We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to leave the Mundane? Look no further!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

So looking for the best experience in your life...? well look know further Budapest is one of THE most amazing cities in the world from 3000 year old roman baths to amazing ruin bars where the furniture is all hanging from the roof! and this is only the city, if your LUCKY enough to stay at Carpe Noctem you will be living with the most amazing and crazy people in the world! the staff are AMAZEBALLS to having events planned each night for you (which will indeed toughen your liver to its limits by the end!) to being able to chill in your underwear all morning listening to music and nursing your hangover together! I could not recommend anywhere any more highly, It's been two weeks since I was there and I am already planning my next trip back! cant wait to get back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 501 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Best atmosphere, felt like a break from hosteling and more like a share house of 25 friends. The staff are more like friends and the organised activities are fun. We found ourselves hanging in the common areas all the time. Would definitely stay here next time I come back to Budapest.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Lets start with the kitchen... Non stick pans are legit. Stove gets hot enough to cook anything from the market! Anything... Often the hostel has dinners that brings everyone together! The staff does everything they can to make you feel at home, whether its giving you a towel for the baths, history lessons before you visit memorials and monuments or help you plan your future travels. They become your friends. For real. There is no checkout. You can hang around talking in the hostel all day if you can't make it out due to the night before. But, different parties every night with all of your newfound friends. It's a smaller hostel so you get to know everyone quickly and it really feels like your home in Budapest. I planned for only a few days in Budapest but stayed 2 weeks mainly because of this hostel and the amazing staff. This happens to more travelers than not. Also, Claudia is the best person in the world. End of story.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaygeewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Carpe Noctem was by far my favorite hostel in Europe. The staff were very hospitable and made sure everyone felt right at home. Every night is planned out by the hostel workers (who are freaking awesome) and everyone is rounded up to head out and party. Nightlife is awesome!! Sick bars in old communist buildings with awesome interior design..Not to mention how cheap drinks are! In the daytime everyone recovers together. Awesome music is played throughout the hostel (Beatles, doors, daft punk etc) and you chill and get to know everyone you partied with the night before. Daytime trips also recommended by the hostel workers. I, like many others, have yet to remove my carpe noctem wristband in hopes of being taken back someday. The staff is awesome and I can't stress that part enough! If you're looking to meet awesome people from all over, party hard at night, chill all day (or go sightseeing which there is plenty of to do) in a cozy hostel with awesome people-- carpe noctem is the place to be. Love it and can't wait to return. Like the Eagles lyrics painted above their door read "You can check-out anytime you like, but you can never leave!"

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It has been four days since I left Carpe Noctem. Yet I'm still wearing the purple wristband they gave me on my first night, because I'm really hoping that if I ever get lost, someone will drop me off on their doorstep in Budapest and buzz me back in.

If you love meeting new people and having the time of your life, you would be nuts to not stay here while in Budapest. The staff are absolutely wonderful people and gave my two friends and I perfect recommendations of sights to see and places to eat in the city. Each night, we went out with a slightly different experience (magic baths, jager train — everything the other reviews discuss) but had endless fun each time. The hostel itself is very clean and centrally located. But as I already mentioned, the people who work and stay here will truly make your experience; they are so warm and welcoming you will never want to leave.

Basically, I can't wait to come back. Seize the night!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I am in love with this hostel! I cannot say enough amazing things about it. Carpe Noctem bills itself as a party hostel and definitely delivers offering pub crawls, party boat, party bus, and a trip to the thermal baths at night for a Magic Bath party. Definitely not to be missed!

The hostel itself has a limited number of beds, which makes it really easy to meet other guests and really get to know the amazing staff. Everyone working at Carpe Noctem genuinely loves being there and it is evident from the moment you walk in the door until you have to say goodbye to your new friends that have made you feel like family. I even extended my stay because I wasn't ready to leave!

While it is a party hostel, the festivities take place in other locations, providing for a great night's sleep and allows for exploring the amazing city of Budapest or relaxing at the hostel the next day. I felt very safe during my stay not only in the hostel itself, but also while traveling throughout the city as the staff does an amazing map reading to help familiarize you with the city and useful locations & information.

Staying at Carpe Noctem allowed me the chance to see and do everything I wanted plus more during my last stay and I cannot wait to return to have another amazing experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meagan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

It was a really nice place to be, they offer a whole bunch of activities and specially if you're looking to party. The staff is really nice, they want to make sure that guests have a good time and meet a lot of nice people. Really good experience, definitively recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos19900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 672 in Budapest
756 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 672 in Budapest
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#13 of 672 in Budapest
280 reviews
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#36 of 672 in Budapest
216 reviews
Avenue Hostel
#32 of 672 in Budapest
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Hostel

Address: Szobi utca 5/3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 672 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $16 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a group of more than 4, please stop reading here and choose a different hostel; we are mostly for single or solo travelers - we recommend our sister hostels Grandio Party Hostel, Retox Party Hostel or Carpe Noctem Vitae! We don't accept groups of any kind (see conditions below). If you are a sociable or solo traveler and want to meet other people in a welcoming, friendly, and voted the most fun hostel in the world (2009) environment, please read on: Atmosphere: Do you want to...- Be a SINGLE TRAVELER or SOCIABLE BACKPACKER meeting other similarly like minded people in a friendly, lively and social atmosphere?- Go out EVERY NIGHT on PUB CRAWLS, karaoke nights, cheap drink nights, live music nights?- Be taken out by staff to cool UNDERGROUND PLACES unseen on the common traveler's route?- Be given a WARM WELCOME and a detailed introduction of the city with all the hot spots for PUBS, BARS, RESTAURANTS, CLUBS and SIGHT SEEING?- Be INTRODUCED TO OTHER GUESTS so you can instantly make friends for your travels...if not life?- Feel like you are STAYING AT A MATE'S HOUSE, chilling on bean bags and drinking free tea and coffee until beer o'clock?- Feel like you are staying in a SOCIAL place not just a bed in a room?- SAVE MONEY by taking staff recommendations for cheap places, and using the specially negotiated food and drink deals for you?- Be given all the HELP, ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE for your entire stay in Budapest and beyond if needs be?- Stay in a place that doesn't believe in hidden charges and wants to give you as much for FREE as possible?- Have LIVE-IN native English/Australian English speaking staff who have all moved to Budapest because they came and fell in love with it and are passionate to show you why? Carpe Noctem ('seize the night', for those who rightly gave up Latin just after it died) is the perfect hangout and base for single travelers and young, sociable people who want to be part of an interactive and lively hostel experience as well as maximising the city in the day time and seizing the night when the sight seeing has ended. Facilities: We are Aussies and Brits who having traveled widely and decided we wanted certain things...* Free tea and coffee, not just when you arrive, all the time (and none of this European yellow label stuff, we get PG Tips imported from UK)* Free padlock hire* Free use of lockers* Free use of electronic staff safe* Free towel hire* Free bed linen (who charges for that anyway???)* Free internet use and free wifi* Orthopaedic mattresses* Air conditioning* Electronic entry system... (no more charges for lost keys!)* Free use of skype headsets* Smoking area* Laundry service available* 24 hour check in* Very relaxed check out times (you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!)* Free use of guidebooks and book exchange available* Free use of kitchen for you to cook...or for us to cook for you!* No curfew (it's called Carpe Noctem..... so seize the night!). Location: Walking distance from: House of Terror, Oktogon, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, City Park, Andrassy Avenue, St Istvan's Basilica, Freedom Square, The Danube & Parliament - all within 10-15 minutes. For lazy travelers....public transport is in our immediate location: the blue metro (for direct metros from nepliget coach station), and yellow metro are only a few streets away; the trolley bus and tram are 1 street away and the night bus route is at the bottom of the road. We even have a direct train from the airport 2 streets away! We are just off the main road which has pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants, 24 hour shops and clubs on it so there is no need to stray far for whatever you need, yet we are located on a quiet cobbled side street so you don't have to listen to the noise from traffic. Building: We are located in a 19th-century heritage listed building. We have a very cosy and intimate set up which means it is impossible not to meet people and make instant friends. Our apartment on the top floor is newly renovated and we have added our personal touches; hand made bean bags which means you can chill wherever you want around the house, a large corner sofa to watch films on, tables to eat on or play drinking games, depending on your mood, murals of the sights of the city across most walls so you can decide what to see that day (if our 30 minute run through of everything hasn't been enough info for you!). We have a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, apart from the times when we are cooking up roast dinners, gypsy gulyas (goulash), breakfast of champions, or whatever else we think the hostel needs to prepare it for a good night out or to deal with a hangover! We are located on the top floor, and due to the status of the building we have no lift...so if you are lazy, you may be better off going to a ground floor hostel! Conditions: We are ideally suited to single travelers, or groups of two or three who wish to meet people so if you just want an isolated stay with just a bed in a room, groups who don't wish to mingle or couples who want alone time only, we are probably not for you. Regrettably and due to previous experience we can no longer accept groups of any kind (more than 4 people), nor can we take bookings for guests over the age of 40. Nor can we accept bookings for people taller than Craig. We reserve the right the refuse any bookings that fall outside this criteria. On a final note, we are from England and Australia and often miss certain things from home....if you want to bring us something from home to put a smile on our faces or potentially knock a euro or two off your stay, please email us!!!!! Carpe Noctem awards: 2010- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Most fun hostel in the world, 2009- 5th Best hostel in the world, 2009- Best hostel in Eastern Europe. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing