We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pals hostel and farmers pan's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Ranked #12 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pals hostel and farmers pan's”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a fantastic hostel. Amazing location, friendly and helpful staff and privacy from other guests. The decor could be construed as a little outdated BUT I would defiantly stay there again! See you again Budapest. The basilica is a great feature. Don't worry about taking an alarm clock.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y0urPal, General Manager at Pal's Hostel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you.
Yes, the bell of the Basilica is loud. But it's romantic..:)
See you again:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    54
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
77
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My friend and I got a private room for a fair price! Employees were extremely kind and helpful! Our room was very clean, spacious, and the bathroom was clean too. Location is right next to Deak-Ferenc ter (i hope i spelled that right!), the street with all the bars/clubs, and it's next to the biggest church in Budapest.


Would definitely recommend this place to all students who are travelling to Budapest!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Putrioen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudapestPal, General Manager at Pal's Hostel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Highly recommend renting the apartment for anyone that wants freedom and privacy. Great for couples of any age or a small family. Plenty of room for all. Great location in the centre of everything. Very clean room too.

Room Tip: Get the apartment that overlooks the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y0urPal, Manager at Pal's Hostel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
You see.... Ha-ha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were first timers in budapest, and we were not disappointed, we were welcomed by the lovely Maria, who showed us the this beautiful city, it was the most relaxing trip ever, not only that, we were accomodated in a huge apartment that could fit 10 people! (There were only 3 of us that travelled,we almost lost each other inside it!), and to top it all it was right in front of St.Stephen's Basillica, right at the heart of the city, so easy to find, veryclose to the metro station. We will definitely comeback.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y0urPal, Manager at Pal's Hostel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you.
You are more than welcome next time again:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived in Budapest very late at night with a big delay of our flight, the boy at the reception waited for us and arranged very well our pick up at the airport ( 20 euros). The room we had is a very big and nice room, basic but with everything you need when you are on a short term holiday. A big and comfortable bed, a big armchair, television ( we didn't use) two large windows on an internal yard ( very quiet even if in that period there were works in progress in the next building.
The only small problem was that our bedroom was separated from the next one by a closed door...so we could hear the other guests movements and they could hear ours...it could be better to build a wall and close definitely that door.
Our bedroom was one of the three in a flat in which we shared a bathroom ( very clean) and a kitchen ( very clean and very well equipped, we had breakfast there every morning!).
Good hot water and heating, as it was very cold outside! The location is really incredible: next to S.Stephen Church, so in the real centre of the town and close to everything.
We really liked this place a lot, and we payed a very few money compared to the quality!
We will come again as Budapest is a really beautiful town!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariaflavia61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y0urPal, Manager at Pal's Hostel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We can hear what you've said and build a wall instead of the door between the rooms in that apartment.
Come back and check it out!:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

For the prize & location, you can't complain - both are perfect. However, the next door neighbour is a hotel that is being built right now, and well, the banging and drilling can get pretty loud. The builders also didn't turn off the super bright light on their crane, so it lit up half our room at night. Ask first if the renovations are still in progress, if you plan to stay here.

The room was warm & cozy - the most important thing in winter!! - but the kitchen and hallway were freezing cold and the fridge was broken and everything we put in it got deep frozen.. ice in your morning coffee isn't a hit! Not beer slushie either. ;) Also, we couldn't find any coffee filters or chopping board (just for bread, but you need to slice your bread in the morning, right?). The shower was decently warm, the bed was a little hard but not too bad. Very clean, very friendly and helpful staff. I'd stay here again, but only after that hotel next door is ready!

The room was OK and I actually liked the courtyard, but please note that not all rooms face the basilica! So don't rent it for the view alone, unless you ask for a room with a view. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ixot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y0urPal, Manager at Pal's Hostel & Apartments, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
They are right. The construction can be very loud.:-( There will be a super-elegant five star hotel in the next building. And you know they are 'stronger'. They even destroyed the frontage of the building that is part of the National Heritage. They say will rebuild it as the original 19th century building. But it will be from concrete not from bricks!
Anyway I put radiators into the hallway and repaired the fridge. They work recently:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice and friendly people!! The location its amazing cause you are at the main center, its clean, cheap, comfortable, The only bad thing (if we think it's bad), they don't he lift, i could be back there!! Xoxo

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanactabares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y0urPal, Manager at Pal's Hostel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words:)
You know we have several apartments around the Basilica. We have no elevators only in the building where we have most of our 'basic double bed rooms with shared bathroom'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#6 of 652 in Budapest
868 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#7 of 652 in Budapest
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pal's Hostel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pal's Hostel & Apartments

Property: Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Address: Szent Istvan ter 3. | Doorbell No. 15, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Formerly Pal's Hostel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pal's Hostel & Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pal's Hostel Budapest - not a regular hostel indeed but a chain of apartments in the very centre of Budapest around St. Stephen's Basilica. If you fancy privacy and want to stay in a place that feels just like at home, come to Pal's Hostel and enjoy your own apartment in Budapest.We also offer private rooms with shared bathroom. All apartments/rooms are within 100-400 meters from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Pal's Hostel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing