We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly good plce to stay”
Review of Boscolo Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boscolo Residence
Ranked #75 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A perfectly good plce to stay”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was staying on business. Initially shown a suite with separate bedroom and living room, a bath/shower room, but on the first floor, gloomy and with little light. I downgraded to a studio arrangement on the third floor, much brighter and lighter, although smaller and with no bath, simply a shower.
If you stay more than a few days, the room is not serviced, the bed not made - all that is done is the waste baskets are emptied. Once a week the bed linen is changed. Odd, that.
In the bathroom, a large modern mirror over the basin with embedded vanity lights. The overhead lighting is such that one's face is in shadow - but the mirror lights don't work! On mentioning this at reception, I was told, "No, none of them do!" So shaving, and I'm sure makeup, is very difficult.
The TV screen in my bedroom was tiny, about the size of a laptop. No cable, just local channels.
The breakfast, such as it is, is very poor, with very little choice, and costs extra. There is, however, a welcome tea/coffee machine which makes good coffee and is freely available all day.
There is a laundry room available to guests at no charge. Machines are good.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors, courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstantineG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    227
    78
    20
    17
See reviews for
119
290
25
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The stay was an overall good experience. The rooms was large we had 3 apartments, two of the 90 something square meters rooms and one of the 40 something square meters room.

Very nice and clean rooms. Wifi included in the rooms, but on the 6th floor I was not able to connect my Apple devices. They worked fine in the lobby and the 2nd floor. So that was a bit annoying.
The beds are somewhat hard, and the pillows not so good.
But overall a nice hotel, friendly staff, and we all had a nice stay at the hotel and Budapest.

Room Tip: Go for the suits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The apartment is nice and modern.The staff at the reception is also very helpful.
But I expected more..... The room was not very clean and the previous people smoked. So we ask to change room, which we did.

No confusion to make with the 19th century boscolo hotel which is really luxury...
It is possible to comunicate from 3rd floor to the old part to enjoy a drink at the cafe New york or at the bar.

Room Tip: Avoid the apartment, street side. They are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cath2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed 5 nights in Budapest earlier this month. Both of us liked the upgraded suite @ the Boscolo Luxury Residence... a lot! It was spaceous, clean, comfortable, ... everything you need before and after (extremely) long walks while citytripping. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful to us. The breakfast at the Boscolo Luxury Residence is indeed "below" standards for a 5*, however you could get breakfast at the 'mother' hotel (which is over in the next building) at double the price though, which probably is more up to the 5* standard. But, when you're in Budapest, you should actually go out for breakfast in one of the café's or one of the Bakery shops. Very delicious breakfast roles at good prices. There's enough to try something new every day (for a 6 day period), trust me!
We did have some "background" noise at night from traffic on the Rakozci utca (which is apparently pretty busy at night as well), so you may want a room away from that street).
Anyways, we enjoyed it so much that we're planning on going again this summer (or early fall) and most likely in the Boscolo again.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, stay away from rooms that give out on Rakozci utca. If not, get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RafkeMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Well located, large modern, newly equipped studio apartment with comfy bed and huge bathroom. Very friendly and helpful staff, all with good command of English. Has a good free hot drinks facility in the lobby.
Don't bother with the breakfast in the lobby. It is not up to 5* status at all. (no hot items).
Marble floors outside rooms mean you hear footsteps - so choose a room far down the corridor, away from the direction people will walk on their way to the lift.

I'd not mind staying there again, so must say I would recommend the Boscolo Luxury Residence, although I don't know if you are looking for real luxury you'd stay there.

Room Tip: Marble floors outside rooms mean you hear footsteps which might disturb you - so choose a room far d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darthfador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would not say that this is a 5* residence.
Yes, the deluxe suite is spacious, clean and comfortable, but they have few negative points:
1. To bathroom is not comfortable at all. Water splashes and it is everywhere after you shower-taking.
2. Breakfast was very poor. No hot food, just a small variety of cold cheeses/sausages/corn flakes.
3. They tried to charge me for smth from the mini-bar, but the problem was solved.
4. They do not actually have any SPA-center (it was included into the price of my room). Actually it is in another Boscolo hotel. Not very comfortable to go there through the hall and reception and to search for the SPA. Also I would not advise to visit this SPA if the price is not included.

All in all, this is a regular business 4* hotel. Nothing special, but also nothing very negative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is great, the staff is very helpful and the over all design of the hotel is beautiful. The suit we stayed in had a fully equipped pentry in the living room with complete kitchen facilities. There are two different options for breakfast servings, and one should not miss the opportunity to try the breakfast at the "New York Café", as that resturant is beautiful. Over all: A very good hotel experience and great value for money.

Room Tip: Some street sounds at lower floors, but the hotel is located in the centre of town. I'd assume n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyfonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
#12 of 334 in Budapest
640 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Residence

Property: Boscolo Residence
Address: Osvat utca 2-8, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Budapest
#44 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#54 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#66 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Budapest, these stylish 5-star apartments of Boscolo Residence offer lots of space and fully equipped kitchenettes.Within a 1-minute walk you can reach the Blaha Lujza Square public transport hub and the Keleti Railway Station is just a 5-minute taxi ride away from the Boscolo Residence.Featuring a subtle combination of brown and white tones, each of the apartments comes with a large flat-screen TV, a spacious seating and dining area and a modern bathroom.Guests can take advantage of all the services of the Boscolo Budapest Hotel 200 metres away. These include the buffet breakfast, spa and fitness facilities for a surcharge, and the bar with live piano music and the underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boscolo Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Luxury Residence Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing