We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Italian Fare”

L'Enoteca Wine Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #712 of 3,116 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Italian, European, Wine Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: L'Enoteca Wine Bar & Restaurant has the same extensive Tuscan-based menu as its sister restaurant next door, Trattoria Toscana. In addition though, it has a wine list of over 300 wines, primarily Italian and quality Hungarian wines. The main floor has been renovated recently to sit more people and the beautiful terrace, overlooking the Danube river and the Buda hills and the castle, has also been expanded.The wine cellar in the basement is ideal for wine tastings for groups of up to 25-30 people and can be booked for special parties. L'Enoteca organizes regular wine tasting dinners and brings guest chefs from Italy as well. Check out L'Enoteca's Wine Club for big savings on enjoying quality wines with your authentic Italian cuisine. Buon Apetito!
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb Italian Fare”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

L'Enoteca (Trattoria Tuscana) was superb -- the finest of Italian fare! Their wine selections were outstanding too. Everything was available at entirely reasonable prices and the service was excellent. We dined there twice while in Budapest it was so enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
“Worst Service”
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Worst waitstaff. Lazy. And overcharged me. Avoid this tourist trap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kynosaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
“would certainly recommend!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

me and my family went to Budapest for a week and went to this resaurant. We were very impressed by the staff and food the staff were very friendly and kind they helped you when you needed it and were well informed on choices of the food they speak very good english wich was extreamly helpful. The food was absolutly delicious clean plaes without a doubt i would certainlt recommend this to anyone staying in Budapest. Best meal of the week:)hope you enjoy if you go:)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice little pace”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Wine bar on the other side from Trattoria Toscana. Same menu.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yoshiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Pasta, Pizza and Wine”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We wanted to eat at Trattoria Tuscana but we showed up without reservations, however, we were not disappointed as we were directed to their wine bar L'Enoteca which is two doors down and shares the kitchen.

The wine bar is non-smoking which for us is perfect. The main restaurant was smoking and you could tell as soon as you walked in.

We ate here twice. The first time we ordered a pizza and pasta. We are well travelled and I love to eat. The pasta here was perfectly cooked and my pizza was great. The hot pepper sauce they provide goes great on the pizza bread and the pizza. We also had calamari as an appetizer and it was comparable to the best we ate in Greece. The wine we had was very local, so much so the label was handwritten and when we asked for it the next day they had only a glassful left. The service and food made our first supper at L'Enoteca an overall 5/5.

Tempting fate we ate at the same wine bar the next night. They were busy so we made a reservation for 2030 hrs and came back and were seated right away. As I said the wine we had tried the night before was gone so we tried aother and it was just about as good. Instead of pizza and pasta we ordered meat dishes. They were both good but too dry to get an excellent rating.

Not being deterred we have also booked another meal at L'Enoteca before we leave Budapest. I am going with pasta and / or pizza and am sure we will be very happy.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LifeisShort-SaskRCMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Enoteca Wine Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to L'Enoteca Wine Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing