We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hall”
Review of Book Cafe

Book Cafe
Ranked #7 of 161 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic hall”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick coffee, the coffee I chose was the house special and was wonderful. The room itself is spectacularly decorated, well worth a stop!

Helpful?
Thank Matt_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    327
    60
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful room”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful room with comfy leather chairs. Staff attentive and willing. Food okay, but I made the wrong cake choice! Worth a visit and good selection of English books.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“What a beautiful room”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had read about the Bookcafe on the Internet so decided to visit. It is located in a bookstore and has an incredible setting. A very large room with two chandeliers and beautifully painted ceiling and full of gold ornaments and mirrors. We sat on a very comfy sofa and I had a French Cream Slice with a Macaron Coffee while my husband had Chestnut Puree with cream and a hot chocolate topped with cream. Service was polite and quick. Coffee and cake were delicious. Lovely background music made it a very special experience. We sat here quite a long time taking in the atmosphere and marvelling at the beautiful decor. Will definitely visit again on our next visit to Budapest. This is one not to be missed and prices quite reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor service!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The place is beautiful. Very nice atmosphere. Food and coffee are ok. But the people working here have bad attitude. It ruins the whole experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Celia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go for the location”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Been here before with my friend and I wanted to show this beautiful place to my husband. He loved it too. Look up and around admiring the painted ceilings and try one of the desserts. I had a great cup of tea and the coffee was excellent too. Hope to go back again taking someone who has not been there before as I think this place a little treasure, a must see one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beatrix23011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Book Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Book Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing