We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice in the form of a rose”
Review of Gelarto Rosa

Gelarto Rosa
Ranked #3 of 151 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Located in the center of Budapest (Basilica), Gelarto Rosa is THE BEST ice cream in this town! Owner, the charismatic Niki Szokron studied the secrets of old Italian family recipes straight from the source in Italy and brought it back to her city. The philosophy behind it: fresh and true quality ingredients, old Italian traditions, modern technic and as final touch, add artistic creativity.The pretty ice cream girls at Niki's shop "create" each and every portion or cone as a unique artwork using ice cream as art material. It's simply amazing! Don't miss Peti (the barista) great Italian style coffee, and have real French macaroon from Juliette McAron.
Reeuwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
409 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Ice in the form of a rose”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very good ice. But you can get good ice everywhere in Budapest though not in so much flavours. They make their ice in the form of a rose, a super idea!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank avmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Responsable relations clients at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear avmn,

A big thank you. We are of course glad that you like our rose shaped ice-cream, to satisfy you better we will try the tulip shape.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,326
    346
    78
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good ice cream”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The ice cream was really good and the decoration especially, but the service wasn't that bad...it was just missing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruja_fea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear bruja_fea

We are sorry that you didn't get the service you expected. We are trying hard to satisfy every customer. The good point is that you enjoy our quality ice-cream and we hope you will give us an other chance in the future.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great icecream”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good homemade icecream near the church. Open until late. friendly staff. no tables, but there is a park close by where we went and sat down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Responsable relations clients at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Emma L,

Thank you very much for your post. We do have tables now outside if you wish to enjoy our ice-cream on our terrace. For us, it's a great reward to read that you find our staff friendly.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little gem in Budapest”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This Budapest gem is wellworth a visit. Simply put: delicious ice cream, beautifully presented. True craftsmanship.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walkinglola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear walkinglola,

We would like to thank you for your post. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at our ice-cream shop.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected journey..”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

..through unusual flavors. I tried olives, basil with lemon and strawberry. They are worth the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purchawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Purchawa,

Many thanks for taking your time and writing about us. We sincerely appreciate it.

Kind regards,

GelARTo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelarto Rosa also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gelarto Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing