We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a disappointment”

Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #116 of 3,550 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $72
Cuisines: French, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A high class restaurant in the luxury 5-star SOFITEL hotel in the centre of the city, with a breathtaking view to the Chain Bridge and the Buda Castle – we had been expecting a real treat. The decor is modernish, the armchairs at the table not too comfortable. The starter was up to the fancy name (Fresh goat cheese and fig served with sautéed mushrooms, fig chutney and balsamic-hibiscus glaze), but the ‘Chicken ragout in paprika sauce and galuska’ (csirkepaprikás for the initiates) was completely bland and dry, as opposed to the real thing which should be spicy and saucy. The Dobos cake had a very unconventional form but was all right. Service was rather amateurish and rather slow. At these prices one would expect both food quality and service much more refined.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robicsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisBudapest, Restaurant Manager at Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Robicsek, as we were contact with you personally I would like to strengthen our inquiry about your dinner experiences as we unfortunately did not got any answer back. Our guest's feed-backs helps us to improve our services in the future. Hopefully you will give us one more chance to dazzle you in the Restaurant again. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 577 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Paris-Budapest restaurant is offering a very fresh food from french, hungarian or international cuisine. I recommand the lobster or french tartar and of course the best brunch of the city in the week end. Location in front of Danube is simply magical !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisBudapest, Restaurant Manager at Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear teo a, thank you very much your comment about our Restaurant and its selection. We have a wide range of French and Hungarian dishes. During your meal you can enjoy the breathtaking view to the Castle district and the Danube. Hopefully we will meet soon and you will visit us during your next stay in Budapest. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were in Budapest celebrating 2 very close friends 50th birthdays and they choose this restaurant for their celebration night.
The service was excellent and the food sublime.
We were offered smoked duck and beautiful breads ( complimentary) before our starters.
Starters we chose were Duck liver pate ( so smooth and it is soaked in Tokayi wine the sweetness this gave was amazing) and Figs with goats cheese , fig jam and mushrooms ( sensational)
Mains were hungarian choices with a pork paprika dish , chicken dish and braised pigs cheeks, I had the pork dish ( very tasty) but also tasted the pigs cheeks which just melted in your mouth.
Deserts were stunning - you really should try the macaroon. Two deserts came complimentary for the birthday girls with the fanciest sparklers I have ever seen - all very quietly organised and presented by the Maitre D and only if we felt it to be appropriate first (Kelemen Gyorgy the Maitre D arranged it all quietly with my husband).
The cheese selction was amazing and at the end we were given exqusite petits fours ( complimentary).
The wines we chose were excellent. The reds were decanted before us and the whole presentation , tasting, decanting was wonderful for a half Frenchman ( my husband) brought up much of his time by Grandpa in France.
The overall experience was first class thanks to the food , wine and Keleman and his superb team of staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TeesdaleMudpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisBudapest, Restaurant Manager at Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear TeesdaleMudpies, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience in the Paris Budapest Restaurant. We are very pleased that our meals have met your expectations. The next time you visit Budapest again, thank you to come and stay for lunch or an unforgettable dinner in the restaurant or on the terrace from where you have a beautiful view of the Danube and the castle district. We sincerely hope to welcome you again in Budapest, and you will spend a pleasant evening again in the Paris Budapest Restaurant. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Professional, polite, friendly service.
Even though the restaurant closes at 11 PM, you can order from the same menu via room service (if you stay here)
The WORST coffee in Hungary.

Thank Stefan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisBudapest, Restaurant Manager at Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Stefan9, thank you very much your helpful comment. We always try our best with the service and the kitchen as well. Your feedback helps us a lot in our improvement how to create great food which meets with the guest's expectations. We hope we will meet soon and you will taste a better coffee. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Highly recommend the Chicken ragout in paprika sauce and galuska as well as the
Pork Brassói with paprika, bacon, tomato, onion and potato!

Thank AnnaLisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisBudapest, Restaurant Manager at Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear annalisajb, thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had a great time with us. From the Restaurant and the Bar we have a breathtaking view to the Castle District. During you enjoy your Hungarian specialty you can enjoy the view as well. We hope you will return and we can welcome you back with a nice meal. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing