We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Surroundings”
Review of Book Cafe

Book Cafe
Ranked #6 of 158 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stopped off for coffee and cake at this beautiful cafe . We were seated and served quickly and the quality of the food did not let down.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    327
    59
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Am I really dining in a cafe?!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The interior is memsmerizingly beautiful...you begin to wonder if you are really dining in a cafe or the dining hall of a royal palace! The food was refreshingly delicious- ordered one trout mousse, one cottage cheese mousse, 2 coffees, and two cakes. The mousse was creamy yet light, paired with rocket salads. The cakes were spongy and not too sweet. You'd pay around 4-6 Canadian dollars for a coffee plus a cake.
The atmosphere is so relaxing (the waitresses would not rush you and would let you sit there as long as you want). If you wanna experience the "cafe culture" in Budapest, this is definitely the place to go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noisette2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful interior and nice coffee, nothing more”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The interior is stunning and the coffee excellent. The staff is not very friendly nor professional, when we went to the counter to pay, the waiter said: yes how can i help you? I told him I would like to pay, he asked me which table number we have, I said I have no idea and pointed to our table, then he asked us what we ordered... Very weird and unprofessional I would say. Another downside was the fact that they only had about 30% of all the pastries shown in the menu. When you would like to use the toilet, you have to leave the cafe and go 2 floors down and PAY 200 forint (even when you are a customer at book cafe)!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sampy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wow, wow and wow”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We virtually stumbled across this bookstore/cafe on our last night in Budapest and when we wandered upstairs after hearing the tinkling of piano keys we were blown away by the splendor of this cafe. Stunned by this magnificent room we just had to grab a table and have some wine & nibbles to enjoy and take everything in.
The ceiling paintings are like something you would find in a beautiful church and the walls have large mirrors to reflect the beauty. They have a bar and are licensed to sell alcohol but they also have coffee and cakes as well a range of savoury food as well. There was a man playing the piano which capped off our night.
A wonderful surprise from this magnificent city - Budapest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Swarovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We had sandwiches and drinks here at lunchtime.Service was good, as was the food and the cafe itself is beautiful. I recommend the hot chocolate, lots of flavours and deliciously thick

Helpful?
Thank holsy_84
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Book Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Book Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing