We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food I have ever eaten” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pater Marcus Abbey

Pater Marcus Abbey
Ranked #149 of 3,043 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, Pub, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Piestany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice place near the hotel where I stayed. I had goose specialties and it was perfect. Good service and nice people.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrejAndDenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    131
    32
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great prices and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stumbled across this Belgium style restaurant. As the nights were cool we ate downstairs and the atmosphere was great.
Service was good and the meals were "Hungarian" style. Loved the veal stew.
Beer selection was great and we tried a few different ones after visiting twice whilst in Budapest.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“One of the best "finds" in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This delightful and fun "Belgium" style restaurant is a hidden gem and mostly local crowd. The best selection of Belgium beers outside of Brussels with food to match. Sit outside if weather permits but do see the downstairs inside for a warm and friendly enviornment. Menu is reasonably prices with lots of seafood/fish dishes and some Hungarian dishes - always ask for the chiefs offerings and have a few beers while there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLHull783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Lovely but not exciting dining.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

If this were my local I would not only be happy to eat (and probably drink) here but also drag visiting friends and family along. The food was nice, the service was nice and the beer selection is cracking.

I had the mussels which were nice (that word again) while my partner had the duck and sausage cassoulet which was great if a little too hearty. The wine selection is not wonderful but we managed to find an ok bottle for a reasonable price.

Overall my problem with the place was that it was just a little bland. Everything was just nice, rather than being great or exciting or surprising. Whilst I would definitely visit again if it were just round the corner on a rainy night I would not consider it worth a mention if friends were visiting Budapest.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful food at very good prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

On our first night in Budapest we ate at Pater Marcus Abbey which was right next to our hotel, the Carlton Hotel. The food was delicious, we had a traditional Hungarian stew which was very flavoursome and like nothing I'd tasted before. The drink variety was immense as they have many beers available to try, however I didn't try any and drank wine instead - the wine worked out at about 80p per glass. Very good prices indeed! The waiter was very friendly and was happy to speak English to us, which helped as we were all a bit disorientated from our flight.

Wouldn't hesitate to go back there again if I went to Budapest.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pater Marcus Abbey also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pater Marcus Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing