We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bohem Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bohem Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
207 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Absolute gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Generally I go for hotels with character and historic grandeur but I broke my rule this time and chose a contemporary hotel and I am very glad I did. From the moment we arrived I knew I had made the right choice, the reception desk staff Lilla and her colleagues were very welcoming and helpful and the clean lines of the hotel and it's visual ambience were supported by wonderful information and help from the reception staff who just could not do enough to help. Led by Kristian this is a well honed team who know what customer service is all about!

Breakfast was outstanding not that I partook in the champagne on offer but the freshly squeezed orange juice was right down my alley and the substantial and varied buffet breakfast cannot be faulted...even the fact you can breakfast anytime from 630am to 1030am is a bonus of flexibility.

Tea and coffee were available 2-5pm totally free in the hotel bar and on top of that we were given a free welcome cocktail or beer...superb!

Rooms were small but very well designed with good size bathrooms and all the facilities you expect...safety deposits boxes , flat screen televisions etc.

WIFI was free and very quick and there were also 3 computers down by the breakfast room for use free of charge too!

Position was also excellent a street over from the main shopping street Vaci Utca and a street the other way to the Danube river and a similar distance away at the bottom of the street was the Large old market hall and access to the tram and bus system which is a great deal on the hop on hop off system.

Having had high expectations based on the tripadvisor reviews before going we were not disappointed. Oh! By the way We loved Budapest too! Don't miss coffee and cake at Cafe New York and go for the tour of the opera house 3 and 4 pm each day and pay the extra 600HUF for the Mini concert...a few minutes of a good tenor!

Room Tip: If you want more space in the room upgrade but the Classic rooms were fine for us we don't spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penwyllt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bots, Director of Sales at Bohem Art Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Penwyllt,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write a fabulous review about our hotel.
I was very pleased to read that Lilla, Christan & all my colleagues made your stay memorable.
Thank you also for the city tips. I hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
David Bots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,713
    548
    65
    12
    2
See reviews for
322
1,225
85
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

New hotel. Great design. Reception staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Transfers seamless. Great location. We walked or took the metro everywhere we wanted to go. Breakfast buffet is world class.

Wow!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of Budapest in easy walking distance of the river and many attractions. The staff was very friendly and provided great suggestions and directions for touring local attractions. The complimentary breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice was fantastic. The rooms are acceptable but I would recommend that you get the suite. This is only a block from the river and about two blocks from the incredible market. The hotel arranged an airport transfer which was well priced. Overall a nice comfortable place to stay in Budapest.

Room Tip: Pick the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLunedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A small arty hotel. Service was so good and all the staff very friendly. They serve the best buffett
breakfast, which is included in your stay, that I have ever had in my travels in Europe. It is very close to the Danube and many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in May after reading the reviews from other travellers here on Tripadvisor. And we were not disapointed! This fairly new hotel has a good location, the rooms are clean and modern and the staff is helpful and friendly. On the night of arrival we received a welcom drink in the small bar.
The breakfast is one of the better, you can even have a sneaky glas of bubbles in the morning.
Will absulutely recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tutdelafrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for four nights. Usually we book an art / design / boutique hotel for city breaks and we both agreed that this was our favourite. I had the best night's sleep ever there!

The staff were very efficient, very friendly and helpful. The airport transfer was very efficient and reasonably priced. The hotel was spotlessly clean. We had a really nice room with a (free) laptop sized safe and a minibar.

The WiFi was excellent - simply put in the WiFi code and it worked, none of the logging in on every device palaver and again when you put the device down for 2 minutes. There was a strong signal and it was fast and once you entered the password you didn't need to do it again.

Breakfast was brilliant and the great reviews are justified. We didn't try the champagne but I loved the orange juice. None of the watered down from concentrate stuff - you popped two fresh oranges in the machine and it squeezed them in seconds right before your eyes. Scrummy! We were so full after breakfast that the only day we felt the need to have lunch was on our last day when we would miss our evening meal because of flight times. We weren't sat on a tour bus the whole time either, we walked at least 25 miles during our stay (or so the GPS told us!) This was definitely the best city break breakfast we've ever had.

Thanks to some other Tripadvisor reviews we booked directly with the website. We got the same rates as elsewhere plus we got an arrival airport transfer and welcome cocktails included. (The cocktails were so good we had them every evening, apart from the last one when we had to pack).

The location was great - there are a couple of little stores nearby that sell some toiletries, snacks, drinks etc. Turn left out of the hotel and left again are some nice restaurants - Chef Cafe, Dionysis etc. Turn left out of the hotel and then right and you are on Vaci Street with lots of restaurants and shops (do your Tripadvisor research for Vaci Street before going to any of the restaurants there). We went to Salt & Pepper which was nice. You are very close to the Danube and Elizabeth bridge.

The Hop On Hop Off bus stops at the end of Vaci Street (currently doing roadworks by the bus stop so it stops at the bus stop above on Elizabeth Bridge). It was 5000 HUF for one ticket, with a second day free. There are different lines to ride, plus you can go on the boat ride too. You can buy tickets from reception.

About two days before we went to Budapest, Google Street View finally went live! It's a great way to familiarise yourself with wherever you are going because when you arrive you know exactly where you are. You can spend more time getting out and about because you know where you are going.

If you are considering this hotel, book it now - we loved it! Thank you Bohem for a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jazzmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bots, Director of Sales at Bohem Art Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Jazzmonster,


Thank you for your amazing feedback.
I'm happy to read that you were impressed by our breakfast and service. Thank you for mention our special Tripadvisor free transfer promotion dedicated to direct bookers. I am sure that our future guests will also appreciate your restaurant picks.

I think that Street View is one of the greatest invention of the internet. Thanks to this service you can discover where a hotel is really located. Unfortunately a lot of Budapest hotels promote themself as a city center hotel, however they are 20 minutes from the river.
I am glad that you have checked Street View before your stay and you realized that we are only a few steps away from the beautiful Danube.

We can’t wait to see you again soon.

Best regards,
David Bots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly hills
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Again Tripadvisor and the reviewers come through again! Had a great stay here with my boyfriend and every day a smile was put on our faces starting with the fantastic breakfast ( especially the cheese strudel)! The hospitality along with the amenities and location made it an ideal place for us to enjoy Budapest and would happily stay here again! No need to comment more...just make a reservation,pack your bags,arrive and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bots, Director of Sales at Bohem Art Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Nipples,


thank you for your kind review, I really appreciate it.
Thank you for posting a nice picture about you in our Art&History Suite Nr. 102.
See you again soon!

Best regards,
David Bots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohem Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohem Art Hotel

Property: Bohem Art Hotel
Address: V. district 35., Molnar street, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bohem Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Bohem Art Hotel in the historic downtown of Budapest offers the style of a hip hotel with the feel of a contemporary art gallery. Thanks to its excellent location - just a few steps from Vaci shopping street and the Danube - our guests can experience the unique atmosphere of Budapest. The hotel offers a rich buffet breakfast and free Wi-fi in all the rooms and public areas. Our cozy and stylish rooms all feature different artworks from modern and young Hungarian artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bohem Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing