We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, astonishing view!”

Halaszbastya Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $84
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: The Halaszbastya Restaurant is not just a restaurant, but an atmosphere, an expression of feeling which is much more complicated to describe than to try out and become a party to the miracle... Thanks to the elegant, neo-Romanesque styled internal space and the well-trained hospitability team the Halaszbastya Restaurant impress their guests with not only its beauty but warm atmosphere as well. Margareta Terrace is the uppermost terrace of the Restaurant with gorgeous panorama. We offer hot drinks in winter time and ice-cold refreshers during the summer heat, while the Danube Terrace, - which is in line with the Danube -, we offer hot and cold dishes from spring to autumn. An excellent venue with wonderful panorama of Budapest and intimate live music provides an unforgettable experience for our guests.The gastronomic style of The Halaszbastya Restaurant: innovative kitchen. We regard it as a challenge to participate in revive the most beautiful tradition of the Hungarian kitchen, and familiarize our typical flavours with our visitors. We paid especial respect to set up our wine selection highlighted Hungarian wines from reputed regions and offer prominent wines from abroad as well. Our sommeliers guide through more than 150 sort of list and recommendations help our guests to choose the best for excellent courses, their mood and gusto.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious food, astonishing view!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by my dad due to its location (within the Fisherman's Bastion - Halaszbastya) and its amazing view (he didn't have a chance to have dinner here). Since during our visit the temperatures were really low (0 degrees Celcius) and it was very windy, we sat inside and I have to admit, the decor was as romantic as I imagined it. The service was of excellent standard, the presentation of each plate was beautiful and the quality of the food was amazing as expected from the time you set foot in this magnificent restaurant. Especially the dessert, we had the easter's specialty which was called the 'easter surprise' and it was indeed a beautiful surprise! It might be a bit overpriced compared to other restaurants in Budapest but trust me, it worths every penny because no other restaurant offers such a view! Also, the band provides that final touch that makes this dinner an unforgettable one as they pass from every table and play 3 requests for each table and then they pass again! Such a romantic dinner!
Recommendations: 1) Make a reservation in advance since it is likely that you will not find a table if you just show up (the hotel can make it for you). 2) If you want to sit inside, request for a table near a window so you can have the astonishing view of the city, the Parliament and the lights all by yourselves!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    210
    65
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely, atmospheric place with great food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been here twice and I am sure I will go back again. The interior is unique, elegant but not posh with a fantastic view to the Pest side of the city. The staff is professional, there is live gypsy music but descent, not obtruding or disturbing loud at all. If you are in the castle district, (where most restaurants are overpriced) I would recommend only this place. It is worth to visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good catch for a birthday dinner!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance despite the fact that we had the privilege of a hotel room that overlooked this beautiful gothic building and because of this we called in person to scan the restaurant and chose the best table and seat in the house. Our gut instinct told us we would not be disappointed and as always that instinct paid off. We arrived dressed up to the nines with walking boots to guide us since the snow fall that week had been pretty hardy. After a quick change we were shown our table and the fun began. The table for two was beautifully presented and the wine and food menu were both in competition with each other. The view from the table looked out over the River Danube and to the night lights of Budapest - absolutely stunning! Where else can a five course vegetarian gourmet meal and a wine chosen for each course be done? The sommelier was so helpful and her suggestions were taken on board with considerate calculations since I am such. a light weight with heavier bodied wines. In all we had seven courses with an amuse bouche and sorbet thrown in by the restaurant. The waiters were attentive in every detail and moment and we felt very looked after and spoilt! The mini orchestra played beautifully and took requests. The surprise of somewhere over the rainbow took me by surprise and brought a nostalgic tear to my eye. Birthday boy was not disappointed and by the time pudding arrived it was complete with indoor firework and a table surrounded with waiters, sommelier and the mini orchestra singing his birthday plaudit. The whole experience left my dear partner quite emotional and that was before he got the bill!!!! Certainly the meal and wine was not cheap but we went home very happy and appreciative of such a worthy memory to bank.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank June O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view, great food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had an outstanding table overlooking the Duna river. As the sunset we watched the boats go by and enjoyed a great meal of traditional Hungarian food and wine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyDRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A romantic dinner at Halaszbastya restaurant!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went with my fiancé to Budapest over a weekend. Our hotel recommended us to have dinner at Halazbastya Restaurant. Our hotel called the restaurant to make a reservation (think the time was around 14) and we got a table the same night at 19.30. We got a window table in the tower, with a amazing view over the river (Danube) and the whole city. So gorgeous!! Just the view made it worth to have dinner at this restaurant!! And also the furnishing was beautiful! I really felt like I was a queen in a castle ☺ The service was excellent! They knew exactly when it was time to come to our table and when it was time to fill our glasses, serve dinner etc. I have nothing at to complain about when it comes to this restaurant!! Totally worth to try!! And the prices were great! We had each a drink when we came, then we got bread and a small appetizer, after that we had a lovely soup, then it was time for our main course (and two glasses of red wine) and we ended our dinner it with dessert. Think we payed around 33 000 ft (think it is around 1000 Swedish kronor or 154 dollar). Can’t wait till next time I visit Budapest and I will have the chance to have dinner here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara2013818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halaszbastya Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Halaszbastya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing