We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Boscolo Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boscolo Residence
Ranked #75 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I did stay in a few hundred hotels across the world and this one is in the top 10% as far as quality goes. The building is breathtaking, the rooms are spacious and clean. The bed is super comfortable. The only negative thing is about the room is the bathtub. If you have a mobility issue make sure that you ask for a special room, because getting in and out from the tub isn't easy.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Komlosim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Komlosim'

Thank you for staying with us in Boscolo Residence, your positive comment is highly appreciated. I was delighted to see that you were amazed by our modern building and you enjoyed the comfort of your room.
We are really looking forward to your next visit!

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    227
    78
    20
    17
See reviews for
119
290
25
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Yes, they claim it is a luxury residence...
And I think they redefined the meaning of luxury...by downgrading it.

Now, we can call luxury a lot of things. And probably we all have our very own understanding of the meaning of the word...
But I challenge anyone to define an IKEA plate as a sign of luxury... It would be almost funny if it wasn't simply sad.

The first thing that you notice when you reach the Residence, which is in the back street of the main hotel Boscolo, is how ugly the building is.
Ok, ok, granted... It is a matter of taste. But allow me to express my own opinion. The building is horrible...
No big deal.
If you arrive at night, you can barely see the entrance from the beginning of the street. It is not well illuminated and you have really a difficult time processing that this is a "luxury accommodation".
Still you have some hope. The lobby doesn't look bad. Nothing strikes you and the reception desk shows a certain lack of care, with the electric control panel in full view... But it looks still kind of pleasant.
I was given the Apartment 372 first. I entered the place and close the door immediately and rushed back to the reception. The apartment was stinking vinegar in an unbearable way.
True to be said, no arguments were raised and I was graciously given a second room, 270.

At a first view the apartment doesn't look bad. It is furnished with a certain taste and shows some contemporary sensibility. The bed is quite comfortable. This for the highlights...

On the other hand I can extensively list what was wrong:
- the kitchen was unworthy. I would have expected better in an average apartment taken through Airbnb... The microwave was filthy.. Dishes were chipped. The board was not cleaned.. And many details were missing for a so called "luxury accommodation". A stupid example. the watch of the microwave was still indicating the summer time instead of the winter one..
- the living room area was a disgrace. Dirty. With hair on the floor and chips under the couch. The couch was kind of "glue" to the wall, a clear sign that nobody ever moved it for cleaning;
- the bedroom area was the best part of the apartment. It seemed clean and tide up. But, again, it is the lack of details that shouldn't allow to call this a "luxury accommodation". There are no plugs next to the bed. If you want to recharge your cellphone you have to keep it on the kitchen table. There is no phone next to the bed. You only have one in the living. In the wardrobe you have 5 hangers. 5. If you are a couple and you stay more then a night you better prepare to fight for those 5 hangers. There is a safe, but no plug inside. So if you need to recharge your laptop or your Ipad, you have to keep it out of the safe;
- the bathroom. Here is were the management gave the best of their professionalism.. It is shameful. Broken tiles. Mold around the bathtub. Not enough light and no light at all above the the mirror. Broken appliances. An incredible stupid taps system in the bathtub. you have to turn right the bathtub one if you want hot water, but you have to turn left the shower one to have the same hot water... how difficult it can be to have them at least following the same logic?

One last note... One may think "ok, it is the residence, not the hotel... The hotel may be much better". Well, I didn't try the rooms, but I used the gym of the main hotel. And again, it was unworthy of a so called 5 stars hotel... I guess the hotel has several hundreds rooms. But the gym had only ONE treadmill and ONE exercise bike plus some weight machines... And they were not looking brand new!!! In addition the so called gym is not even in a proper dedicated room, but more in a sort of big lobby on the 5 floor next to a lift used by normal guests.

True to be said the price was really cheap. And it may be worth it for many people. Just do not expect a "luxury accommodation", because it is honestly a joke.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andesaex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Andesaex',

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. First and foremost please accept my apologies for Boscolo Residence not living up to your expectations. I would kindly like to inform you that there was a day lately when streetlights went off and we had no influence on that but still the hotels lights were functioning.
We checked your concerns regarding our rooms and the gym facilities and besides emphasizing my apologies I would kindly like to assure you that we do our best to avoid any reoccurance in the future.

Certainly I remain at your disposal discussing your experience via guest.relation@budapest.boscolo.com.

Sincerely,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for three nights and paid £700 as we have two teenage daughters and wanted a little more space.

The apartment was two bedrooms and two bathrooms with a basic, but equipped kitchen. The fridge doubles as a mini bar.

Pros

The reception staff are lovely
and friendly and i couldn't fault the service.
The room was cleaned beautifully ever day with crisp white bed linen.
It's a very spacious apartment and located two minutes walk from the metro and trams 4 and 6

Cons
The apartment was a little tired and knocked. Its easy to over look this as it is immaculately clean.

It is in a pretty rough end of town. But, Budapest is a very safe place so I didn't feel at all intimidated, and found the Hungarians very very friendly.

It was incredibly noisy. We had a first floor apartment and I don't think I slept a wink. Sirens and traffic noise, people under the window ( which were firmly closed) and engines revving through the night. We had asked for a good apartment ( there was a mix up in the booking- not the Boscolo s fault)
so I don't know what a bad would be.

For this reason, I would suggest you think carefully before you book here. It does spoil it is you can't sleep. If you can get over this then go for it. Or talk to the staff, maybe we were unlucky. Oh, and complimentary tea and coffee in the room would be in line with a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoB418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'JoB418',

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor. It was nice to see that you were satisfied with our front desk and housekeeping team and the location of our property also lived up to your expectations. I am sorry that your nights were not relaxing enough due to the high traffic on the main street. I would like to assure you that we try to find an effective solution for a better sound-proofing on our windows to provide enhanced comfort to our guests in the future.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

stayed at the Boscolo for two nights the suite was great and the location was OK - a little noisy at night but its a busy city. Don't bother with the breakfast its overpriced and below average. No hot food , no fresh coffee. We paid £27.11 for two breakfasts and a bottle of tonic from the mini bar. a waste of money as that amount buys you a really good meal in Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Feeto',

Thank you for staying with us at Boscolo Residence. I was happy to read you enjoyed your suite during your stay but on the other hand I felt sorry that we did not meet your standards with the continental breakfast. If you are looking for a wider selection of food, please try our rich buffet breakfast in Boscolo Budapest (a block away from Residence) upon your next visit in town!

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Please be aware if you plan to stay here longer than 5 days!

We had planned to stay in Budapest to celebrate our wedding anniversary and as visitors to the city previously decided to treat ourselves and stay at the Boscolo. As we planned a two week trip we booked the Luxury Residence in a Deluxe Suite. It's in a transport convenient if not wholly refined neighbourhood as per previous reviews.

We were given a smallish apartment room at check in with a seating area and TV in the same space and a small breakfast bar and basic kitchen plus an internal bathroom without a bath. The view was an internal courtyard. Overall it was clean and well presented.

Make the mistake, as we did however, to book for more than six nights and you become a long stay guest. Most guests seemed between 20 and 30 and they invariably passed through quickly. They did, however get a similar if not better room, as somebody staying longer.

It seemed as if Boscolo valued this type of customer more than it's longer stay guests.

We were told on arrival that we would get a different cleaning regime from the majority of 'short stay' guests. This means that your room is only cleaned once a week on the anniversary of your stay. On this day your towels should be changed and your bedding refreshed. However, the bin should be emptied and the toilet roll checked daily. This was something outlined in the small welcome pack in the room but we were surprised that nothing about this is mentioned before you book online via the Boscolo website.

This is an oversight.

In practice, the bins weren't emptied regularly and when we politely raised this, the cleaning team who arrived were rather surly. Useful things that you might expect - a tea-towel, soap and shampoo are not provided and because of the high thoroughfare of casual guests, the laundry machine was broken and left in a poor state.

While the stay overall was good we would not recommend this as a longer stay destination. there are better and cheaper alternatives in Budapest and we'd urge you to look again before paying out expecting a premium product. Put simply, we feel let down by the experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urbane_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'urbane_couple',

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for your valued feedback. Please accept my sincere apology for the issue you experienced during your stay.
We have realized the problem and we are happy to inform you that our cleaning policy has been changed, Long stay guests are having now cleaning twice a week, and our maids are removing the garbage, refill the toilet paper and provide fresh towels every day. We have also trained our housekeeping personnel in order to improve the quality of our services.

Regarding the laundry service, let me confirm that we have installed new washing machines in 95% of the rooms to avoid problems with our laundrette.

I certainly appreciate all your positive remarks and hope that we can welcome you in Boscolo Residence again.

Kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The thing we loved the most was the fact that these modern slick apartments were attached the the main hotel at the front.
The room was a fantastic size. Well equipped with everything we needed including dishwasher, washing machine and a fully equipped kitchen.
The main hotel is absolutely stunning. The staff are fantastic and we were really pleased with it's location close to everything on foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Benjamin J'

Thank your for choosing Boscolo Residence for your latest stay in Budapest. I am delighted to see that our hotel has won over you. I hope you will consider to choose us again upon your next visit to our capital.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Many people who book the Boscolo residence believe they will be staying in the main hotel, but not to worry, we did the same. In fact the apartments are fantastic, spacious and well equipped. There is a lounge come dining room with a fridge, microwave, TV and cooker. Plates and cutlery etc are provided. There is a spacious bathroom which includes bath, shower and a washing machine of all things. Good choice if you want a little luxury but also want to do your own thing some days, go to the market, cook dinner maybe. The final room is a good sized bedroom with a good king sized bed. These are luxury apartments but the price was extremely keen. The entrance to the apartments is at the rear of the hotel. One negative, don't bother with the breakfast in the hotel, it costs Euro 25 per person. Really not worth it at all!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJohn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoscoloResidence_GM, General Manager at Boscolo Residence, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'MrJohn001',

Thank you very much for staying with us at Boscolo Residence and thank you very much for your really kind feedback.
I'm delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our hotel and your apartment with the fully serviced kitchen and bathroom has charmed you.

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back.

With kind regards,
Kinga Engelbrecht - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
#12 of 334 in Budapest
639 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Residence

Property: Boscolo Residence
Address: Osvat utca 2-8, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Budapest
#44 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#54 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#66 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Budapest, these stylish 5-star apartments of Boscolo Residence offer lots of space and fully equipped kitchenettes.Within a 1-minute walk you can reach the Blaha Lujza Square public transport hub and the Keleti Railway Station is just a 5-minute taxi ride away from the Boscolo Residence.Featuring a subtle combination of brown and white tones, each of the apartments comes with a large flat-screen TV, a spacious seating and dining area and a modern bathroom.Guests can take advantage of all the services of the Boscolo Budapest Hotel 200 metres away. These include the buffet breakfast, spa and fitness facilities for a surcharge, and the bar with live piano music and the underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boscolo Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Luxury Residence Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing