We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, incredible breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bohem Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bohem Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great hotel, incredible breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a little gem. The staff was courteous and knowledgable. The location is great - by the river, near the baths, near the main shopping street and market. A little bit off the beaten path (but not too far), but that made for a quiet location. Very close to trams and metro. Our room was small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was incredible - the best I've ever had in a hotel - something for everyone. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shackelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,698
    540
    64
    12
    2
See reviews for
317
1,211
84
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

had a lovely time ,hotel well situated and the staff made the holiday nothing was too much trouble and they gave great advice of places to go and there is plenty to see. It did not matter who was on the desk they all played their part to make an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here: the staff were excellent with good English and actually seemed interested in you and your needs, rather than just going through the motions. Oliver, the charming barman, was professional and really on the ball! Great Bloody Mary and even better as it was with the compliments of the hotel. Collected from airport with free transfer, everything went smoothly.
And the breakfast! I can't think of one thing that wasn't available, hot, cold, whatever you wanted, it was there including champagne and freshly squeezed orange juice!

Great location near Vaci Utca, and the enormous central market. Room a little on the small side but clean and with huge attractive mural. I agree with abibarbar completely!

Room Tip: Go for the premier room if you don't mind the extra fee,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithy5850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bots, Director of Sales at Bohem Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Smithy,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
I’m glad that both the kindness of our staff and your breakfast experience exceeded your expectations. Thank you also for mentioning our enthusiastic barman, Oliver.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
David Bots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent location about a block from the main shopping street (Vaci) and about 2 blocks from the Elizabeth bridge. Easy 10 minute walk to Vorosmarty Square and the Chain bridge. Clean, well maintained with an excellent breakfast selection, including fresh squeezed orange juice!

Best is the service- from the manager who helped us book fabulous restaurants and activities, to the free ride from the airport (3 night or longer stay), to the clean and safe rooms with excellent beds. Also the entire staff was helpful at all times with any questions or requests we made!

Outstanding property with outstanding people - what more could you ask for!!? If you go to Budapest see if they have rooms, you won't be disappointed!! We will be back!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are typical for Eastern Europe - small. We booked a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidworth59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bots, Director of Sales at Bohem Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write an amazing review about our hotel.
I am happy that you enjoyed our services and the mentioned gifts as well.

We can’t wait to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night break. Can't complain about anything, staff, room, food, location everything great. The previous reviewers go into more detail and no need for me to repeat, just take the positives and that was our experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whisty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with lots of character. The staff were really helpful from before our arrival and throughout our stay, making dinner bookings for us and advising us on how to get to places by foot, tram and Metro. The hotel décor is modern and, as you would expect, arty! The room was nice, and clean, if a little warm - the air conditioning was not great, and the bathroom was like a sauna, but the room info did say that this could be adjusted on request. The safe was useful and easy to use.
The breakfast was a good spread and mostly very fresh, they take away warm dishes and replace them frequently so the food is not sat there for too long. There was a big selection - eggs, meat, vegetables, fruit, pastries, bread, cereals; fresh orange juice, apple juice, coffee machine with various options, teas, mineral water and of course the champagne! Other reviewers have said this was warm or ran out quickly, but there was only once when we asked for champagne as there was an empty bottle and they brought it out immediately, and it was always suitably chilled. I do however agree with other reviewers that the breakfast room was rather crowded, it was quite difficult to get between the tables with hands full! The bar area was also nice and the staff were brilliant, good selection of drinks and reasonable prices.
The location of the hotel was really handy, situated around the corner from the riverside and a short walk from Elizabeth Bridge via Vaci Utca which is a main shopping street. We easily got around Budapest from this base and there were plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
Ok so this hotel isn't cheap but it isn't overly expensive either, and I would opt for Bohem Art above some of the bigger hotel names as it has character and the staff are brilliant, will definitely be staying here again when I come back to beautiful Budapest.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abibarbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werchter, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

My second stay in Budapest, I knew the location which is not dead-centre but easily reached by public transportation (trams at nearby Fovam Ter - and the metro to the airport and Deak at Calvin Ter, a 5 min walk). Choice for this hotel was based on both the location and the good reviews all over the internet.

Make sure you book via the hotel website as they offer a slightly lower rate than sites such as booking.com and others (5% lower) and provide a number of benefits depending on the number of nights you plan to stay. For example: we stayed for three nights and were offered the lower rate, hotel staff took care of our Tourist Tax (+/- 4%), we got some cocktails of our choice and a bottle of sparkling wine in the bar and (last but not least) the hotel arranged our pickup from Ferihegy Airport. We feel we've got a great deal here. Also, in the bar area, coffee and water are free up to 5PM (didn't make use of the service though as we were exploring the city).

The staff is very helpful. A couple of days before arriving we received an e-mail containing info about some interesting restaurants in the hotel's vicinity, with the marketing manager offering to make reservations and helping us out with other stuff. Some good suggestions there - we already planned to visit some of the restaurants listed. Upon arrival, we were asked whether the pick-up from the airport went well (it's run by a company independent from the hotel), and they were apologetic for the fact that we had to wait for 20 minutes for our pick-up (probably because our flight ran late?), which was no problem to us. A special note goes out to the breakfast staff that keeps the place tidy and well stocked. Quite an efficient crew!

Jumping to the breakfast itself. It's including in your rate and it's simply perfect: freshly squeezed orange juice (do-it-yourself), sparkling wine, state-of-the-art coffee and tea facilities for drinks. Cold breakfast includes a large selection of cheese and meat, bruschetta-stuff such as fresh vegetables, tzatziki, freshly prepared cream cheese, a choice of bread, croissants, speciality cake... the works. For hot items there was the traditional bacon and scrambled eggs, hot vegetables such as mushrooms, carrots and peppers (can't go Hungary without peppers!!) and sausages and eggs sunny-side-up available every morning, with a number of dishes rotating in and out such as beef stroganoff. Other (fancy, chain...) hotels should go out to the Bohem and simply watch and learn...

Other impressions about the hotel: it's rather small, it's very clean, it's got a four star rating and while the price is defnitely ok, it could do with a (small) gym room.

The quirks: no five-star-review because: the sound proofing is simply bad! We stayed three nights and on two of them we were awaken middle of the night because our neighbours, who had just a cheap drink too many, couldn't keep their voices down at two o'clock. We then woke again at seven o'clock because the Molnar Ut (street) in which the hotel is located, is undergoing major renovations. This was on a Friday morning, but renovation continued during the weekend so no need to set an alarm clock ;-). Both items are of course beyond the hotel's control, but the management might invest in better sound-proofing/thicker windows.

All in all a great stay - we would stay here again when visiting Budapest!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GVerbeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohem Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohem Art Hotel

Property: Bohem Art Hotel
Address: V. district 35., Molnar street, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bohem Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Bohem Art Hotel in the historic downtown of Budapest offers the style of a hip hotel with the feel of a contemporary art gallery. Thanks to its excellent location - just a few steps from Vaci shopping street and the Danube - our guests can experience the unique atmosphere of Budapest. The hotel offers a rich buffet breakfast and free Wi-fi in all the rooms and public areas. Our cozy and stylish rooms all feature different artworks from modern and young Hungarian artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bohem Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing