We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, nice interior.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ARAZ Bistro

ARAZ Bistro
Ranked #1,156 of 3,092 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
1 review
“Good food, nice interior.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I like the place, the cuisine is exceptional (compare to an average). The interior give a special atmosphere to eat something special.
The service is quite friendly, give helpful advices what you should taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darthbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine dining at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The decor and the food was only eclipsed by the service. The maitre d was charming and gracious and the fois gras bought tears to our eyes. World class

Helpful?
Thank Sanamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Go for the set menu. You"ll not need to eat for ages afterward and you will only spend £10 per head.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShelDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
2 reviews
“BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU ORDER OR JUST DON'T GO THERE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Having read above reviews I can't believe we went to the same bistro. The only positive was the decor & wine. I have NEVER left a meal untouched but my entree of haloumi cheese was like leather & I re-checked the menu for my main course as it didn't look anything like what I thought I had ordered. one mouthful & I could not eat this course at all. We were ignored for quite a considerable time once it was obvious we hadn't touched our meals (travel friend ordered salmon gnocchi, which was also unpleasant). I queried the fact we were charged for meals which were clearly inedible & the maitre'd just hummed & ignored me. we couldn't leave this place quickly enough. A very disappointing eevening compared to our other beautiful dining experiences in Budapest.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalteneckerarpad, Manager at ARAZ Bistro, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Dianne029 and Virginia15,

I am sorry that you had experienced problems in Araz Bistro and sorry that both of you had to write about the same incident.

I have checked with the chef and the waiter who was working on that night.
We made correction on the menu card to make sure that all meals are explained in detailes and the staff can describe the special Hungarian disches to our guests properly.

I know my colleagues very well and I am sure that you misunderstood the situation and there might have been a problem with the communication. In the very rare case of acomplaint we never charge for the meal or offer alternative dish with no cost. A lot of clients tasted the dishes you mention in your review and none of them complained about the quality.

Again I apologize on behalf of the team.

Best Regards
Arpad Kaltenecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

After having two superb meals in Budapest over the last two nights, we unfortunately had the most terrible meal this evening. The Hungarian goulash was below average and just heated through. The haloumi was very tough and could not be eaten. The gnocchi salmon dish was tasteless and drowned in sauce. To top this eventful meal off was the awful main course presented to my travel firend which was burnt pork confit sitting on something that looked like vomit and did not look like what it was meant to be. When we tried to explain our disappointing meal to the Maitre'd, he hummed and was not prepared to listen to us. He was also aggressive and just wanted our money. My advice is do not eat there, as there are far better restaurants in Budapest.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalteneckerarpad, Manager at ARAZ Bistro, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Dianne029 and Virginia15,

I am sorry that you had experienced problems in Araz Bistro and sorry that both of you had to write about the same incident.

I have checked with the chef and the waiter who was working on that night.
We made correction on the menu card to make sure that all meals are explained in detailes and the staff can describe the special Hungarian disches to our guests properly.

I know my colleagues very well and I am sure that you misunderstood the situation and there might have been a problem with the communication. In the very rare case of acomplaint we never charge for the meal or offer alternative dish with no cost. A lot of clients tasted the dishes you mention in your review and none of them complained about the quality.

Again I apologize on behalf of the team.

Best Regards
Arpad Kaltenecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ARAZ Bistro also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to ARAZ Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing