We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Gardens
Ranked #45 of 651 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Rømø
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Visited City Gardens in hot July. Lovely swimmingpool free of charge. Nice rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    125
    35
    6
    6
See reviews for
97
83
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We booked a two-person apartment for a city break and wedding in Budapest. Staff were very friendly, the room was large and clean, and the location ideal for exploring the city, being close to two metro line stations. If you don't want all the added extras that regular hotels have to cover for in their prices, like pay TV and breakfast included, this is an ideal spot. And with a full kitchen in the apartment, they're ideal for families staying for longer periods or who don't want to break the bank on food bills. Only gripes were the poor air conditioning, which given Budapest can get pretty warm in the summer months meant that it got pretty stifling at times. Overall though, great value and I also highly recommend their taxi transfer partner for getting to and from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KoneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked a few apartments for family. It was lovely to have our own apartments but be close to one another. Having 2 small kids made this the better choice vs a hotel. We could eat meals in the apartment which was a wonderful convenience. The lack of English TV as well as being told they have DVD's for our usage only to find out that none of them were child friendly was disappointing. The staff were friendly and helpful and the apartments clean. AC was a problem.

Room Tip: There is a backpackers unit next door which gets rowdy on the week-ends till late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaFamiliaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne - Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at City Gardens, and would highly recommend it. I do admit they need to have a lok at the external signage as nothing indicates City Gardens. The room although fairly new, is showing signs of constant use, nothing a coat of paint and new floor mats wouldn't fix, there is no washing machine, however there is a laundry 100 meters down the road. Excellent location, easy walk to all major attractions, front counter staff were very helpful and great with sightseeing information. The fitness centre in the building is a total bonus, being able to come home at the end of the day and have a swim was fantastic. Good value for money

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wardies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
280 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I would have given this property an overall rating of 3 1/2, but since I had to choose between 3 & 4, I chose 3.

My #1 priority for any hotel is cleanliness. This one scored! No issues. VERY large room with 2 chairs and a small table in a sitting area, small kitchen area with dishes/silverware, oven & rangetop, and a refrigerator/freezer. Open floor plan along with the sleeping area. The furnishings are modern and fairly new I would say. We should have asked for extra pillows as these were very flat.

The bathroom was spotless and had a shower/tub. Unfortunately, the shower head is a hand held and can only be placed about 1/2 way up the wall. This was somewhat annoying (I heard my boyfriend on more that one occasion scream out, "I hate this shower!") as you had to lather up, then pick up the shower head to rinse off, then put it back. There is a lip at the end of the tub where if the water sprays, it lands on the floor.

The room was mostly quiet. We heard some noises one night from the street, but it didn't last long & it was muffled.

Now on to the A/C. I realize that when we were there, that Budapest was having a heatwave (it was about 95 F when we arrived), but the A/C just could not keep up with it! We closed the drapes and propped them up around the unit (on the floor) to help, but it still wasn't great. We did tell the front desk on the first day we were there, and they did send someone the next morning and it was a LITTLE bit cooler, but to me, never cool enough. They did, however, give us a larger apartment on the other side of the building for the first night & that room had a separate bedroom, so we were able to close the door and it was GREAT. However, we could only use it that one night & spent the other 3 nights in the warmer room. Our friend's room was cooler, but still not what we are used to. The A/C issue wasn't just in our room. We encountered others at the desk with the same problem.

There are no phones in the room and no computers to use. They do provide free wifi if you need it (and have a laptop with you). Around the corner is a small market (we used it to get food for breakfast) as they do not provide breakfast here. There was also an internet cafe (very cheap) which we used a couple of times to access the internet.

You can use the pool and workout room (we were too busy to avail ourselves of these amenities).

Not a bad location to get around the city. The front desk employees were mostly friendly, but in a cool kind of way. No warmth (unlike our stay after in Prague...see my review of Amigo City Centre), but mostly efficient. There was a female trainee who helped us when we needed to call to arrange pickups for 2 separate tours. That was appreciated. They also contacted taxis for us which arrived in a timely fashion.

All in all, our stay here was pretty good. I would say that there are probably better choices in Budapest, but if you find yourself here, you will get a good night's sleep in a decent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jahhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

a/c did not take the temperature down below 27 degrees. We were told that maintenance would fix it, but the large numbers of guests all being told this every time we passed the desk shows that this is a constant problem. After threatening to check out we were given a fan for one night as well as an apology and 50% of the room rate. The fan strangely disappeared the next night though. Someone did actually attempt to fix one of the units on the 1st night, although this did not change the temperature. In fact I think we were given the discount because the staff did not realise that I could understand Hungarian and caught them out acknowledging that this was an ongoing problem since March. Don't you hate when staff are told to lie to you to shut you up, rather than admit to a problem and try to fix it?! And there was a bag of stinking seeping rubbish left outside the next door room for 3 nights, despite at least 5 members of staff having to step over it. They claimed that it was not their responsibility because it was not their room!

Room Tip: If you are already booked and cant get out of it make sure you dont believe them trying to fob you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

The apartment was in a great location to walk to major attractions on the Pest side of Budapest. It was clean and roomy. Staff were helpful and spoke fluent English. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance. Bar next door was a bit loud til about 10 or 11pm, but we were out most of the time, and were not there over a weekend. Love apartments over hotels just for the space. This apartment was very good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#120 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Medosz Hotel
#75 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Belvedere Hotel
#92 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#50 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Terézváros
Lord Residence
Lord Residence
#14 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gardens

Property: City Gardens
Address: O street 43-49., Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 651 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes' walk from the Hungarian State Opera House, City Gardens offers fully furnished apartments. A wellness center with indoor pool and a fitness center are available on site. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas.City Gardens’s apartments feature modern décor, and are equipped with DVD players and TV. Well-equipped kitchen corners with bar-style tables are also available.The apartments have a 24-hour front desk and offer private parking on site for a fee. In the building, there is also a restaurant.The UNESCO-protected Andrássy Avenue is about 400 metres away. Ferihegy Airport is about half an hour from the apartments and City Gardens provides a transfer service.Oktogon Metro Station is a 5-minute walk away. This station offers easy access to Budapest’s main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your City Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing