We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of City Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Gardens
Ranked #56 of 657 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Pakenham, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked 3 nights on Hotels.com for City Gardens after seeing great reviews everywhere. When we arrived it was difficult to find the place, because there is only a tiny sign on a wall to show it was there. When we checked in, the man at the counter tried to charge us 7 euros for city tax, but when we booked online, it stated that we already paid a city tax. Then when we got into our 'Tower Studio" which was up an elevator out a courtyard then up another 2 flights of stairs into a building that smelt like sewage, we found our room was nothing like the photos online and had stains all over the carpet. We arrived at 1am, so we were too tired to go and complain.

When we woke up it was raining and water was leaking in through the ceiling near the window and starting to smell and we saw a bit of water damaged near that spot, like it had happened before and had not been fixed. We went down to reception to ask for it to be fixed or a new room and were told they were fully booked for both of the remaining nights and housekeeping would be sent up to deal with the smell. We were supposed to get free wifi with the room, but the password they originally provided was wrong and after trekking back to reception twice, we finally managed to get very slow internet. The receptionist we dealt with was very rude both times we talked to her and was not interested in helping us.

That night, when I went to shower, the ground was slimy in the shower and I noticed half way through that the water was not draining properly and almost over flowing into the bathroom. It wouldn't go down for hours which meant my partner could shower, otherwise he'd flood the bathroom. We went downstairs to ask for maintenance to come and look or a new room, but were told the place was fully booked that night only, but we could change rooms the next day. The lady at reception at night time was very sympathetic and actually tried to help us, unlike the one during the day.

When we came down in the morning, unfortunately we had to talk to the rude receptionist. She again said they were fully booked for the last night. At which point I noticed two trip advisor signs saying this building contained City Gardens apartments and Broadway hotel. I asked her if there was a difference and which one we were staying in and she said that we had a Broadway hotel room and City Gardens was different. After hearing this, I looked online and found out that they'd put us in a cheaper room and that they still had rooms available in both City Gardens and Broadway Hotel. I was furious that she had lied to me and given us a crappy room, so we went downstairs again and told her that we booked City Gardens, showed her the confirmation that said City Gardens and then she very reluctantly gave us a new room, after telling us to double check if the shower was working.

The City Garden room was actually really nice and clean, but after that ordeal, we would never stay there again. It ruined our time in Budapest and the staff are so rude and unhelpful. Also, the aircon is still broken.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, get a City Gardens studio. DO NOT BOOK A TOWER STUDIO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    125
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
97
84
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Loved the apartment. I booked a studio but got a one bedroom apartment. They had some issues with the a/c but it was ok when opening doors both in the bedroom and living room. Location is great, short walk from many places. Also complimentary gym, sauna and swimming pool access. Didn’t try the restaurant but there are lots of restaurants close by. Airport shuttle is also recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johanna_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked this hotel in really cheap price for two nights. Worth the money for the location.

For three people we had an apartment with one bedroom with a double bed and a really small camping bed. The decoration was nice and the apartment, the only bad things was that in the kitchen we find some ants on the floor and there was no shampoo or soap in the bathroom.

The personel was really polite and friendly,
We didn't use the extra facilities (pool etc).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked the hotel upfront and didnt knew what to expect. The receptionist Jodi Wade was welcoming us very friendly. She gave us some advice about Buda and the appartments. The appartments where bigger as we thought. Rooms where aircondinioned and fourseen of a modern design. Location of the appartments is great! In the middle of the city and central of mostly everything...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tymo_Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice modern room with kitchen in a central location and great value for money. The complex has a nice pool and jacuzzi too. The manager was very helpful and friendlyand gave us good advice and where to go and what to see. Don't think twice just book!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank roger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

staying in a one bed apartment plus a studio. very central, clean and its handy having small kitchen. the bed in the studio apartment is lovely but the other one is like a park bench and the single beds are fold up camp beds. not briliant. Pool and gym are fab

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimboHHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Please consider this accommodation seriously when staying in Budapest.
The location it right in the middles, and only about a 10-15 minute walk to the Danube River.
The hotel staff were always with a smile and helped you very much. Every question was answered and nothing was a trouble for them. Thank you to Jodi and Maria.
The apartment was very spacious, with all modern amenities, and were very clean! There was no washing machine, but hardly no reason to complain. We were just used to apartments having a washing machine, as we were travelling around Europe. Luggage storage was available and a gym was next to the building which you do have access to.
Thank you again! Definitely recommend to anyone and everyone!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#121 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Medosz Hotel
#77 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Terézváros
Lord Residence
Lord Residence
#15 of 657 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Residence
Opera Residence
#36 of 657 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gardens

Property: City Gardens
Address: O street 43-49., Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 657 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes' walk from the Hungarian State Opera House, City Gardens offers fully furnished apartments. A wellness center with indoor pool and a fitness center are available on site. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas.City Gardens’s apartments feature modern décor, and are equipped with DVD players and TV. Well-equipped kitchen corners with bar-style tables are also available.The apartments have a 24-hour front desk and offer private parking on site for a fee. In the building, there is also a restaurant.The UNESCO-protected Andrássy Avenue is about 400 metres away. Ferihegy Airport is about half an hour from the apartments and City Gardens provides a transfer service.Oktogon Metro Station is a 5-minute walk away. This station offers easy access to Budapest’s main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing