We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gelarto Rosa

Gelarto Rosa
Ranked #3 of 149 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Located in the center of Budapest (Basilica), Gelarto Rosa is THE BEST ice cream in this town! Owner, the charismatic Niki Szokron studied the secrets of old Italian family recipes straight from the source in Italy and brought it back to her city. The philosophy behind it: fresh and true quality ingredients, old Italian traditions, modern technic and as final touch, add artistic creativity.The pretty ice cream girls at Niki's shop "create" each and every portion or cone as a unique artwork using ice cream as art material. It's simply amazing! Don't miss Peti (the barista) great Italian style coffee, and have real French macaroon from Juliette McAron.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding ice cream”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This gelato was first rate. The decor of the ice cream parlor is unforgettable, and the flavors themselves are amazing. What we didn't know is they use fresh fruit in all their sorbets. You can really taste the difference! Can't recommend this place strongly enough. Worth the wait if there's a line, and it does move quickly. Wendy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Wendy S,

Thank you so much for your post. We are proud you write your first review on Trip Advisor about us. It's great to read all the compliments. We wish seeing you in the close future.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,293
    336
    76
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wasn't aware of this shop until we walked into the Square and saw the queue.....although there were several people in the line it moved quickly and it wasn't long before we were served.
Was it the best ice cream ever? Probably not, but it was very nice and the artistic work that goes into it makes it a really memorable visit.
Look forward to visiting again at some point.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 18SCFC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Gary K,

Thank you very much for your contribution. We are glad you like our ice-cream. Please come again while you are in Budapest and discover all our unusual flavors.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“The best ice cream ever”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It is just the best ice cream in the Budapest. It not only looks just amazing, tastes really natural and healthy, it is really good value of money for such good quality too. Although there are always big lines, it is worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sshpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear sshpak,

Thank you so much for all your compliments. It is important to us to get your feedback. We are glad you love our ice-cream. we wish to see back soon.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Simply Marvelous”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The Gelato was tasty, best in Budapest. The rose design instead of scoops was creative and a simple delight. The down side is the cones, I think they need to make their own waffle cones.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greyhound85034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear greyhound85034,

We would like to thank you for your post. We are happy you appreciate our ice-cream. We wish to see you during your next visit in Budapest.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect icecream - long line”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Although luckily the gelato-culture has developed a lot in Budapest recently, this is probably still the best place, as many others stated, it tastes as great as it looks! Plus they have icecream to fit different diets too.
But often there is such a long line out on the street waiting to get in that it's impossible to just hop in for a treat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nyfsz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Nyfsz m,

Thank you very much for your post. To avoid the line, I recommend to come in the mornings. We work on the project to open a new shop next year. As we do want do only quality job it takes time to get the location that we want. Anyway, we appreciate the fact you rank us as the best ice-cream place in Budapest.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelarto Rosa also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gelarto Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing