We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, but ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boscolo Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boscolo Residence
Ranked #48 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great, but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We rented 2 apartments : 1 was large, the other one huge. Both were comfortable, well equipped, quite luxurious. The spa is simple but it's nice. I would have given 4.5 stars, if the location had been a bit closer to the centre, and if the rest had been up to par. But ...

I'm giving only a rating of 3 because of two things :

1. The sound insulation is bad. In the apartment situated on the street side is noisy non-stop - the avenue is draining a lot of traffic and safety vehicles with sirens on --> due to the bad insulation, it's difficult to ignore the noise especially when trying to fall asleep. In the other apartment (other side of the apartment block), the street noises cannot be heard - but the noise made in neighbouring apartments is part of the stay ...

2. The breakfast is terrible : the first 2 days, we had to wait 10 minutes to get a table for 4. The coffee machine was broken. And quite a few items from the buffet were missing. The third morning was a total disaster : no table, no coffee machine, then when we finally got a table, no plates, only large spoons (no forks, no knives), no eggs or bacon left, we finally got some bread after another 10 minutes, no milk, and the fruit juice jars were desperately empty. The fourth morning ... we went into town to get a breakfast ! This was between Christmas and New Year, a peak season - still, it's inadmissible.

We booked a package "apartment + spa + breakfast", with a big discount. At full price, I would not have been satisfied with the value for money. However - the management could easily improve the worst part, the breakfast. And all in all, I did enjoy my stay in Budapest !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CedricJacquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest 'CedricJacquet',

Thank you for sharing your opinion about Boscolo Residence. It is nice to read that you all in all enjoyed your stay in Budapest but on the other hand I am sorry to see that we were not able to provide maximum comfort during your stay. I will focuse on the mentioned problems to avoid them in the future and find the best solution with short notice.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    215
    70
    19
    13
See reviews for
112
281
24
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Varazdin, Croatia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My girlfriend and I spend 3 great days here for New Years. Location is perfect, very near the subway and not far from city centre. Apartment is well designed, spacious, very clean, has a nice bathroom and a big comfy bed. Complimentary coffee in the lobby is a nice plus. Staff is also very polite. The only thing we disliked was disorganized breakfast. There was not so much left so we had to ask for everything (including plates).

We would definitely stay here again and we recommend it to everyone, especially for a longer stay :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrej_Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest 'Andrej_Croatia',

Thank you for choosing Boscolo Residence. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel's comfort and our room design has won over you. Regarding the breakfast area please take my apology for the inconvenience you experienced. Your anticipated return is greatly appreciated!

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Lovely Residence, Great Value for money, only one comment was the lack of fresh juices at the breakfast at the adjoint Boscolo Hotel which is strange for a 5 star Hotel, everything else was just fine, very clean and peaceful neighborhood

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest 'Moe A',

Thank you for selecting Boscolo Residence. It is my pleasure to see that you had nice time with us. I hope upon your next stay we will be able to meet your expectations with our fresh juice selection as well. Your return to our hotel is always welcome!

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff bad attitude!the staff was very indifferent!I just put the pants in the washing machine, and then I want to start the washing machine, but the washing machine does not work, so I wanted to remove my pants, but the washer lid unable to open.hotel managers believe that we broke.He wants us full price for compensation.We said we did not have enough money,he let us check out immediately...It makes us very sad,we have been forced to pay money. I can not believe this is the five-star service apartment, front desk staff has serious racial discrimination.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Xinrui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest 'Xinrui F'

Thank you for visiting Boscolo Residence. Please be assured that I have been informed about this unfortunate situation. As I know, first one of our front office team member and than our duty manager has contacted you during your stay regarding the ruined washing maschine. I am sorry to tell you that any kind of damage caused in our equipments, resulting from improper use should be covered by our guests. This is a general policy and I feel sorry if you considered this action as an attack!

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Spend few weeks here in july/august 2013.
Room was huge,with all benefit a small apartment.Only the outside street noise was annoying in the morning.
Beside that all great.
No hesitation to come again
BM.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'BMM2011',

Thank you for choosing Boscolo Residence for your stay in Budapest. I am happy to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and planing to return to us.

Your kind visit is always welcome

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

i was supposed to stay int he hotel but they messed up my reservation and put me here. the residence is connected to the hotel. my room was HUGE: two stories with a gorgeous patio on both levels. even had a washer in it! i was only there two nights and barely in the room but i'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "michelle r"

Thank you for visiting Boscolo Residence. I am happy to read that you had overall a nice time with us. Should you come back to Budapest, please do not hesitate to book us again. Your kind return is always welcome.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

For the price paid I was happy. It is in a good central location. We walked everywhere from here as the metro was not operating the weekend we stayed.

It looks lovely from afar but when you look at the finer details it is shabby and poorly out together.

In the bathroom tiles were missing from the shower and mould spots evident. The sink was fitted the wrong way around and when you touched the tap it felt like it would break.

The kitchen is fitted out with Ikea products. This does not scream luxury for five star.

However the rooms are much larger than a standard hotel room. We had a washing machine which we used. The wifi signal and speed was excellent.

The staff were all helpful. I had cut my finger when I arrived and she kindly got me a plaster/band aid.

I would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaninrugbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'DaninrugbyUk',

Thank you for choosing Boscolo Residence. I was happy to read that overall you had a nice time with us, enjoyed the spacious apartment and you found useful the high speed internet and the built in wash machine.
The missing tiles and moving tap is totally unacceptable, these are not up to our standards. I will ask the maintenance team to make a comprehensive technical inspection in all bathrooms to avoid these problems in the future.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#37 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
#15 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Residence

Property: Boscolo Residence
Address: Osvat utca 2-8, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#37 Business Hotel in Budapest
#44 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#66 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Budapest, these stylish 5-star apartments of Boscolo Residence offer lots of space and fully equipped kitchenettes.Within a 1-minute walk you can reach the Blaha Lujza Square public transport hub and the Keleti Railway Station is just a 5-minute taxi ride away from the Boscolo Residence.Featuring a subtle combination of brown and white tones, each of the apartments comes with a large flat-screen TV, a spacious seating and dining area and a modern bathroom.Guests can take advantage of all the services of the Boscolo Budapest Hotel 200 metres away. These include the buffet breakfast, spa and fitness facilities for a surcharge, and the bar with live piano music and the underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Boscolo Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Luxury Residence Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing