We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in a great setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Otkert

Otkert
Ranked #665 of 3,092 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, European, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Bar, Music venue, Club, Á la carte, Live music, Special party, International and Hungarian Kitchen, Dj Sets, Dail Menu.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food in a great setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stumbled across Otkert on the last night of a long-weekend stay, having looked for a restaurant serving more local food rather than the usual pizza/pasta offering of many in the area. The food really stood out against most of what we'd had through the stay, and was refreshingly different in the range offered. Situated between the Danube and St Peter's cathedral, we had a perfect view for the evening and the atmosphere was extremely relaxed despite the restaurant being full - it didn't come across as though we were being hurried in and out. The waiters were fantastic in getting us a table and attentively serving us despite the restaurant being extremely busy, often returning to check whether we were content with the food and if we wanted any more drinks. The menu was also particularly reasonably priced when compared to other restaurants in the area, which charged substantially more for menus that were comparatively bland and typical of European tourist areas. We also finally had the chance to try some good Tokaj!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ObergC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Otkert, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    106
    31
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This restaurant has a nice outdoor seating area, both in front as in the back of the restaurant. Prices are in line with what I expect in Budapest, portions are not huge, but certainly sufficient. Quality of the food is good, not too greasy and it all seemed and smelled fresh. I'd go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shtaain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Otkert, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time, and sharing your honorific review here! I was delighted to read that you had a great time with us. My team will be more than happy to know, that their work has been so much appreciated. It would be great if we could host you again in the Ötkert!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We only ate here once but liked the location, atmosphere, wine and prices so came back for a drink on a few other nights. Interesting bathroom decor! Pleasant area for sitting outside in the evening if the weather is warm (there are blankets on the chairs if you get a little chilly).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherlockEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Otkert, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest!

It is our greatest reward that you had a fantastic time with us, as our only aim is to privide quality and great atmosphere for our costumers! We hope to see you again!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Food and service was excellent.friendly staff.low cost restaurant.Beautiful view of the basilica from restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickyabhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Otkert, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Level Contributor
378 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Cool jazz and reasonably priced food near the Danube”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

For our last night in Budapest we decided to take a chance on this place despite the fact that there were other restaurants rated more highly in the neighborhood near the Chain Bridge. We were tempted by the wonderful jazz wafting in the air, and just wanted to make the meal last as long as possible, lingering before conceding that we had to go back to real life the next day. What a great decision! While this is not haute cuisine, the food was well prepared, flavorful, reasonably priced and plentiful. It was nice that they had little symbols on the menu for vegetarian dishes, and one of them, the Papardelle with wild forest mushrooms, was more than adequate, it was delicious. Maybe I was just ready and able to enjoy the food so much because the music was so wonderful--but, in the end, who cares, as long as the entire experience was pleasurable. We both had mango daiquiris, and they were good too. My husband enjoyed himself as well, and he is not easily impressed. The only negative was the confused, and dare I say it, less than intelligent server (a blonde woman with her hair up in a clip and dangly earrings) who was clueless. Again, nothing much mattered, because the evening was so enjoyable and we didn't mind that the waitress forgot about us for a while, it just meant that we could listen to the next set of music! If you are looking for the consummate gourmet meal, this is not your place, but if you're looking for a place to relax, have a casual meal and listen to some nice jazz, then this is where you can enjoy yourself, just around the corner from the Four Seasons, Gresham Palace Hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reginalampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Otkert, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a complete privilege reading your review! Thanks a million for sharing your kind thoughts here with the community. The whole staff were more than delighted to read that you had a great time with us! We are very happy that our work has been appreciated - Thank you! Quality is our first priority, and you ensured us that we are on the right way!
We look forward to welcome you back soon!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otkert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Otkert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing