We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and delicious way to learn about Hungary”

Culinary Hungary Home Cooking Class and Market Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.53*
and up
Hungarian Dessert Class in Budapest
More Info
$100.53*
and up
Vegetarian Cooking Class in Budapest
More Info
$100.53*
and up
Hungarian Home Cooking Class in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join our hands-on home cooking classes for a fun and interactive experience with an insight into history, culture, food, wine and tradition. Visitors to Budapest often count Hungarian cuisine as one of the most memorable parts of their trip. Culinary Hungary's intimate, in-home cooking classes allow you to learn to cook Hungarian in a relaxing environment. Add a market tour and you will end up with a one-of-a-kind, delicious Budapest experience. Hosts Agnes and Andrew, a native Hungarians, will guide you through Hungarian food and cooking techniques spiced up with interesting stories in a lovely Budapest apartment. All lessons are hands-on and held in English. No cooking skills required. Lessons end with eating your very own home-cooked Hungarian meals.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious way to learn about Hungary”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

If you enjoy meeting local people and learning about their culture and way of life you have to take this class. My friends and I had three days to spend in Budapest and we wanted to do something really unique to learn more about Hungarian culture. We found Agi here on Trip Advisor and were lucky enough that she was able to take us around and give us a cooking class the next day. Agi met us at the market and showed us around the different stalls, bought us samples of the different Hungarian delicacies to try while also teaching us a little Hungarian history at the same time. We picked up fresh ingredients for the meal we would cook and headed back to her apartment. Once we arrived at her apartment we got to work cooking our delicious meal. We made a delicious bean soup, chicken paprikash, egg noodles, a cucumber salad, and for dessert we made cottage cheese dumplings. Agi made everything very easy to learn and we did everything from scratch. The whole time flew by as we drank wine, and chatted about life in Hungary and in the U.S. while we cooked. My friends and I immediately felt right at home. We learned a lot of great cooking tips and recipes which I have already successfully made again. By the end of our meal we were all stuffed and very happy. This experience was the highlight of our trip and I would highly recommend signing up!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Warm Cultural Cooking Experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Agi helped my girlfriend and me cook the stuffed cabbage, sausage and potato soup, and sponge cake. They were delicious! She guided us through each step of the process and explained it according to our skill level. Wine and traditional bread with pork lard was served upon arrival.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brentley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We did both the market tour and cooking with Agi. The market tour was a lot of fun, Agi spent time explaining about the things we were looking at.she had told us before comiing not to have too much breakfast and this was a good thing, she organised lots of samples of food for us to try.we had alot of fun. Agi then organised a taxi to take us back to her place. We spent time cooking, Agi was very patient with us and made the expeience lots of fun. She was very organised and made us feel really comfortable in her home. Food was amazing with a lot of help from Agii. We thank her very much for the most memorable time in Budapest.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scarybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Experience authentic Budapest catering”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This experience was the highlight of a wonderful few days in this gorgeous city. From the minute we arrived in Agi's home we felt welcome and knew this was going to be a brilliant experience.

We were late (don't ask) but this didn't faze her at all, we were met with a glass of pulinka and canapes and after a short introductory chat we set to work. This was no impersonal industrial cookery school but the warm heart of Agi's home,In the 3 hours we were with her we made goulash soup, paprika chicken and Somloi Gluska for dessert. Everything was explained with lots of handy tips (we're both keen cooks but still picked up tips on when to season, how best to skin a chicken and so on) all accompanied with a very nice red wine. We then sat down to a long leisurely lunch when we chatted about the Hungarian way of life and learned about traditional customs and celebrations - so much more interesting than reading up on the subject!

When we left we were surprised with a lovely gift (wont spoil the surprise) and as soon as we got home we had copies of our recipes emailed to us complete with more handy tips.

This was a wonderful experience and one which we'd love to repeat both with Agi and in other cities.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal in Budapest”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was the first thing we signed up for when we started planning our Eastern European trip. My husband and I were so excited and looked forward to it for months. And it was so worth the wait. We booked on line and handled all of the details via e-mail. This worked perfectly. Agi was prompt and detailed with instructions and options. Word of advice: do not hesitate to make your reservations.We wanted the full day class, the one where you go the market first them go back to make your dishes, but that was already booked for the days we had allocated to Budapest, Also the market is closed on Sundays so that day is not and option to begin with. But not to worry Agi met with us on Sunday and she had already done the necessary shopping for our dish choices. Both her and her husband met us that morning in their flat, we had a nice meet and greet, then he had to leave for errands. That's when the cooking began. Agi is VERY well organized. We did all of the chopping and dicing while she explained about the ingredients and history behind the.dishes. She knew about the wines she paired and showed us where they grew. She had suggestion about touring the wine regions and a tour guide lead. We did everything to prepare the 3 dished we choose and by lunch time it was time to enjoy the fruits of our labor. I must say they were fabulous! We even got to take the leftovers back with us to enjoy again. I highly recommend this activity, it was a highlight of our month long trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culinary Hungary Home Cooking Class and Market Tour also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Culinary Hungary Home Cooking Class and Market Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing