We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100 reasons why NEVER to visit this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of ZONA Budapest

ZONA Budapest
Ranked #97 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $48
Cuisines: International, European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: Every tiny detail of the renewed ZONA is inspired by our trips to global cities. The cuisine is influenced by their diversity, the respect for their cultural heritage and the current gastronomic trends. Exciting flavors, blustering colors unite in a unique location by the Buda side of Chain Brindge, but almost in the downtown. We add an honest, accomodating but professional table service to make your stay a unique experience, so we could show what guest and restaurant relation really means to us. ZONA got 17 Gault Millau points in the past two years (3 hats) and received Dining Guide's Restaurant of the Year award last year.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
243 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“100 reasons why NEVER to visit this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I live in Budapest, I am hungarian and I have been all around the world.

This is the kind of restaurant that makes me feel ashamed of being hungarian. The name of the restaurant is ZONA but for all i care it could be called...HANDS UP. THIS IS A ROBBERY. The prices are simply ridiculous and the portions are smaller then starters. This in fact is the CONCEPT of this place. Do you get it? Small portions for a lot of money....and they call this a concept.

The place revolves around a chef by the name of Huszár Krisztián. He seems to have a very strong self marketing and seems to believe all the self generated hype around him. One of his signatures (according to the waiter) that most of the micro sized main dishes are standing in some sort of liquid. it is very special i grant you that however it is simply not tasty.

There is not much to talk about the dishes and the tastes because this is a subjective issue.

This restaurant in its current form has about 4-6 months at max. Nobody likes to be robbed and this is robbery on a big scale. Even if they called it ZONA....its still just robbery. Plain and simple.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GPeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldasztis, Manager at ZONA Budapest, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear GPeto,

We feel sorry if you had a bad experience during your last visit in ZONA. We pay very high attention to our service, to the food we serve up and to the mood in order to make our guests feel comfortable, so we take your comments seriously.

We can imagine that our concept doesn't fit to everybody's expectations. Yes, the portions are smaller (similar to the pincho in Basque country) and the prices are not the lowest due to the extra quality of the raw materials. In addition to the materials it's also good to know that our chef prepares the menu with serious and professional specialized knowledge. Next time (if you are interested) we would gladly inform you a bit more about the ideas and the actions behind the kitchen door. Hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    110
    36
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is extremely tasty if you have the stomach the size of a walnut!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Started well enough with a nice glass of wine and a tasty beer at a very reasonable price. We ordered the foie gras terrine and scampi. When the food came we were astonished to discover that the scampi was in fact a scampus (literally one scampi) placed elegantly on top of some green goo. The foie gras was lovely but was just this, no salad, no bread, no nothing. These were apparently main courses although admittedly it was hard to tell despite the menu being in English.

Pudding was lovely, however when I left I had to go to the Christmas market and buy a cheesy pancake which was more substantial than both of the meals put together from Zona!



Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALDASZTI_GROUP, Manager at ZONA Budapest, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is important to us what our guests think about our restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quantity of the food you had on your plates. It is admittedly our policy that the size of the dishes is "pintxo"-like. That is, we intend to serve smaller portions in order for the guests to have the chance to try several dishes and be able to enjoy a great variety of different tastes. Still, we hope that people would leave with a full but not overfilled stomach - in your case it didn't happen, we are terribly sorry about that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just GO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic option in Budapest. Very clever food concept. Small, intense, flavourful dishes. Really good value wine list allowed us to discover Hungarian Pinot Noir.

Helpful?
Thank iain_anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALDASZTI_GROUP, Manager at ZONA Budapest, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and sorry for the late response! We hope we only improved ever since you were here - if you have to chance to visit Budapest again, come and dine at our restaurant, and you will see the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZONA Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to ZONA Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing