We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good chocolate! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelarto Rosa

Gelarto Rosa
Ranked #3 of 138 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Located in the center of Budapest (Basilica), Gelarto Rosa is THE BEST ice cream in this town! Owner, the charismatic Niki Szokron studied the secrets of old Italian family recipes straight from the source in Italy and brought it back to her city. The philosophy behind it: fresh and true quality ingredients, old Italian traditions, modern technic and as final touch, add artistic creativity.The pretty ice cream girls at Niki's shop "create" each and every portion or cone as a unique artwork using ice cream as art material. It's simply amazing! Don't miss Peti (the barista) great Italian style coffee, and have real French macaroon from Juliette McAron.
1 review
“Very good chocolate! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

It was amassing! We tried a chocolate with chili and goffri waffles. I recommend this place indeed! And they have very good wi-fi too)

Helpful?
Thank Kira K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Kira K,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We use real chocolate for our ice-cream, we make our own waffle according a traditional Belgian recipe. We try to provide the best to our customers and are happy to give you satisfaction.

Kind regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,197
    321
    73
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Prettiest gelato in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Want to impress your toughest of critics , large and small, and bring smiles to their faces? Present them with these beautifully sculpted desserts! They're as much fun to view as they are to eat! Great flavors, and so beautifully presented. YUM! YUM!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Quzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Quzy,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are like you, we love our shop. We saw that you visited many places in Budapest, it seems you enjoyed, we are very happy for this. We hope seeing you soon with an ice-cream in your hand.

Kind regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

While living in Italy we had fantastic gelato over the years. We were really impressed by the flavors Gelarto Rose carries. The way they make the rose on the cone is simply beautiful!!!! One may think you're crazy for taking photos of gelato or ice cream but not here. The gelato is art!! We had the white chocolate lavender. Srumptious!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gibsonchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Gibsonchop,

We appreciate being compared with Italian ice-cream. We thank you for your visit and your post. You are welcome any time. We wish you a Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic icecream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I loved the icream which were shaped into a rose, really pretty. I especially loved the white chocolate and lavender icecream. We went here twice, even when it was snowing outside! They didn't have many flavours, but I'm assuming they would have more during Summer. Staff are very nice and the icecream is very delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sophie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sophie888,

Thanks for visitng us and sharing your picture. Yes, in the summer we do have between 24 and 30 flavours. The shop has a different setting as well. We hope seeing you soon. We wish you a Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

GelArto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent and interesting ice-cream, very good handmade chocolate, friendly staff and wonderful atmosphere. I could stay there for hours. I tried white chocolate with lavender and even though it sounded awkward it was extremely tasty. So sorry I missed pistachio ice-cream - they didn't have it. Prices are also reasonable. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear HotelDina,

Thank you so much for sharing all of your pictures. We are really glad that you loved so much our shop. It gives us a lot positive energy and the desire to do more for our guests.

Many thanks again and we wish to all your family a Happy New Year.

Best regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelarto Rosa also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gelarto Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing