We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Communist Relic”
Review of Fungarian

Fungarian
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Communist Budapest Tour: Life Under Communism
More Info
$61.00*
and up
Private Traditional Hungarian Lunch Experience with Combined Language and...
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Budapest Walking Tour and Basics of Hungarian Language Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fun, interesting things to do in Budapest and ways to learn about Hungarian language & culture... Our Fungarian(R) classes are the perfect, relaxed way to begin your visit to Budapest. Whether you are interested in learning a few basic Hungarian words and phrases to help you learn more about the Hungarian culture or interested in one-on-one Hungarian tuition we would be delighted to help you. We are sure our Budapest city tours are the best on offer and that you will agree when you let one of our knowledgeable friendly guides show you the city. Our thematic tours like Communism tour, Art Nouveau Tour, The Flea Market Tour or the Public Transport Tour are among the most popular ones. Discover Budapest's hidden highlights with a knowledgeable guide as part of your own privately guided tour.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our guide Miklos was the Communist tour. He is a relic of these times and that is what makes the tour unique: to be led by someone who experienced, lived through and survived the Soviet era. You can't get any closer to authentic. You can see 'those times' through his eyes. He tells you about what you can no longer see, missing red stars off of buildings, monuments that no longer exist. He took us to a great old cafe in Buda called Bambi from socialist times and shared some photos of the past. Make sure ask him for personal stories, that is when is all gets real.

Thank Bozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miklos_12, Owner at Fungarian, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your well-worded contribution. I am delighted to learn that I have become a relic. I hope I won't turn to be a memoral plaque soon. I also enjoyed the tour and appreciated your enormous interest. Miklós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 244 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We chose a 1 hour Hungarian lesson with Balasz which was a great start to our holiday. He gave us some great tips and an insight into the Hungarian culture to help us really enjoy our weekend in Budapest. Really relaxed lesson and made us feel at ease. Would definitely recommend to anybody, no matter how short your visit is.

Dan and Lia

1  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miklos_12, Owner at Fungarian, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Dan,
Happy to hear we could contribute to a pleasant stay. Miklós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A different tour of Budapest with the family and a hungarian gentleman named Miklós. Best way to learn about a country is to listen to the locals, right ? And that was fun ! Highly recommended

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Frederic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miklos_12, Owner at Fungarian, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for remembering the tour after so many weeks. mm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited Budapest in August 2012 and booked a 1 hour Fungarian lesson to get a taste of Hungarian culture and language. We were not disappointed. Our teacher, Nora, came to our hotel instead of meeting us at a cafe, as i find it difficult getting around, which i thought was lovely. She was a pleasant, helpful and engaging teacher and we took a lot away from our lesson.

We used the language we'd learned as much as possible on our trip and tried firewater or Palinkat (I think that's how you spell it) based on Nora's recommendation.

I would highly recommend Fungarian and would definitely use it again when i got back to Budapest.

Thank champion_less1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miklos_12, Owner at Fungarian, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for remembering Fungarian even after weeks of your visit. Happy to hera you had good memories. Nora sends her best regards. miklós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

spent a few hours with Mikolos ( forgive spelling) who did a tour/ lecture on Hungary under Communism. Transformed a city break weekend. Peeled away lawyers and lets you see the city in a different light. Highly recommended

Thank colm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miklos_12, Owner at Fungarian, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your contribution. I am glad I could share some moments of the Communist past and you could see what you can't see any longer. miklós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fungarian also viewed

 

Been to Fungarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing