We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Gardens
Ranked #57 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is not the best i have stayed in, although i don't really need much more than this. What i like most about it is the excellent location. It's just a few minutes walk to 2 subway stations, and there are a LOT of pubs and restaurants in the vicinity.

Our room was quite large, and we had a really nice kitchen, equipped with a stove and a micro wave oven, and most stuff you need. The only problem we had with the room was that it smelled a bit from the drain when we got in, but the smell dissapeared after a while.

We didn't speak a lot with the staff of the hotel, but when we got there the receptionist gave us a quick info about Budapest and that was quite helpful.

I would recommend a visit to the House of Terror (about the two terror regimes) and the wine museeum in Buda. The wine museeum was quite nice, we payed about 8€ and got our own guide and three glasses of wine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    125
    35
    6
    7
See reviews for
97
83
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

3-star hotel close to the Octagon area of Budapest. I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and choose the hotel. But it is not as great as some of the reviews according to me. It is nice to have a pentry with fridge and a small kitchen but the beds are not good and there is not any english channels on the tv. And if you get a room towards the street there are noices from the street almost every night. I had some problems sleeping. Clean and cheap but there must be better alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1globetrotterSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Close to Metro stations and restaurants. The café in the hotel had a breakfast worth its price.
The room was clean and the kitchenet well equipped. The air condition was useful. Unfortunately there was a bad smell from the drain at times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rømø
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Visited City Gardens in hot July. Lovely swimmingpool free of charge. Nice rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We booked a two-person apartment for a city break and wedding in Budapest. Staff were very friendly, the room was large and clean, and the location ideal for exploring the city, being close to two metro line stations. If you don't want all the added extras that regular hotels have to cover for in their prices, like pay TV and breakfast included, this is an ideal spot. And with a full kitchen in the apartment, they're ideal for families staying for longer periods or who don't want to break the bank on food bills. Only gripes were the poor air conditioning, which given Budapest can get pretty warm in the summer months meant that it got pretty stifling at times. Overall though, great value and I also highly recommend their taxi transfer partner for getting to and from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked a few apartments for family. It was lovely to have our own apartments but be close to one another. Having 2 small kids made this the better choice vs a hotel. We could eat meals in the apartment which was a wonderful convenience. The lack of English TV as well as being told they have DVD's for our usage only to find out that none of them were child friendly was disappointing. The staff were friendly and helpful and the apartments clean. AC was a problem.

Room Tip: There is a backpackers unit next door which gets rowdy on the week-ends till late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaFamiliaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne - Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at City Gardens, and would highly recommend it. I do admit they need to have a lok at the external signage as nothing indicates City Gardens. The room although fairly new, is showing signs of constant use, nothing a coat of paint and new floor mats wouldn't fix, there is no washing machine, however there is a laundry 100 meters down the road. Excellent location, easy walk to all major attractions, front counter staff were very helpful and great with sightseeing information. The fitness centre in the building is a total bonus, being able to come home at the end of the day and have a swim was fantastic. Good value for money

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wardies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#120 of 342 in Budapest
323 reviews
Medosz Hotel
#76 of 342 in Budapest
479 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Lord Residence
Lord Residence
#13 of 655 in Budapest
392 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Residence
Opera Residence
#35 of 655 in Budapest
274 reviews
Terézváros
Madison Serviced Apartments
Madison Serviced Apartments
#133 of 655 in Budapest
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gardens

Property: City Gardens
Address: O street 43-49., Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes' walk from the Hungarian State Opera House, City Gardens offers fully furnished apartments. A wellness center with indoor pool and a fitness center are available on site. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas.City Gardens’s apartments feature modern décor, and are equipped with DVD players and TV. Well-equipped kitchen corners with bar-style tables are also available.The apartments have a 24-hour front desk and offer private parking on site for a fee. In the building, there is also a restaurant.The UNESCO-protected Andrássy Avenue is about 400 metres away. Ferihegy Airport is about half an hour from the apartments and City Gardens provides a transfer service.Oktogon Metro Station is a 5-minute walk away. This station offers easy access to Budapest’s main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing