We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice standard of modern hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bohem Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bohem Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very nice standard of modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is a fair journey from the Central railway station, but we found the metro system in Budapest manageable and convenient. When we arrived, we realised it would have been easy to miss this hotel with its unpretentious signage. However, internally we would find that it had enjoyed an ambitious and successful makeover. The free WiFi was excellent at all times, and the breakfast was absolutely amazing - deep down in the courtyard atrium. We had the very best coffee choice ever and you also chose your own oranges to crush right there. We also enjoyed champagne each morning! Cheeses, cereals, breads and the cooked alternatives were all delightful and of the highest taste quality, served by a young and very professional team, clearly committed to the highest standards. The room itself was a little small, but the walkaround black shower was great, with lots of towels. We loved the welcome of a free drinks invitation on arrival, and the position one street away from the Danube, and just up from an excellent Greek and an even better Italian restaurant, proved really helpful to our dining and visiting plans. The location meant that both Buda and Pest were conveniently local and in walking distance. the Reception staff could do with 'lightening up' a bit and learning about personalisation in client service - rather than just looking cool and talking to each other - but the dining crew were outstanding.

Room Tip: In advance, find out if there are any bigger ones?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GilesB157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,696
    540
    64
    12
    2
See reviews for
317
1,211
84
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

If you like big hotels and big hotel chains where every room reminds you of a room you've stayed in before in another city, then this is not the hotel for you. But if you're looking for a place to stay that will pleasantly surprise you at every turn and exceed all your expectations, then the Bohem Art Hotel is just what you're looking for. Situated on a quiet, narrow street just a block behind the bottom of Vaci Utca, the location is ideal. Less than a 5 minute walk to the Great Market Hall (Nagy Vasarcsarnok) and the #2 Tram stop, a 10 minute walk up the Vaci (vah-tsi) to Vorosmarty Square (Vorosmarty ter), and 10 minutes to the Kalvin Ter Metro stop. (Budapest really is a great city for walking, and nothing is as far as it might seem on a map.) As if the location need any more help, it's also a block in from the Danube, so you can walk across the Szabadság híd (Liberty Bridge) to Gellert Hill or up along the river to the Széchenyi Lanchid (Chain Bridge). It's a good thing there's a lot to see in Budapest because the hotel is so wonderful, you may not want to leave. For starters, the breakfast buffet (included in our rate) was one of the best I've seen. You will be able to tour for hours until you are hungry again. It was plentiful, assorted and artfully presented. And did I mention delicious? Transfer from the airport was also included in our rate, (which is just one less thing to worry about when arriving in a new place), and so were coupons for 2 free drinks at the bar -- a cozy little area just off the lobby. I travelled with my family of 6 ranging in ages from 24 to fifty-whatever, and we all agreed the hotel has a great vibe. Edgy without being obnoxious. Hip without being self-concious. It's a really comfortable place, and that probably has a lot to do with the staff. If these people don't love their jobs, then they are some of the best actors in the world! Everyone we came in contact with couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. You know how sometimes people at the front desk can make you feel like you're a nuisance or they are too busy to be bothered by you. The people at the Bohem Art Hotel were some of the friendliest, warmest hotel staff I've met. They were even super helpful before we checked in. I can be a huge pain in the butt, but Martin (the Marketing Manager), Eniko (the sales manager), Edit, Lilly and everyone else at the front desk never seemed to be ruffled. They made our stay one we will not soon forget! (One last note: it was snowing our last night in Budapest so we wanted to eat someplace nearby. The hotel recommended a place 5 minutes away, with a great river view. It's called Gepard Es Urhajo. I'm reviewing it as well, but here's a preview. It was execllent!!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked the romantic package in jan for my husbands 30th birthday - lovely room - great breakfast although try and go early to get a lot of the hot options! Nice bar and free tea and coffee in lobby area. Best thing is the location walking distance to attractions and transport links.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just recently stayed 4 nights in this Hotel. From the moment you check in you feel this Hotel is a step above the competition. The service, the layout is completely different to the usual generic hotels you generally stay in. The breakfast in terms of presentation and variety is fantastic and is served well into the morning. The rooms are well fitted out with different themes making you feel a bit special and very welcome. The location is excellent to the many forms of transport Budapest has to offer and minutes to the famous tourist/shopping strip of Vica Utca. Quite simply I doubt you would find better value interms of service, comfort and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iversydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinterbruhl, Austria
Level Contributor
547 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I read earlier reviews and so booked direct for a three night stay. One way taxi either to/from airport included and a free cocktail at the bar. I do so much prefer to book direct but sometimes hotels are not cheaper when you opt for that route - madness! They gave us the room we asked for and could not have been more helpful. I wanted to book a surprise wine tasting at Faust as a present for my husband and they sorted it all out for me very swiftly, suggested a restaurant in the area - brilliant service.The room was as expected - small and sweet. I had the heating down at the coldest but it was still a little warm in the room - we opened the window in the morning but they would save more money if the thermostats in the room worked better. The breakfast was to die for and kept us going all day. This hotel is really located in the right spot with the castle/Gellert area on one side and the rest of Pest on the other. We walked for miles on our sightseeing trips and did not find a better location to stay. We will return!

Room Tip: Look at their website and choose a theme that suits you. We had a carousel (love horses) which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sissy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Amazing staff. Central location. Hearty breakfast. Cute bar. Clean rooms. Excellent value. Cannot fault our stay. We are a late twenties couple and the hotel would be suited to anyone. It's in a quiet spot but still central and a 10-20 min walk to great night spots. Everything u could want is within walking distance or a short metro ride away; you must go to gallert baths, 5 min walk.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel was a fantastic choice. Stayed here for 3 nights in March. It was very cold and snowy but didn't hinder our experience at all - Budapest is beautiful in the snow!! The staff were brilliant at reception - always polite and booked us taxis whenever we rang reception. Their advice was also very useful and the room was clean with fantastic decor. We also got a free cocktail at the bar and an airport transfer having booked with the hotel.

The restaurants nearby also offered some of the best food I have ever eaten. Just down the road is an Italian called Trattoria Toscana and a Greek restaurant called Taverna Dionysos opposite. The hotel helped to make our cheap city break into a fantastic and very memorable holiday to Budapest. Do not miss out and book with this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lydiajpearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohem Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohem Art Hotel

Property: Bohem Art Hotel
Address: V. district 35., Molnar street, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bohem Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Bohem Art Hotel in the historic downtown of Budapest offers the style of a hip hotel with the feel of a contemporary art gallery. Thanks to its excellent location - just a few steps from Vaci shopping street and the Danube - our guests can experience the unique atmosphere of Budapest. The hotel offers a rich buffet breakfast and free Wi-fi in all the rooms and public areas. Our cozy and stylish rooms all feature different artworks from modern and young Hungarian artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bohem Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing