We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious goulash soup, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anna Cafe

Anna Cafe
Ranked #28 of 201 Coffee & Tea in Budapest
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious goulash soup, friendly staff”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went to this restaurant after long day in a conference nearby and was refreshed by the atmosphere and food. The staff were very helpful, I tried the goulash and bean soup which was very tasty. Other customers had delicious looking drinks (both hot drinks and cocktails) and full meals/desserts. There was a very relaxed atmosphere in this cafe and I would have happily spent an evening there considering their varied food and drink menu and opening times.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    603
    271
    110
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“15 % Service fee is a joke”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Ordered 2 beers and paid more than anywhere else- not a place to recommend! Do not support this type of stupidity. Location may be great but no need to waste your money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swede_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy Food at a Decent Price”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Myself and my friend stopped here for lunch on our final day in Budapest. I had heard good things and so I was looking forward to our food. We ordered a tuna sandwich to share which was incredibly tasty and presented in a cute little basket with salad.
We didn't buy drinks as it was our last day and we had little money left, but we both had a cake. I had a chocolate cupcake which was incredibly yummy and my friend had a slice of some other chocolate cake. Both of which I would love to have again!
Many people have commented that the cafe is a little expensive, but I didn't find it so. I am only a student so don't have a lot of money, but for the location I didn't think the price was bad at all. It is located in a main tourist hot spot and therefore prices are obviously higher than less touristy areas of the city, but for the location I found it cheaper than other cafes in the area. We sat outside but there was also room inside. Outside we were given blankets and there was also standing heaters/lights above the tables.
The service was good and the lady serving us was friendly and cheerful. She also had a good level of English.
All in all we both REALLY enjoyed our food and I would certainly recommend to others. Next time I am in Budapest I will certainly be enjoying lunch here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank secretsandliesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice cafe, but touristy!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The coffee was ok and the cakes looked nice, but I didn’t taste them. Friendly staff, but a little slow. There are other cafes I would rather visit again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Synne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service, High Prices”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Although the service at Anna Cafe is almost phenomenal it leaves a few things to be desired. First, their prices are egregiously high compared to cafes of equal quality outside the immediate area of Vaci Utca. Also, be warned that this is one of the few small cafes that includes a compulsory gratuity on the check. In fact it was the only restaurant I visited during a month and a half long stay in Budapest that had one. When I explained that I'd rather tip in cash (paying with credit card) the manager came out and was rather snotty about the situation. In the end she refused to remove the mandatory gratuity even though I was attempting to physically offer the waiter a cash tip larger than that included in the check. I'd avoid the place at all costs in the future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DigitalNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anna Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Anna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing