We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice christmas in a spacious studio”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Gardens
Ranked #56 of 657 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice christmas in a spacious studio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here during christmas 2013 and it was a good experience. The staff was very helpful and booked dinner at the river for us. Spacious studio, but there was no washing up liquid, not even after the cleaner had been there. Very nice and newly renovated room. They guests are also allowed to use the gym and swimming pool. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the basilica and Westend shopping centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiefine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    125
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
97
84
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

What a great place to stay in central Budapest! We arrived way earlier than 3pm (check-in time) but our apartment had already been taken care of by housekeeping and we were able to check in. The girls at reception were lovely and very helpful. We'd booked a 1-bedroom apartment but were upgraded to a 2-bedroom apartment at no extra cost.
Our 7th-floor apartment was spacious and clean, equipped with plenty of towels and kitchen essentials, and felt very secure. It also had a great little balcony.
I couldn't believe we got access to the pool, sauna and gym included in the price of EUR 50 a night for 3 people (booked via booking.com)! The facilities were easy to access and seemed clean and well looked after.
We felt comfortable walking everywhere and felt safe walking back along Andrassy and O streets around 11pm. The metro stops nearby for anyone relying on public transport.

Three things to bear in mind (and the reasons why I can't give a 5-star rating):
1) the party hostel next door means it can get a bit loud. It was fine with earplugs though
2) we had to pay a EUR 5 deposit each for gym and pool access cards which we didn't know about in advance
3) you are charged 6% extra if you choose to pay by credit card.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor apartment for less noise from the hostel next door, and a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lelde I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent size studio staying as a solo traveller. Only batteries in one remote so had to keep swapping when trying to watch a DVD. Did let them know but nothing was done, nothing major anyway. Asked if there was a safety deposit box, was told to read instructions. They then printed them off and handed to me, but there was no safety deposit box to have instructions for! Hungarian wine in room was a nice touch. 1 frying pan and pot but no cooking untensils apart from scissors and a large blunt knife no chopping board etc. If you do want to self cater you may need to opt for a microwave meal (do they do these here?) or toast. Hi tech well equipped gym a hugh bonus. Tried breakfast on the first morning, for 8 euros dont bother, venture out. Cooked food was barely luke warm, semi raw fried eggs and shrivelled scrambelled egg with cold fried potatoes. Polite and informative staff, slightly puzzled why its called city gardens? Maybe I missed the garden part. Fantastic location and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Da9601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

On arrival at the City Gardens I was greeted at reception by a delightful young lady named Jodi from New Zealand. Nothing was too much trouble for her to explain and set the standard for a great 3 night Stay in the heart of the City. The apartment was clean and spacious with tea and coffee supplied. There is a cooker, microwave, fridge/freeze and kettle so you had the choice for eating in or out and to my complete surprise a complimentary bottle of red wine.
Included in the price is a modern gym and swimming pool with Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna and a small deposit is required for the gym pass.
On leaving the hotel you are surrounded by restaurants, bars and shops and local transport.
There is a small restaurant adjoining the reception area where you can get breakfast etc.
I could not fault the City Gardens and would suit all age groups
This was my second trip to Budapest foe dental treatment and I would highly recommend the City Gardens.
Have a great trip home Jodi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joecallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Let start from the beginning.
We are family of 4 with 2 little kids 1 and 3 years old.
Hotel is almost in the very center of Budapest. Its tucked behind couple of major city streets so its pretty quiet outside if that is what you are looking for. Just two streets from Octagon square, two streets from a street full of restaurants and bars, 15 min walk to Basilica and Vaci street, 10 min walk to West End Shopping Mall.
Once you get to the hotel street it is a bit confusing to guess where the hotel actually is since it is poorly displayed especially at night time. Hotel garage is called Broadway garage (which is clearly visible) and just beside it is the hotel itself. Once in the garage you can park on any place marked Broadway - the rest are private parking spots. Garage is a bit narrow so prepare for some manuvering. There is a lift there to take you to the lobby and all other floors of the hotel. Hotel door is marked City Apartments or something but again this is the right place.
Staff are great and very helpful and pleasant to talk to. They will explain you everything gladly.
Rooms are spatious and clean. We have booked room for 4 people since we are family with 2 little kids and it was very nice and camfy. We had hallway, bathroom (with both bathtub and shower cabin), one master bedroom, and one big room where was kitchen, dining area and livingroom. There was a complementary bottle of vine waiting on the table. The kitchen was nicely equiped (cattle, coffee maker, tee and coffee already there also).
Spa is actually spa for itself and you need to deposit 1000HUF or 5 Euro to get in there (which you get back of course after you finish) and is great. There is large gym room with muscle gladiator machines and cardio training also. Pool, jakuzzi and steam room also very nice. Temp of the pool a bit colder around 24deg i think and is not for little kids since you need to swim to get warmer.
As for the payment. You pay in front for the whole stay as you are issued keys to the room. It is nice to prepare HUF in cash because if you pay with card they charge 10% extra for handling. And if you pay in Euro you get a bit less for your money than what you would get in the exchange office on the street. That goes for every place is Budapest you can pay in Euro in every restaurant or bar but the difference in exchange rates will sneak up to you.
Great hotel nice stuff nice location will book again.

Room Tip: There are no kids activities in the hotel but if you can - get a room with 4 beds on first 3 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stereo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Spacious, clean apartments. Complimentary bottle of wine in the room on arrival. Tea bags & coffee provided. Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Lovely pool & steam room available to use before exploring beautiful Budapest!

I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

good clean room .very big apartment .free bot of nice wine and coffee and tea bags. staff were really helpful and pleasant. In centre of town .pool/steam room /gym excellent. would stay there again. we were a party of 6 and we had 2 apartments next to each other ..... .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauretta938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#121 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Medosz Hotel
#77 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Terézváros
Lord Residence
Lord Residence
#15 of 657 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Residence
Opera Residence
#36 of 657 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gardens

Property: City Gardens
Address: O street 43-49., Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 657 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes' walk from the Hungarian State Opera House, City Gardens offers fully furnished apartments. A wellness center with indoor pool and a fitness center are available on site. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas.City Gardens’s apartments feature modern décor, and are equipped with DVD players and TV. Well-equipped kitchen corners with bar-style tables are also available.The apartments have a 24-hour front desk and offer private parking on site for a fee. In the building, there is also a restaurant.The UNESCO-protected Andrássy Avenue is about 400 metres away. Ferihegy Airport is about half an hour from the apartments and City Gardens provides a transfer service.Oktogon Metro Station is a 5-minute walk away. This station offers easy access to Budapest’s main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing