We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest
Ranked #19 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here when visiting Budapest in May. The hotel is ideally situated, just two minutes from the Parliament and only a short walk to most of the major turist attractions. The hotel was very modern and and unusual, but at the same time very comfortable and a lot of small details gave a feeling of luxury. The staff couldn't have been nicer, always smiling and very accomodating. We had a room on the 5th flour with large panoramic windows, a bathroom to die for and the most comfortable beds we have ever experienced. All in all a great experience, we will certainly stay there again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

We visited this hotel on our first trip to Budapest. I had no idea what to expect as I have not previously been to Europe, but I am an experienced business traveler in the states. This is a wonderful, friendly, comfortable hotel that is centrally located for everything in Budapests. It is two blocks from Parliament and two blocks from St. Istvan Basilica and a few blocks from the boat lines on the Danube, etc., among other things. There are restaurants all around and a convenience store a block away. The hotel is nearly brand new and the Staff is EXCEPTIONAL. The representatives at the front desk went above and beyond and assisted us with many special requests. The hotel has a relationship with some good taxi services which is very necessary in Budapest. The manager of the hotel was constantly present on the premises and checking with us to make sure all was well. The rooms are comfortable and clean and all amenities are provided. The room was refreshed each day and there was turn-down service in the evening. I can't begin to say what a lovely time we had at this hotel. We even stayed an extra two nights because we were so comfortable. I will rate this hotel as exceptional in every way. I didn't use spa facility or eat breakfast at the hotel so won't rate that but am sure both would be just fine.

Room Tip: Rooms facing toward Parliament quieter than those that face the side alley. Reverberations in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EWfromOHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, Thank very much for sharing this nice comment about your stay in Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest.. The head departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share your motivating words with our team. Your positive Encourage words motivated us to keep on working with illusion and enthusiasms.

We are improving our services and studying the possible renewal of the hotel
Thank you for highlighting out the personal service and friendliness of our staff as well our outstanding cuisine and varied gastronomy.

Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

City 4 on our London>Bucharest rail trip.

I had expected a large, corporate type hotel, but it is in fact quite small and very boutiquey. The decor is way, way over the top and Gaudi-esque (it's a Spanish chain), but great fun and very sumptuous. We had superior rooms, which were spacious and very well equiped (though would have liked a kettle as well as the Lavazza machine) and.....AN IRON AND BOARD in the room! Congratulations for this piece of common sense - the only hotel on our trip to provide one. Huge flat screen TV, with a speaker in the bathroom which was cool, though created a slightly weird echo.

Location is just fantastic, on a lovely, restored, immaculate square bang in the centre of Pest, and the hotel has very pleasant bar seating outside. The weather was lovely, and we passed quite a lot of time just sitting out, watching the fountains and drinking wine! Surround roads very pleasant, with many eating/drinking options. Staff were very helpful and pleasant, with only the odd smile missing. Only negatives: The breakfast, which we felt was sub-standard for a 5 star both in quality and variety. Like all modern hotels, key cards also controlled the lifts, which as usual, ,were flaky (I hate the darn things!). To make matters worse, the lifts had touch sensitive controls which took patience to get to work. What the heck is wrong with buttons? Over-engineering at it's worst - and one of the two lifts went out of order during our stay.

Overall, a great, funky, super comfortable hotel in a great location. The small negatives do not detract.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear guest,

In first place, Thank you for choose Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest for so a important moment like holidays. We are delighted to hear that you felt welcome.

Thank very much for your positive comments regarding our cuisine and the amiability of our staff both elements are of prime importance to Iberostar. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome.

It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards. Your feedback motivates us to continue working with illusion and enthusiasm improving better services and facilities. We will continue working to improve your next experience with us.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent the Easter weekend in Budapest, combined business and leisure trip and the hotel was recommended to us. It exceeded our expectations in terms of comfort and style, and it's location is perfect - in the heart of things but with space and not too much noise. Wonderful bars and restaurants nearby, but I would also recommend the hotel's own restaurant, which was wonderful if a little expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear guest,

In first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest.. Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. Comments like yours keeps motivating us to keep improving our exclusive and personal service, so our guest can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us and we will do our best to make your feel welcome.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank samuel h
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at the Iberostar Grand Hotel in early April 2012, having booked via booking.com. We had two double rooms for three nights and I was very surprised at the extremely reasonable rate we received. I was immediately impressed by the Hotel on arrival; the slightly plain exterior belies a beautiful modern, crisp and clean interior. It had the feel of a private apartment, whilst combining wonderful service and hospitality. As an aside we were always curious to locate the wonderful scent that surrounded you on entering the hotel. We had standard rooms which were decorated and presented to a very high specification and easily equal many much more expensive rooms I have stayed in on my travels. In short this hotel receives my hearty recommendation for its style, service, comfort and value for money. Finally its location in Budapest is perfect with easy walking access to all the city sights, the Danube, nightlife, restaurants, and bars.
PS: If you want some real fun when you are there then book a Segway Tour with Discover Budapest (Lazar Utca - location). It was absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manage at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you’re your time to write your review about Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in so a special moment like holidays.

We are delighted with your powerful and positive words describing our complete services and facilities.

For us is a priority to take care of the visitors properly and fulfill our guest expectations.
Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Booked this last minute as we decided to hop on the train to Budapest. Got an excellent rate and when we arrived, we were told that they had sold out at that room rate and so we got a free upgrade. I never get those, so I was very happy. Great location and in a great street with delightful restaurants to choose from. St Stephens Basillica is 3 minutes away. Staff were very friendly and made very good recommendations. Our room was HUGE!!! and I loved the bathroom. A little disappointed that we didnt get to use the SPA facilities as they looked quite good, but we ran out of time.

Only con is that the room walls are a little thin and so we could hear our neighbours being quite loud early in the morning.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheriedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

In first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest and for your friendly comment. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take in our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We are delighted that you felt so well attended to by our staff. We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us

Once again, we would like to thank you for your motivating words: “What a pleasant surprise”.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,389 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 334 in Budapest
3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest

Address: Oktober 6. utca 26. | at Szabadság tér, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $139 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance in Budapest can be experienced in many interesting ways. One of the most exclusive ways to experience it is by staying at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, a luxury hotel that offers superior, elegant, and different accommodation. Located next to Liberty Square, the hotel offers a host of details that a luxury traveller will appreciate, including gourmet cuisine, the grandeur of resting in a suite with views of the city, the passions that a SPA Sensations treatment offers, the decoration of the hotel's details that have been designed by the famed Philippe Starck, and the hosting of sophisticated events. The 50 Grand rooms at this Budapest hotel are the perfect spot for those wishing to explore Budapest, knowing that they can continue experiencing the city inside and outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing