We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous apartments in great location”
Review of Lord Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lord Residence
Ranked #17 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in a double bed apartment in July/August 2012. The apartment was bigger than I had expected: double bed, three seater sofa, small (but fully equipped kitchen) table and chairs. The apartment was very clean and is five mins walk from Nyugati train station. Our only complaint was that the air-con unit was very noisy, so it was difficult to sleep at night as either very hot or cooler but noisy. There are plenty of supermarkets nearby and some good local bars whose beer is half the price of the bars on the main tourist streets.

Budapest is an easy city to cover on foot. Some recommendations to eat at:
Thai - Parazs Presszo, on Jokai ut 8. Good value, spicy food
Italian - Il Terzo Cerchio, on Dohany ut 40. Good food, medium prices.
Steakhouse - La Pampa, on Bajcsy Zsilinszky ut. Delicious steaks, but a bit pricey
Karma, on Liszt Ferenc. Good food & cocktails, don't be put off by the range of different cuisines on offer. Surprisingly good curry.

Avoid the italian Pompai, on Liszt Fernc. The food and service were terrible.

We also visited the Faust Wine Cellar, on Hess Andras Ter. It was a lovely setting, in the caves under the Hilton Hotel. The wine was good 1 palinka, 2 white, 1 rose, 2 red, 2 dessert wines, then ending the meal with favourite wine of choice, however the food was mediocre and it is expensive. Nice to go there and do something different for a celebratory evening.

Word of warning on transport from Ferihegy Airport. Our guide book advised that the train was the easiest way to get into Budapest. After a good 15 mins of wandering around looking for the train station, we realised that the train wasn't available from the terminal (T2) we were in. The tourist desk advised us to take the 200E bus to Kobanya/Kispest metro station then the blue line metro to Nyugati station.

We were in Budapest for the Grand Prix. Travel by public transport to the Hungaroring was easy as plenty of staff and translators at the train stations to keep you right. It is a good 45 min walk over dusty tracks and fields to get to the circuit, so be prepared to walk and just follow the crowds. On race day we booked a local taxi both ways – a bit of a luxury but was quicker, cooler, and for me, worth it to avoid the crowds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 247sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord-Apartments, Manager at Lord Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear 247sunshine,

Thank you for your very good rating on Tripadvisor. Reviews like yours always give us a new inspiration to do our best for our guests.

I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with almost everything.

Regarding the noise of the Air Conditioning I apologize for the inconveniences. According to guest feedbacks, it was something that we must to improve. We detected specific rooms with the mentioned incident and we were working hard to improve this issue. Hopefully now in all of the apartments the Air Conditioning is working smoothly and quietly.

If you come back sometime to Budapest, it will be a pleasure to show you the result of our work.

Kind regards,
Gabor Zbisko
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Lord Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 439 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Went to Budapest to celebrate New Year and stayed here for 3 nights. I must say I am highly impressed with the value for money that these apartments provide. The apartment had kitchen with basic utensils, dishwasher, oven etc. It also Iron board and apart from other regular stuff like TV wardrobe, it had its own washing machine.
The room was spacious and clean.
As for the location it was perfect, walking distance to two metro line stations and very close to opera, even walking distance to the parliament and Danube.

The staff was really friendly, cheerful and helping.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sahil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord-Apartments, Manager at Lord Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Sahil13,

I am sorry for my late response. Now we are trying to reach all guests that were being so kind to make the effort to give us feedback. To be grateful with this never is late.
Thank you for sharing your positive experiences for the readers of TripAdvisor.

I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with the facility of the apartment and found the location perfect.

I will forward your nice words regarding the staff to them.

If you are choosing Budapest for the New Year’s celebration again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kindest regards,
Gabor Zbisko
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend with my fiancee. The place is very central, basically walking distance from bars, Vaci street, danube, parliament,etc. Pricing is very acceptable and the apartment is perfect for a couple, even with a young child.
Recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balazs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord-Apartments, Manager at Lord Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Balazska85,

I am sorry for my late response. Now we are trying to reach all guests that were being so kind to made the effort to give us the feedback. To be grateful with this is never late.

I was really pleased to read that you found the pricing reasonable and the location great.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again if you are in Budapest!

Kindest regards,
Gabor Zbisko
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Spend few days during extremy hot summer here in studio apartment. We felt like at home, superb equipment of apartment: everything in kitchen you need (coffee maker, toaster, dishwasher, etc) plus iron/iron. board, washing machine, tv, sky, A/C, free wifi, hair dryer..
Only downside - we did not have a balcony, so we used inner patio open corridor.
If you are looking for self catering stay near bars, restaurants, centre - opera, basilica.. go andstay here. We had street view, but street is calm. Can't fault anything - great price for a quality you get.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterSK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord-Apartments, Manager at Lord Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear peterSK7,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for chosen Lord Apartments Budapest.
I appreciate your kind review on how you enjoyed your holiday with us.

I am sorry that your apartment was without a balcony but unforuntately we have only a limited number of apartments with balcony.

If sometime you come back to Budapest and choose Lord Apartments once again please indicate that you would like balcony for your apartment and we will gladly fulfill your request.

Kind regards,
Gabor Zbisko
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

For the moderate price, I didn't expect a large 1 bedroom apartment with a fully equipped kitchen.
It was located between the river and many great attractions, the highlights being the Zoo (highly recommend the lovely fine dining restaurant there),and a beautiful concert by an orchestra at St Stephens Basillica.
The street was very quiet. Don't be put off by the plain exterior which would be easily missed if not for the taxi driver. Dora, the receptionist spoke excellent English and was extremely helpful. It was a pity to only stay 1 night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p0ppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord-Apartments, Manager at Lord Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear p0ppies,

Thank you for sharing your positive experiences on TripAdvisor.

I am happy that the apartment was above your expectations and you had a great stay at Lord Apartments.

If sometime you come back to Budapest, It will be a pleasure to welcome you for a longer stay.

Best wishes,
Gabor Zbisko
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great budget apartment hotel! Most of what you need in terms of kitchenware, and it's very roomy. The location is the best part. Everything is close by.

They also offer transport from and to the airport for a quite small fee considering the good service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex189839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord-Apartments, Manager at Lord Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Alex189839,

I would like to thank you for your stay with us. It was great to read that you found our location and apartment comfortable and suitable.

I was happy to read that you were satisfied with the transfer service as well.

We will be very happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Gabor Zbisko
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Excellent transport links and in walking distance to city centre and typical tourist attractions. As it wasn't in the prime tourist area you'd find local gems offering wonderful Hungarian fare at a fraction of the cost.
The apart hotel itself is very clean and quiet.
Can't ask for more. The room for 4 people (1 double bed and one double sofa bed) was not as big as I expected but as we were out and about most of the time it didn't matter. It is about a 5 minute walk from nyugati station.
Staff are friendly enough although we did not see them much as there was no need.
Highly recommend!
Ps. Check out a cafe-bar called Most, also less than a 5 min walk. We ate there everyday because the food was so good and it was kind to our budgets!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord-Apartments, Manager at Lord Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Vitdub,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Lord Apartments Budapest. I am sorry that your expectation regarding the size of the apartment was not fulfilled. However I was happy to read that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel, cleanliness and our staff.

If sometime you return to Budapest, It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best wishes,
Gabor Zbisko
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,202 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 333 in Budapest
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Residence

Address: Lovag utca 8., Budapest 1066, Hungary (Formerly Lord Apartments)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $66 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 100 metres from the Danube River bank and 200 metres from the Hungarian Parliament Building, in the heart of Budapest, Splendid Residence offers stylishly furnished accommodation with free WiFi and a full range of facilities. Each apartment comes fully furnished. The living area is provided with a flat-screen cable TV, and the open-plan kitchen is equipped with a microwave. Some units also offer a balcony. Other services of the Splendid Residence includes a 24-hour reception and shuttle services for an additional cost. Parking is possible at a nearby public location for an additional cost. Airport transfers are possible for a surcharge and the Liszt Ferenc International Airport is reachable within 40 minutes by car. Conveniently located, Splendid Residence is 170 metres from the Kossuth Lajos Tér metro and tram stop. Both Chain Bridge and St. Stephen's Basilica are within 750 metres, while Buda Castle is reachable in 1.5 km. Deak Square, the conjunction of 3 metro lines (M1, M2, M3), is 500 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Lord Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing