would like to congratulate you once more for your recent wedding and we thank you for choosing our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest for such a special occasion. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is one of our most important features that our staff has a good contact to our guests and welcomes them with open arms. We try to fulfill and even surpass all the expectations of all our target groups as they range from families to golden agers of many different cultures and nationalities. Therefore, all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. This is why we can confirm that they provide a personalized service. When you write that you find our employees very friendly, it strengthens our determination to continue developing an authentic service culture that enchants each and every of our clients.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we allocated you in. It is our goal to provide comfortable and spotless accommodation in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

We also pay the finest attention to detail when it comes to remarkably prepared food and unmatched service. We are very happy to see that you felt absolutely satisfied with the gastronomy that our kitchen staff prepares for our guests, we are sure that compliments like yours make their work worthwhile and we will certainly congratulate them for enriching your holiday with tasty culinary highlights.

It is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    249
    52
    17
    9
See reviews for
128
696
51
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel has got it all. Location , rooms , great service and comfy beds. The only problems we ran into we're the safes and the showers. The showers drain out into the bathroom and the safes didn't work properly.
The cost is a high but you pay for what you get and we got all we wanted.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Clay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Clay,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

Please receive our most sincere apologies for the difficulties you experienced with the shower and safe. Our technical service was informed about it and our technicians are trying to solve the inconvenience.

On the other hand, we are delighted and we want to thank you for highlighting the comfort of our rooms, the beautiful location, and the quality of our culinary performances as the personalized and close service. Those are very important aspects for us and the key to satisfy our guests.

In name of all of the staff we thank you again for your visit, we were all delighted to have you among us, and we would be honored if in the not too distant future we have the pleasure to welcome you back in our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This Hotel is a must, the staff were the most friendly i have ever had in my travels, the rooms were modern, clean and beautiful but most of all the location was the best. You could walk everywhere, we only took a cab one time other than that you can walk to almost everything, even across the river we walked the chain bridge to the other side and its not far at all, you see the parliment the whole way once you hit the river. The Iberostar is the place to stay all around you can't go wrong here. Do yourself a favor and stay here. Melissa, Waylon, Chelsea & Alex

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank moeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first trip to Budapest and the Iberostar Hotel was one of the many highlights.

The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms amazing. We had the tasting menu in the hotel restaurant one evening and equal to the Michelin star restaurants we have in Scotland. Breakfasts excellent too.

The staff were at all times very professional and always helpful, and the manager Laurent gave us a guided tour of the hotel with its history which we appreciated.

The hotel itself will encourage us back to Budapest in the future, and we will seek this chain also when we stay in other parts of the world.

Ruth Walker

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We asked for an executive suite and it was definitely worth the money. Our room was big, comfortable and overlooking liberty square, close to chain bridge and St. Stephan's basilica. The staff was helpful (helped us with reservations to visit the Parliament) mad WIFI was included.

Room Tip: We loved the view to Liberty square ( room 204)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msalazardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent hotel! Located mid-way between the Parliament and St. Steven's church, it's in easy walking distance to all the major tourist attractions. We almost stayed at the InterContinental since my wife has priority status there. But the fact that InterContinental charged for wifi and an extra person was a big turn off. So we were very happy with our choice at Iberostar!

As many others have mentioned in these reviews, the hotel is very modern. Following the tips here on TripAdvisor, I asked for a room on the top level (fifth floor) with a view of the square when we arrived. The receptionist was extremely helpful, and after some checking, was able to accommodate us. The room itself was very spacious and the bed very comfortable. The in-room safe was a tad small. My wife typically brings her small laptop with her which can usually fit in most hotel in-room safes. But, unfortunately, this wasn't the case with Iberostar's safe.

The bathroom, while very nice, was unusual in that it had a clear glass pane as the wall separating it from the rest of the room. While this makes it convenient for watching TV in the other room (especially with the extra volume controls in the bathroom), a curtain to close off the glass wall would have been good for additional privacy and to prevent disturbing the person in the other room during late night bathroom breaks or early morning showers. The knobs on the faucet sink were also very difficult to turn with soapy hands. You basically had to leave the water running while soaping your hands, or you could never get them turned on again!

Still, these are just a few nits in an otherwise perfect hotel stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rback100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

What a delight to read your extensive review full of wonderful comments on our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest. We always strive to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and it is very motivating and pleasant to see that on this occasion we reached our goal.

It is one of our most important features that our staff has a good contact to our guests and welcomes them with open arms. We try to fulfill and even surpass all the expectations of all our target groups as they range from families to golden agers of many different cultures and nationalities. Therefore, all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training to provide the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for. We will inform our reception about your satisfaction with their performance.

We thank you for recommending us and it is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. At Iberostar we try or our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts . We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Iberostar is right in e middle of the city, around 10mins taxi ride from the main station, it can also be ached very easily with the subway. Check-in was friendly and competent, I got upgraded to a nice junior suite. The hotel is brandnew, the rooms spacious, modern with all amenities one can wish for! The bathroom was really nice - the only downside was that there were some problems with the heating in there. Breakfast is a buffet and one can order whatever warm egg-dish one wants. In the basement there is a small spa area witha central whirlpool, a sauna and turkish bath.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1970031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear John,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are very happy that on this occasion we have been able to do so.

It is enjoyable to read how comfortable you felt in our modern hotel with spacious rooms. However, we apologize for the inconvenience when having punctual difficulties with the heating system. By now, this has been remedied.

Our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for, always attempts that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we are delighted that you could enjoy their professionalism and competence.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Address: Oktober 6. utca 26. | at Szabadság tér, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest leaves a mark on all of its guests. No matter whether you’re visiting for work, looking to explore the capital or enjoying a romantic getaway, this 5-star hotel in the centre of Budapest always leaves guests speechless. And there are many reasons why. From the gourmet cuisine of its restaurants to the details in its decor from designer Philippe Starck. Would you like to find out more? Tailor-made relaxation. Butterfly shaped or with neck support? Organic or microfiber? You can choose which pillow you’d like to sleep on, as well as the fragrance that you wish to wake up to in the morning. And all this in the enticing atmosphere of a luxury suite or room with city views. Sure to please even the most discerning tastes. If you are only used to the best, prepare yourself for tasting the menus at this luxury hotel. Here in our restaurant, alongside haute cuisine you will find the essence of Mediterranean cooking and the most traditional Hungarian dishes. In the heart of Budapest. Staying in one of the best hotels in the centre of Budapest means having everything to hand. From the city’s shopping area to its most famous monuments. Liberty Square is directly below the hotel, and you can walk to both the parliament and the Danube river! A haven of peace in the city. In the city centre yet in complete tranquillity. Enjoy the silence of our sound-proofed rooms or the calming ambiance of the Lobby Bar, where you can relax and savour a whisky, gin and tonic or any other drink you like. A luxury stay. Don’t worry about a thing! Need to get to the airport? Easy, we have a luxury transfer. Want to use a fitness centre? There’s one in the hotel. For any other exclusive service, all you have to do is make use of our doorman service. Relax, relax, relax... Close your eyes. Free yourself from stress with an essential oils massage, relieve your mind in the sauna or enjoy the soothing bubbles of the whirlpool bath. Here, all you have to think about is discovering the blissful effects of this 5-star hotel’s own Spa Sensations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing