We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ice-cream like a flower!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gelarto Rosa

Gelarto Rosa
Ranked #3 of 149 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Located in the center of Budapest (Basilica), Gelarto Rosa is THE BEST ice cream in this town! Owner, the charismatic Niki Szokron studied the secrets of old Italian family recipes straight from the source in Italy and brought it back to her city. The philosophy behind it: fresh and true quality ingredients, old Italian traditions, modern technic and as final touch, add artistic creativity.The pretty ice cream girls at Niki's shop "create" each and every portion or cone as a unique artwork using ice cream as art material. It's simply amazing! Don't miss Peti (the barista) great Italian style coffee, and have real French macaroon from Juliette McAron.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
454 reviews
452 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“The ice-cream like a flower!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

So special ice-cream I have ever saw! Though the location in Tripadviser showed wrong (There are other location have the same street name and number), but we still found out the place and enjoy it! And the price is very very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yueyingxiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear yueyingxiong,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at GelARTo Budapest. We are glad to read all your compliments and hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,293
    336
    76
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really quaint cafe/ice cream parlour/cake shop”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Lovely cakes and ice cream, very friendly service and beautiful view of basilica. Definitely recommend a visit, and sample the interesting flavoured ice creams, beautifully presented in rose shapes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Craighartley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Craighartley1,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at GelARTo Budapest. We are glad you are fully satisfied with our shop. It is important to us to get such positive feedback, it gives us a lot of energy to keep going and improve everyday

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful and yummy ice cream”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Went searching for this place based on other reviews on here and we weren't dissapointed. The cafe itself was very pretty and they had some very interesting ice cream flavours. The ice creams were a good price and looked and tasted great. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Jemma C,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at GelARTo Budapest. We are glad we could positively answer to your expectations. We do a real Italian style coffee, home ice-cream with unusual flavors. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Friendly, not to mention lovely, server. Good gelato. Fairly priced, too. Definitely going back. And now, about that 50 character minimum......

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 111blake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear 111blake,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at GelARTo Budapest. We are glad you enjoyed our ice-cream and think about coming back again. We are just waiting for you..

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing little cafe!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We sought shelter from the rain in this lovely little cafe in Budapest. The staff were chatty and friendly and the food amazing! Beautiful ice cream, superb cakes and the richest hot chocolate I've ever tasted!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordanbutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Jordanbutters,

We would like to thank you for sharing your pictures and experience at GelARTo Budapest. We are glad you had a good time in our shop and found our staff friendly. We wish to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelarto Rosa also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gelarto Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing