We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend, great location, great staff”
Review of City Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Gardens
Ranked #101 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great weekend, great location, great staff”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I booked the City Gardens apartments for 18 friends on a city break. The apartments were clean and the staff were very accommodating for such a large group. The free use of the pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room provided the perfect morning recovery and relaxation following the night before.
The apartments were large enough for us all to congregate in one room and all had a small balcony, kitchenette, fridge etc to use as required.
The staff organised cheap transfers to and from the airport and taxis for the whole weekend.
The location is perfect for numerous bars, clubs and restaurants. I would recommend Sir Lancelot's restaurant for a fun meal for medium to large groups.
As I would the night 'Sparty' in the Szechenyi Baths - it was an amazing night! 10pm to 3am outside in the thermal baths with a great DJ and plenty of drinks!
Overall, great location, a lovely city and the City Gardens apartments were the perfect location and exceptional value.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms on the higher floors maybe quieter. However, we were on the second and third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanAg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    126
    35
    9
    13
See reviews for
99
85
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The City Gardens Hotel in Budapest is a great choice if you'd like to be in an apartment in Budapest. Our room was on the 7th floor and had one bedroom and a fully equipped kitchen and access to the spa. The bathroom had both a shower and a bath. When we arrived a complementary bottle of wine was waiting for us!

The tv had only Hungarian Channels, but we were not in Budapest to watch tv anyway. A DVD player was present as well, so we were able to watch some DVD's we brought from home. Also Wifi was working fine for us.

We really liked the location, only 2 minutes from Octagon and the Opera and a nice 20 minute walk to the Heroes' square.

Sometimes you had to wait quite long for the elevator, but that didn't bother us to much. Enough places to eat and small supermarkets nearby.

Room Tip: A room on the seventh floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boncki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had lovely apt. with a big bathroom (room. 706) where were both - bathtub and shower, kitchen, bedroom and living room with an extra bed. It is nothing fancy but clean and sufficient. Wifi worked, TV had no English channels but we did not care. The AC did not work 100% in our eyes but it might have been because of the amazing heat wave we had in Budapest. It was 35 Celsius in shade, so maybe that was why....
Location is totally perfect, we walked all the way to the Castle from the hotel with our 7 years old son and back it was easily manageable (7,5km).
Spa facilities are absolutely great - pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym - just all great and extra bonus to location. Not even talking about the price - for what it serves, great....
Breakfast - extra 8 Euro for adult, 4 for a kid - nice, filling breakfast with many options and great espresso.
Overall, yes - we would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanZeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The apartment we had was amazing and the service we experienced was top notch! The staff were so friendly and made the whole stay so enjoyable. They recommended things to see and do and were so accomodating.

I'd go back in a heartbeat if I was ever in Budapest!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewWhite_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

He had a lovely stay in Budapest. The city is very beautiful and this hotel helped us very much because his location. In 10 minutes you can be anywhere you want (Vaci Utca, Parliament, St.Stefan Basilica, Chain Bridge, etc.). The staff is very friendly and they know very well to speak in english. They helped us with maps and guides for the city. The room was very clean and big and the internet connection was perfect. The price for the parking is 15 euros/day ( a little bit expensive in my opinion), the fitness center is very crouded but at the pool was ok. For the acces to spa, Pool and Fitness you must to deposit 5 euros/person or 1000 huf for the card. When you will check out, you will have the money back. When I checked out I got a fridge magnet with the hotel. Nice...

At the ground floor, close to the reception is a bistro-cafe. Well, the smell of the food can be very annoying. All my clothes smelled horrible.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here recently for 2 days. Location was great for accessing the trams, metro etc. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and spacious. I also really enjoyed the facilities here including the swimming pool, sauna steam room etc. I would happily stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazza1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed 3 days in Budapest. It was our first family visit, for sure not the last. Accomodation was perfect. Location is in the centre of the city, only few minutes walk to main points (some monuments, tram, bus, metro...). Apartment is clean, well equipped and enough space, to feel relaxed. Staff is excellent, kind and prepared to help you with all kind of information. They deserve big like and "thank you". :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdvardKadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#123 of 334 in Budapest
342 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Lion's Garden Hotel
#78 of 334 in Budapest
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel President
Hotel President
#93 of 334 in Budapest
944 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Made Inn Budapest
Made Inn Budapest
#121 of 652 in Budapest
81 reviews
Terézváros
Lord Residence
Lord Residence
#15 of 652 in Budapest
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gardens

Property: City Gardens
Address: O street 43-49., Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes' walk from the Hungarian State Opera House, City Gardens offers fully furnished apartments. A wellness center with indoor pool and a fitness center are available on site. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas.City Gardens’s apartments feature modern décor, and are equipped with DVD players and TV. Well-equipped kitchen corners with bar-style tables are also available.The apartments have a 24-hour front desk and offer private parking on site for a fee. In the building, there is also a restaurant.The UNESCO-protected Andrássy Avenue is about 400 metres away. Ferihegy Airport is about half an hour from the apartments and City Gardens provides a transfer service.Oktogon Metro Station is a 5-minute walk away. This station offers easy access to Budapest’s main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing