We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not 5 stars”
Review of Boscolo Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boscolo Residence
Ranked #86 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a part of Boscolo hotel which is more intended for long stays. The rooms are actually appartments, with several bedrooms, kitchen and living room. The space is huge, everything is modern and design is beautiful. Breakfast is various and tasty and is served in a famous New York cafe with rich decoration. We also had lunch and dinner in the hotel, food was very good. Few things that spoiled the impression of a 5 star hotel. There were no bathrobes in the rooms. The sound isolation is not very good and traffic sounds from the street may be annoying in the night. There are windows from floor to ceiling and I didn't manage to close them with curtains for the night... so it was quite bright in the room and destroyed a good sleep. As I've been in the hotel for a business trip I also used there conference rooms. The tables were very narrow and inconvinient, chairs broken and dated. Very strange for a hotel like this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superkrol4iha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 727 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very nice, really big room, very helpful staff, close to city center. It was very quiet. Bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom was clean, there was really good water pressure in the shower. Also, water was really good quality. Next thing - kitchen was comfortable, have all equipment needed (well, there was no beer bottle opener).

Room Tip: I think rooms with windows on street side can be loud as this is street with much traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was staying on business. Initially shown a suite with separate bedroom and living room, a bath/shower room, but on the first floor, gloomy and with little light. I downgraded to a studio arrangement on the third floor, much brighter and lighter, although smaller and with no bath, simply a shower.
If you stay more than a few days, the room is not serviced, the bed not made - all that is done is the waste baskets are emptied. Once a week the bed linen is changed. Odd, that.
In the bathroom, a large modern mirror over the basin with embedded vanity lights. The overhead lighting is such that one's face is in shadow - but the mirror lights don't work! On mentioning this at reception, I was told, "No, none of them do!" So shaving, and I'm sure makeup, is very difficult.
The TV screen in my bedroom was tiny, about the size of a laptop. No cable, just local channels.
The breakfast, such as it is, is very poor, with very little choice, and costs extra. There is, however, a welcome tea/coffee machine which makes good coffee and is freely available all day.
There is a laundry room available to guests at no charge. Machines are good.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors, courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConstantineG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The stay was an overall good experience. The rooms was large we had 3 apartments, two of the 90 something square meters rooms and one of the 40 something square meters room.

Very nice and clean rooms. Wifi included in the rooms, but on the 6th floor I was not able to connect my Apple devices. They worked fine in the lobby and the 2nd floor. So that was a bit annoying.
The beds are somewhat hard, and the pillows not so good.
But overall a nice hotel, friendly staff, and we all had a nice stay at the hotel and Budapest.

Room Tip: Go for the suits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The apartment is nice and modern.The staff at the reception is also very helpful.
But I expected more..... The room was not very clean and the previous people smoked. So we ask to change room, which we did.

No confusion to make with the 19th century boscolo hotel which is really luxury...
It is possible to comunicate from 3rd floor to the old part to enjoy a drink at the cafe New york or at the bar.

Room Tip: Avoid the apartment, street side. They are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cath2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed 5 nights in Budapest earlier this month. Both of us liked the upgraded suite @ the Boscolo Luxury Residence... a lot! It was spaceous, clean, comfortable, ... everything you need before and after (extremely) long walks while citytripping. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful to us. The breakfast at the Boscolo Luxury Residence is indeed "below" standards for a 5*, however you could get breakfast at the 'mother' hotel (which is over in the next building) at double the price though, which probably is more up to the 5* standard. But, when you're in Budapest, you should actually go out for breakfast in one of the café's or one of the Bakery shops. Very delicious breakfast roles at good prices. There's enough to try something new every day (for a 6 day period), trust me!
We did have some "background" noise at night from traffic on the Rakozci utca (which is apparently pretty busy at night as well), so you may want a room away from that street).
Anyways, we enjoyed it so much that we're planning on going again this summer (or early fall) and most likely in the Boscolo again.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, stay away from rooms that give out on Rakozci utca. If not, get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RafkeMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Well located, large modern, newly equipped studio apartment with comfy bed and huge bathroom. Very friendly and helpful staff, all with good command of English. Has a good free hot drinks facility in the lobby.
Don't bother with the breakfast in the lobby. It is not up to 5* status at all. (no hot items).
Marble floors outside rooms mean you hear footsteps - so choose a room far down the corridor, away from the direction people will walk on their way to the lift.

I'd not mind staying there again, so must say I would recommend the Boscolo Luxury Residence, although I don't know if you are looking for real luxury you'd stay there.

Room Tip: Marble floors outside rooms mean you hear footsteps which might disturb you - so choose a room far d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darthfador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 334 in Budapest
4,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,393 reviews
Hilton Budapest City
#55 of 334 in Budapest
2,047 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Residence

Address: Osvat utca 2-8, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Budapest
#44 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#61 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#66 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $87 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Budapest, these stylish 5-star apartments of Boscolo Residence offer lots of space and fully equipped kitchenettes.Within a 1-minute walk you can reach the Blaha Lujza Square public transport hub and the Keleti Railway Station is just a 5-minute taxi ride away from the Boscolo Residence.Featuring a subtle combination of brown and white tones, each of the apartments comes with a large flat-screen TV, a spacious seating and dining area and a modern bathroom.Guests can take advantage of all the services of the Boscolo Budapest Hotel 200 metres away. These include the buffet breakfast, spa and fitness facilities for a surcharge, and the bar with live piano music and the underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boscolo Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Luxury Residence Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing