We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this small hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Ranked #23 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this small hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

A great location on Liberty Square (diagonal from U.S. embassy), about half-way between Parliament Building and St. Stephen's Basilica, about 5 minutes to both and easy walking distance to most places of interest. This new hotel is very cool with typical Spanish style and panache. Modern and hip -- not suitable for someone wanting traditional. My room had great style, a wonderful view overlooking the square, and a super comfortable bed. Great bathroom with big tub and separate enclosed shower. Staff were courteous and professional. Didn't use the breakfast option but had dinner one night in the restaurant (La Plaza), specializing in tapas, and the food was superb. Perfect three-night stay -- could have stayed longer, especially since Budapest was such an unexpected delight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    246
    52
    17
    9
See reviews for
123
688
51
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the last part of our European journey in September 2012. We LOVED this hotel. I had read a million times that it was near impossible to get into one of the Budapest Parliament Building tours. When we checked in, the concierge asked if there was anything we wanted to see. I mentioned the Parliament Building thinking that they wouldn't be able to get us in but sure enough he said all he'd have to do was send an email to get us a reservation. The next morning, they brought the email confirmation to our room and we got to see the inside of Parliament.

The rooms were great and we had a view of the Szabadsag Terrace. The room was very contemporary and reminded me of the W Hotels I've stayed in. We checked in late at night and nothing was open around but they did have a late night room service menu which we ordered from. It was very good for a late night snack. The location was wonderful as we could walk everywhere yet it was a little more quiet than staying on the river in other hotels. Wonderful stay all-in-all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seetheworld262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel was our base for a four night visit and we could not have chosen better! We were greeted with fresh orange juice in the reception lounge and were checked in really speedily and efficiently. Our rooms were fabulous - very luxurious and ultra modern - and the staff were courteous throughout.

Well placed for walking to most of the main tourist areas we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in this price range. Although the room was priced as you would expect for a city five star the cost of drinks was remarkable considering the location etc. - For example a bottle of very good Hungarian Sauvignon Blanc was only the equivalent of £9, amazing fof a 5 star capital city hotel! We had a cheaper evening meal in the tapas bar than in one of the city's restaurants - and it was much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square - nice view of the old buildings outside. We were on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had initially booked the hotel via booking.com and had a mess up the arrival dates, as such I was charged for the first night for two rooms. The receptionist kept telling me she could not do anything etc, which isn't exactly true, but I was not going to let this ruin our week end stay for the half marathon.
The hotel itself it really rather stunning, the rooms are enormous, very spacious, clean with beautiful modern furnishings. The staff are lovely - aside from the receptionist who was lovely, albeit totally rigid and unhelpful, but the rest was perfect. The spa could benefit with being a tad bigger, but that's a personal preference. The restaurant is delightful, great tapas, must try the Chorizo. All together a great place, minus the mishaps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliane_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I loved every aspect of this hotel, in fact so much that i think it is the best hotel i've stayed in. The rooms and decor are completely unique,as well as spcious. The staff are excellent and treat you as an individual rather than just another customer. For example at check-in at reception we were offered a seat and a drink.
The location is ideal, in a quiet area looking on to lovely square, but in easy walking distance of main attractions. It also has a great restaurant outside terrace where we indulged in the wonderful breakfast. Hot items are chosen from a menu and freshly cooked, not from a buffet. This is certainly 5 star and at a great price. I would go back tommorow!

Room Tip: the upgrade to executive room is well worth the extra given the size and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank never_at_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest between 19-24 August 2012. Fantastic hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great Executive room. This hotel was top of the notch. One of the best hotels we stayed worldwide. Great location. Worth paying a visit when in Budapest.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NicosDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel in Budapest kicked off our honeymoon trip in style.

Like one of those hotels you see in the movies, impeccable staff, fruit in the room on arrival, excellent spa facilities and a great location.

From the moment we arrived, after a long hot drive from Central Poland, the staff were professional and helpful, not overly friendly but nonetheless pleasant.

The first thing I noticed was the beautiful scent wafting around the hotel, then I recognised the lovely decor from the pictures I saw when researching the hotel online. The hotel is even nicer in reality.

We sent some clothes to the laundry in the hotel and they had them back to us by the following morning. They came back in better condition than they were when they were brand new!

We also used the spa facilities, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna etc. Clean, atmospheric and cosy.

Breakfast was out of this world, again the service was professional (if a tiny bit cold .... just my personal preference!) and everything was on offer. Guests are welcome to serve themselves from the cold buffet and to order from the menu, I even had a glass of bucksfizz! YUM!

The hotel does not offer parking, as with most city centre hotels but parking was close by at a cost of €14 per day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolskiPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Address: Oktober 6. utca 26. | at Szabadság tér, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest deja huella a todos los viajeros que lo visitan. No importa si viene por trabajo, queriendo conocer la capital o en busca de una escapada romántica, este hotel de 5 estrellas en el centro de Budapest le va a dejar sin palabras. Las razones son muchas. Desde la gastronomía gourmet de sus restaurantes hasta los detalles del diseñador Philippe Starck en su decoración. ¿Le apetece descubrir más? Descanso a su medida. ¿Con forma de mariposa o cervical? ¿Ecológica o de microfibra? Usted mismo puede elegir sobre qué almohada quiere descansar, pero también el aroma con el que quiere despertar cada mañana. Y todo ello en el ambiente seductor de una habitación o suite de lujo con vistas a la ciudad. Apto para paladares exigentes. Si solo está acostumbrado a lo mejor, prepárese para probar las recetas de este hotel de lujo. Aquí encuentra la esencia de la cocina mediterránea, los platos más tradicionales de Hungría y la alta cocina de nuestro restaurante. En el corazón de Budapest. Alojarse en uno de los mejores hoteles del centro de Budapest significa tenerlo todo a mano. Desde la zona comercial de la ciudad hasta sus monumentos más turísticos. La Plaza de la Libertad está justo debajo del hotel y ¡puede ir andando al Parlamento y al río Danubio. Un remanso de paz en la ciudad. En pleno centro pero con toda la tranquilidad. Disfrute del silencio en habitaciones insonorizadas o del ambiente calmado del Lobby Bar, en el que puede saborear con calma un whisky, un gin-tonic o la bebida que prefiera. Estancia de lujo. ¡No se preocupe por nada! ¿Necesita ir al aeropuerto? Sin problema, hay transfer de lujo. ¿Quiere entrenar en el gimnasio? Lo tiene en el mismo hotel. Y si necesita cualquier tipo de atención exclusiva más, solo tiene que hacer uso del servicio de conserjería. Relax, relax y más relax. Cierre los ojos. Libérese del estrés con un masaje de aceites esenciales, aísle su mente en la sauna o sienta el cosquilleo de las burbujas en la bañera de hidromasaje. Ahora su única preocupación es descubrir las sensaciones que le produce el SPA Sensations de este hotel de 5 estrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing