We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SERIOUSLY--#4? GET REAL.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelarto Rosa

Gelarto Rosa
Ranked #3 of 145 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Located in the center of Budapest (Basilica), Gelarto Rosa is THE BEST ice cream in this town! Owner, the charismatic Niki Szokron studied the secrets of old Italian family recipes straight from the source in Italy and brought it back to her city. The philosophy behind it: fresh and true quality ingredients, old Italian traditions, modern technic and as final touch, add artistic creativity.The pretty ice cream girls at Niki's shop "create" each and every portion or cone as a unique artwork using ice cream as art material. It's simply amazing! Don't miss Peti (the barista) great Italian style coffee, and have real French macaroon from Juliette McAron.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“SERIOUSLY--#4? GET REAL.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Yes it is good ice cream, but for this place to be rates the 4th best RESTAURANT in Budapest is very highly misleading.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear John_Joseph_78209,

We understand you do not agree with our ranking. Plenty of customers like our ice-cream and give us a good score. It is normal when you like something, you are happy and reward it. Even you find our ice-cream good, what we do not understand is why you give us a bad score. We know quiet well the business and we can tell you that there are few ice-cream store doing the same level quality job.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,260
    330
    75
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This little shop produces probably the best ice cream in Budapest. Rose-like cones are made effortlessly from maximum of four flavors. Huge variety of flavors include classical tastes like strawberry or vanilla. Then there is some more exotic flavor mixes such as basil-lemonade and white chocolate-lavender.
Lines are often long, but for a good reason!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Far-out2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Far-out2,

Thank you so much for all your compliments. we are glad you like our ice-cream. we wish to see you back very soon.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

A must!
If you go visit the area of the Basilica, you should stop for a ice cream. It's super cute and yummy !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank envie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Responsable relations clients at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear envie v,

Thank you very much for your post. We hope to see you again in the future. London is only 3 hours away from Budapest.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best ice cream ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and my girlfriend were passing by the church they have nearby when we saw this huge line. People were getting out of the place with some kind of flower in their hand and the flower came in a eatable cone. As any other normal person we decided to stay in the line and see what it was. It took us 15 min in the line. The best ice cream ever!! The flavors are awesome and they make some weird combinations that you would never thing of. And apart from that they put it in the shape of a flower. The price is not that expensive either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Responsable relations clients at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Rodrigo F,

Thank you very much for your post. We appreciate your patience and your understanding. We are really happy that you and your girlfriend enjoyed our ice-cream.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fabulous flavours.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Loved the way the ice creams were shaped and the very different flavours, e.g. lemon and basil, strawberry and elderflower, ginger and white chocolate with lavender.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear ExCymru,

Thank you very much for your post. It's always so good to read positive reviews, it gives us a lot of energy.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelarto Rosa also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gelarto Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing