We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of City Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Gardens
Ranked #98 of 644 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Found the whole experience very good. Stayed for 1 week. Staff were more than helpful and I had questions for them every day!! Cant fault the room I had, clean and was cleaned. The pool, gym, sauna and jacuzzi were excellent again with friendly staff. For only a small fee can even join the classes. Bike hire was included for the week, important for me to have the freedom - small issues but again more than helpful to resolve these.

I would not hesitate to recommend staying here.

Gary Bishop

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    126
    35
    8
    13
See reviews for
98
85
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

City Gardens is in extremely convenient (2mins from Oktogon, 2 mins from Opera and 2 mins from restaurant/cafe area), cost effective, clean and spacious. Very well designed room with all the amenities, with an additional free bike service as well as a wonderful bottle of complementary red wine for each room. the staff is always very helpful to suggest activities and locations to visit, especially Ella who managed to make our stay even better with her great suggestions. Recommended for singles/couples/families or groups.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npavlidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joutsa, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The room was clean and non-smoking. It was important to us that the pool, sauna and gym included in room price. The location was very good: you can use yellow or blue metro - the both stations were near. And there was a nice surprise in the room, bottle of red wine waiting for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulla267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Luxurious and comfortable apartment, great location, great gym and swimming pool, very kind and helpful staff (especially the cute kiwi girl, Jodi). Only "problem" is that the apartment is way too big for a solo traveller. This is probably a little more suitable for couples/families/groups.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoamP215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Exellent location (5 minutes walk to Okrogon metro and fast tram stations; 10 minutes walk to St. Istvan Cathedral). Lot of restaurants and cafes nearby.
Very clean room with new furniture and all necessary equipment (big refrigerator, oven, teapot, hair fan etc.)
We stayed here for week in September. There were 3 of us (me, my wife and 8-year old son). Category of our room was upgraded for free - that's why we lived in 2-room apartments. Our windows faced the internal yard - that's why it was a silence (on Friday night you can hear screams from night clubs even in the yard - but only if you open the window).
The price is very reasonable. Unlimited fitness and sauna are included.
There were no any serious troubles. Just 3 small:
- 2 lifts is too little for such a big building
- We didn't see any signboard that it's a City Gardens here - only Broadway (it was not a problem for us because we read guests opinions on booking.com and new about it - but for others it might cause a problem)
- Wi-Fi passwords were printed on big sheets in the room - but they were wrong. Only when I asked about it at the reception, they gave me right passwords

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir_Trukhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The pool and gym facilities are the highlight here. My room was above a smoky bar and busy street. The room reeked of stale smoke and opening the windows did nothing to help as the source was directly beneath.
Asked to move and not able to or assisted in any way.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked 3 nights on Hotels.com for City Gardens after seeing great reviews everywhere. When we arrived it was difficult to find the place, because there is only a tiny sign on a wall to show it was there. When we checked in, the man at the counter tried to charge us 7 euros for city tax, but when we booked online, it stated that we already paid a city tax. Then when we got into our 'Tower Studio" which was up an elevator out a courtyard then up another 2 flights of stairs into a building that smelt like sewage, we found our room was nothing like the photos online and had stains all over the carpet. We arrived at 1am, so we were too tired to go and complain.

When we woke up it was raining and water was leaking in through the ceiling near the window and starting to smell and we saw a bit of water damaged near that spot, like it had happened before and had not been fixed. We went down to reception to ask for it to be fixed or a new room and were told they were fully booked for both of the remaining nights and housekeeping would be sent up to deal with the smell. We were supposed to get free wifi with the room, but the password they originally provided was wrong and after trekking back to reception twice, we finally managed to get very slow internet. The receptionist we dealt with was very rude both times we talked to her and was not interested in helping us.

That night, when I went to shower, the ground was slimy in the shower and I noticed half way through that the water was not draining properly and almost over flowing into the bathroom. It wouldn't go down for hours which meant my partner could shower, otherwise he'd flood the bathroom. We went downstairs to ask for maintenance to come and look or a new room, but were told the place was fully booked that night only, but we could change rooms the next day. The lady at reception at night time was very sympathetic and actually tried to help us, unlike the one during the day.

When we came down in the morning, unfortunately we had to talk to the rude receptionist. She again said they were fully booked for the last night. At which point I noticed two trip advisor signs saying this building contained City Gardens apartments and Broadway hotel. I asked her if there was a difference and which one we were staying in and she said that we had a Broadway hotel room and City Gardens was different. After hearing this, I looked online and found out that they'd put us in a cheaper room and that they still had rooms available in both City Gardens and Broadway Hotel. I was furious that she had lied to me and given us a crappy room, so we went downstairs again and told her that we booked City Gardens, showed her the confirmation that said City Gardens and then she very reluctantly gave us a new room, after telling us to double check if the shower was working.

The City Garden room was actually really nice and clean, but after that ordeal, we would never stay there again. It ruined our time in Budapest and the staff are so rude and unhelpful. Also, the aircon is still broken.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, get a City Gardens studio. DO NOT BOOK A TOWER STUDIO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#121 of 333 in Budapest
340 reviews
Medosz Hotel
#76 of 333 in Budapest
499 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Terézváros
Lord Residence
Lord Residence
#15 of 644 in Budapest
412 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Nova Apartments
Nova Apartments
#22 of 644 in Budapest
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gardens

Property: City Gardens
Address: O street 43-49., Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 644 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes' walk from the Hungarian State Opera House, City Gardens offers fully furnished apartments. A wellness center with indoor pool and a fitness center are available on site. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas.City Gardens’s apartments feature modern décor, and are equipped with DVD players and TV. Well-equipped kitchen corners with bar-style tables are also available.The apartments have a 24-hour front desk and offer private parking on site for a fee. In the building, there is also a restaurant.The UNESCO-protected Andrássy Avenue is about 400 metres away. Ferihegy Airport is about half an hour from the apartments and City Gardens provides a transfer service.Oktogon Metro Station is a 5-minute walk away. This station offers easy access to Budapest’s main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing