We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay: location and amenities just fine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bohem Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bohem Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay: location and amenities just fine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff was cool, extremely helpful and friendly. The location is perfect. Though the rooms are small, you have all the comfort you need and it's super clean. We stayed in august and it was quite hot, the air-conditioning was OK. One could open the window for some fresh air but beware of the neighbouring appartments in the morning...they can be quite loud. Perfect hotel, for a perfect stay in a beautiful city!
To be pointed out: great breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,697
    540
    64
    12
    2
See reviews for
317
1,211
84
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I'll start by giving the hotel 5 stars for service. But:
-1 for no aircon (they have it, but its not turned on in September despite 30+ degrees, and they really give a [--] about you sweating in your room, "sleep with the window open", yes but it faces a road. "Not our problem")
-1 for HARD beds
-1 for breakfast (mooshy scramble eggs, boiled to death eggs and fried eggs) yes they do have sparkling wine, and fresh orange juice, but its not enough to make it more than an below avarege breakfast.
-1 for cleaning starting at 7 am and dooing there very best to wake up the guests (banging on doors with vacumecleaners ect)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sanddal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bots, Director of Sales at Bohem Art Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sanddal,

thank you for your review.
I am sorry if you did not feel well at our hotel.

The airconditioning functioned automatically during this days, unfortunately the weather conditions changed suddenly (cold nights, warm days), and the airconditioning could not follow this. Since your stay, we changed the system to manual so this cannot be happen anymore.
However usually there are no complaints about the chambermaids (cleanliness / work noise), I asked them again to work as quiet as they can.

I can agree with those guests who think that the comfort of our beds and the quality / selection of our breakfast made Bohem Art Hotel to one of the top hotel at Budapest. I am very sorry that this quality did not meet with your expectations.

Best regards,
David Bots
Director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's sad to write a bad review about this hotel. The breakfast was good, the staff was friendly and helpful enough, and the room was nice. They upgraded us when they didn't have our room available at check in and they were helpful on the phone prior to our arrival.

However, we came to Art Bohem from Krakow where my wife's purse was stolen. She had very important medication in her purse and to replace it we had overnighted medicine from the United States at significant cost. It did not arrive in time and we had to leave the hotel without the package. The worker at the front desk promised to forward it to us (we were going to Ireland) and we would pay the costs.

At the last minute however, we were told that the manager refused to "take responsibility for the package" and forward it to us in the mail. It was not a question of cost, since we would be paying, but "responsibility" (not really sure why they cared) and they insisted they would not do it.

Our package had to be returned home and we had to ship more medication from the U.S. at significant cost (over $200 if you include shipping and buying more medication) and delay, but the real problem is not money, but that it was MEDICATION. I made it very clear to the hotel how important the package was, but they would not change their decision. It seems that they could go a little further to help their customers, especially a hotel like this one which thinks of itself as an upscale boutique. Luckily, being without the medication did not significant affect my wife's health, but for some people that may not be the case.

It would not have taken much effort from the hotel to help us in this situation and we were not asking them to assume any costs, but they refused. I was very disappointed by this situation. It certainly added a lot of unnecessary stress and expense to our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank THEW0RLDAR0UNDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bots, Director of Sales at Bohem Art Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

your review shocked me.
First of all thank you for your words about the the breakfast, the room and about the staff.

After we heard how unfortunate incident happened to you in Krakow, however of course it was not the fault of Bohem Art Hotel Budapest, we provided you the following complimentary services:
- Room upgrade for free.
- Despite the late notification, we allowed to modify the check-in / check-out dates for free .

After your check out,
- on the 4th August you requested by email to return the mentioned package (without mentioning it's importance)
- on the 5th August we received the package.
- on the 6th August we returned the package to the original sender, by post. (also for the cost of the hotel). On the same day you thanked for the notification.

That's all we knew before reading your review. Unfortunately you did not notify us that anything could happen with the package, therefore we had not any chance to inquiry at the national postal service. (we do it now). It can be also happened that the original sender did not notified you about getting the package. Please ask them if they received the package.

I am very sad that because of these absolutely non-relevant factors from the hotel, due our efforts, you reviewed us at a such poor rating.

Best regards,
David Bots
director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a brilliant hotel. It is really convenient for the major sites - only one street away from the Danube and one street away from the main shopping street - yet quiet. The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful, with good recommendations for eating out. The room was plenty big enough for a few night's stay and with a modern bathroom. The art in the rooms and around the hotel was an interesting bonus. Buffet breakfast was a really high standard with good choices of hot and cold food. No excuse for starting the day hungry or thirsty. The whole of the hotel was spotless. Free tea, coffee & water in the afternoons between 2 & 5pm. A great little bar for relaxing drinks in the evening. Book directly with the hotel and you'll get various bonuses depending on how long you're staying, which currently include free cocktail, city tax paid & free private collection for the airport. The airport is about 30 minutes away and the hotel will arrange a fixed-price taxi for 5800 HUF.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Bohem Art Hotel for 4 nights in the middle of September 2012. The hotel is in walking distance from many major attractions. The front desk was courteous and helpful. Breakfast was very good with many different options, including freshly squeezed orange juice. Out standard room and bathroom were very clean and roomy enough for two of us. Based on Bohem Art guests recommendations we tried nearby Chef Cafe, and loved it. When leaving Bohem Art Hotel turn left and Chef Cafe would be at the next intersection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dezoxyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Bohem Art Hotel for one night, and we were pleasantly surprised by an upgrade to the hip suite, which had a living room and a terrace. I myself really like the art element of the hotel. The breakfast offered quite a variety of choices (and champagne if you need that in the morning), and the staff were friendly and helpful despite our barrage of questions. The one thing I would suggest for improvement is the bathtub - I would really appreciate if there was a shower curtain (I know that doesn't look nice, but it's user friendly)/extension of the glass pane to stop water from spilling out, as now you need to squeeze yourself behind the glass pane to keep the floor dry. Overall I would say the place was modern and a comfortable place to stay. A not bad location, too.

Room Tip: You can take a look at the website and choose which painting you like the most for selecting the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for several nights. We found the hotel to be ideally located just around the corner from Vaci Street, which is a main pedestrian tourist area lined with shops and restaurants. The front desk was pleasant and happy to assist with directions, reservations, etc. Breakfast was very good, but they don’t offer made-to-order eggs, waffles, French toast, or pancakes. Our hotel in Vienna offered these items. Regardless, we felt breakfast was quite nice. I especially enjoyed the fresh squeezed orange juice, champagne, apple struddle, and coffee machines for espresso, cappuccino, etc.

My only complaint with this hotel was our room. The beddings are not very good quality, especially the small mushy pillows. We had a standard room, as did our friends. We all felt the rooms were too small, even by European standards. There wasn’t even enough space for an iron and you could not open the minibar all the way because it hit the bed. If you are staying for 1 - 2 nights, a standard room may do. Otherwise, I recommend upgrading to a larger room category. Of course, this means the hotel may not be as competitively priced in the end.

Room Tip: Book a higher room category if staying more than 1 - 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,548 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohem Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohem Art Hotel

Property: Bohem Art Hotel
Address: V. district 35., Molnar street, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bohem Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Bohem Art Hotel in the historic downtown of Budapest offers the style of a hip hotel with the feel of a contemporary art gallery. Thanks to its excellent location - just a few steps from Vaci shopping street and the Danube - our guests can experience the unique atmosphere of Budapest. The hotel offers a rich buffet breakfast and free Wi-fi in all the rooms and public areas. Our cozy and stylish rooms all feature different artworks from modern and young Hungarian artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Bohem Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing