We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Ranked #23 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    246
    52
    17
    9
See reviews for
123
688
51
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at the Iberostar Grand Hotel in early April 2012, having booked via booking.com. We had two double rooms for three nights and I was very surprised at the extremely reasonable rate we received. I was immediately impressed by the Hotel on arrival; the slightly plain exterior belies a beautiful modern, crisp and clean interior. It had the feel of a private apartment, whilst combining wonderful service and hospitality. As an aside we were always curious to locate the wonderful scent that surrounded you on entering the hotel. We had standard rooms which were decorated and presented to a very high specification and easily equal many much more expensive rooms I have stayed in on my travels. In short this hotel receives my hearty recommendation for its style, service, comfort and value for money. Finally its location in Budapest is perfect with easy walking access to all the city sights, the Danube, nightlife, restaurants, and bars.
PS: If you want some real fun when you are there then book a Segway Tour with Discover Budapest (Lazar Utca - location). It was absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manage at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you’re your time to write your review about Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in so a special moment like holidays.

We are delighted with your powerful and positive words describing our complete services and facilities.

For us is a priority to take care of the visitors properly and fulfill our guest expectations.
Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Booked this last minute as we decided to hop on the train to Budapest. Got an excellent rate and when we arrived, we were told that they had sold out at that room rate and so we got a free upgrade. I never get those, so I was very happy. Great location and in a great street with delightful restaurants to choose from. St Stephens Basillica is 3 minutes away. Staff were very friendly and made very good recommendations. Our room was HUGE!!! and I loved the bathroom. A little disappointed that we didnt get to use the SPA facilities as they looked quite good, but we ran out of time.

Only con is that the room walls are a little thin and so we could hear our neighbours being quite loud early in the morning.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheriedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

In first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest and for your friendly comment. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take in our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We are delighted that you felt so well attended to by our staff. We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us

Once again, we would like to thank you for your motivating words: “What a pleasant surprise”.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights whilst escorting a friend to Budapest to have dental treatment there (1/3 of the UK price!) the hotel itself is only about 6 months old so everything is very pristine, the design of the public areas is stunning and so are the rooms which are also very big, however on our first night we had to change rooms at 2am as the air con was not working but the heater was (this could not be switched off so we were roasting!!) the hotel upgraded us to a larger room free of charge, the new room was cooler but not really cool enough

It seems there is a real problem with the air con here as it never really cooled like air con should, we spent the next 3 nights out of the duvet and with the window open!, another real issue for us was the very poor entertainment system on offer, the room had a stunning large flat screen TV, however there are no movies on offer at all not even to purchase, the only English channel services were CNN, BBC NEWS, BLOOMBERG and ALJEZEER ENGLISH so the only thing to watch was news on a loop!

We spent most of our time in the room with my friend recovering from his treatment this so lack of in room entertainment was very frustrating, I enquired about a DVD player as we had bought DVD's with us to watch but the hotel does not have one so you are stuck with the news!!, I even suggested I go out and buy a portable DVD player to plug in to the TV but was told as the TV'S are fixed flat against the wall I would not be able to plug the player into the TV as the sockets are not accessible


We ordered room service food on 2 occasions and on both occasions it was virtually cold and inedible so no points their either, the other thing we found annoying was that they do not replenish your complimentary tea or coffee unless you ask them to (they replenish the mini bar without asking as you pay for that of course!)

The staff were some of the friendliest and helpful I have come across but overall the experience was well below what I would expect from a 5star hotel, I will definitely be staying elsewhere on my next visit in 2 months time

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BRYAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest. Please receive our most sincere apologies for mailing to meet your expectations.

Concerning TV channels, we are improving our services and studying the possible order of more TV channels in a short period. About TV connections, the only rooms, which have an easy access to the TV connections, are the junior suite because it was mapped since the opening. We feel sorry about the inconvenience.

The room service sends the dishes immediately after production so that the meal does not lose any heat. We want to apologize if it wasn´t how you wanted.

We will certainly take in our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points. Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest.

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments regarding the amiability of our staff this element is of prime importance to Iberostar.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us if you would like to visit us again.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our stay at the Iberostar Grand at end of January was really very enjoyable. We were made to feel welcome from the time we arrived to when we left. Rooms were spacious and modern and immaculately equipped. No complaints there. The staff were excellent and very accommodating in giving any guidance for the stay and checking bookings and trains etc.

Breakfast was excellent and was included in our price. Both buffet choice and warm cooked options if you wanted it.

We didn't eat in the Restaurant at night as we wanted to sample the city life - Bars and restaurants.

Great location for us between Chain Bridge and Parliament buildings.

A tip. Best to try and book and get quoted in local currency Forints as we were quoted in Euros and they do a conversion when you check out.

Room Tip: Get quoted for booking in Forints if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_IEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest

Thank you for highlighting out the personal service and friendliness and cousine. Those are very important aspects for us and the key to the success of our services and facilities.

We hope that you enjoy sampling the city life

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is fairly new, in a great area and with wonderful staff. The room itself was luxurious, the staff was accommodating and always smiling. They even upgraded our room to a city view upon check in and helped orient us to the city. We also made bath reservations through them which was very helpful. The spa is included in the room price and is beautiful and practically empty all the time, so it's like your own personal health spa. A super quick walk to Chain Bridge and overall a perfect 5 star accommodation- would stay again in a second!

Room Tip: The city view overlooks a beautiful park, gorgeous buildings and the US Embassy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABroadAbroad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel. Thank you for highlight Iberostar Grand Hotel: “Perfect 5 star accommodation” “Phenomenal!“

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us if you would like to visit us again.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

When I first entered the hotel I was struck by the design of the reception area and the atrium. It is a weird cross between glitzy kitsch and boudoir, with an overwhelming mix of materials chosen to decorate the common areas.

The rooms are decorated in the same strange, bold and overwhelming taste found in the Reception area.

I first had an atrium room, which means that it had windows facing the inner corridor, that could not be opened.

Due to the malfunctioning of the air-conditioning, I requested and was moved into another room, facing the street. These rooms seem to be slightly bigger and the large windows make a big difference.

Personally, I would go this hotel again, mainly because of its interior design. But I have to admit that this is a purely subjective reason.

The staff was very helpful and solved very quickly my complaint about the air-conditioning which was blocked and turned the room into a hot-air sauna, without having the possibility to turn it off. They were very helpful and offered other touristic services that were quite useful.

Room Tip: Excellent location. Choose a room with windows facing the street, rather than the Atrium rooms, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oltraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your comments about Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest. We would like to apologize for the air condition inconvenient. We will take your comments in our consideration and we will try our very best to improve these points.

Thank you for highlighting out the personal service of our staff. This is a very important aspect for us and the key to the success of our services and facilities.

Kindly regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,144 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 342 in Budapest
240 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Address: Oktober 6. utca 26. | at Szabadság tér, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest deja huella a todos los viajeros que lo visitan. No importa si viene por trabajo, queriendo conocer la capital o en busca de una escapada romántica, este hotel de 5 estrellas en el centro de Budapest le va a dejar sin palabras. Las razones son muchas. Desde la gastronomía gourmet de sus restaurantes hasta los detalles del diseñador Philippe Starck en su decoración. ¿Le apetece descubrir más? Descanso a su medida. ¿Con forma de mariposa o cervical? ¿Ecológica o de microfibra? Usted mismo puede elegir sobre qué almohada quiere descansar, pero también el aroma con el que quiere despertar cada mañana. Y todo ello en el ambiente seductor de una habitación o suite de lujo con vistas a la ciudad. Apto para paladares exigentes. Si solo está acostumbrado a lo mejor, prepárese para probar las recetas de este hotel de lujo. Aquí encuentra la esencia de la cocina mediterránea, los platos más tradicionales de Hungría y la alta cocina de nuestro restaurante. En el corazón de Budapest. Alojarse en uno de los mejores hoteles del centro de Budapest significa tenerlo todo a mano. Desde la zona comercial de la ciudad hasta sus monumentos más turísticos. La Plaza de la Libertad está justo debajo del hotel y ¡puede ir andando al Parlamento y al río Danubio. Un remanso de paz en la ciudad. En pleno centro pero con toda la tranquilidad. Disfrute del silencio en habitaciones insonorizadas o del ambiente calmado del Lobby Bar, en el que puede saborear con calma un whisky, un gin-tonic o la bebida que prefiera. Estancia de lujo. ¡No se preocupe por nada! ¿Necesita ir al aeropuerto? Sin problema, hay transfer de lujo. ¿Quiere entrenar en el gimnasio? Lo tiene en el mismo hotel. Y si necesita cualquier tipo de atención exclusiva más, solo tiene que hacer uso del servicio de conserjería. Relax, relax y más relax. Cierre los ojos. Libérese del estrés con un masaje de aceites esenciales, aísle su mente en la sauna o sienta el cosquilleo de las burbujas en la bañera de hidromasaje. Ahora su única preocupación es descubrir las sensaciones que le produce el SPA Sensations de este hotel de 5 estrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing