We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TAKE ON THE NIGHT IN A MAJESTIC HOSTEL OF GLORY.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
“TAKE ON THE NIGHT IN A MAJESTIC HOSTEL OF GLORY.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Studying in Paris, I have friends that constantly tell me about their crazy weekends and the first time I arrived in Budapest was due to the glorious stories from a close friend of mine. Everything from the thermal baths during the day which heal you from the outrageous evenings you encounter, I knew I wanted in. To say my first experience at Carpe was incredible is an understatement. I was welcomed by a friendly staff and It felt as though we had been friends already. By the time I had to leave the first time, I was already trying to change my flight, which the only reason I made it home, was my friend who was clearly more responsible, and promised me that we would return. WHICH WE DID, as I just recently got back from staying at Carpe this past week, and I ended up having an even more outrageous and hilarious time. So many people are looking for the same kind of fun, then you make friends (dare I say romance, fleeting or not) and you come back with an experience that I can only say is addicting. Even though my flight was cancelled, Carpe welcomed my friend and I back with open arms and showed us such great hospitality, not to mention a good time each night. As to why anyone would stay elsewhere in Budapest is beyond me, because you meet everyone from the other party hostels anyways, so you feel a part of the community, whether your stay is brief or for weeks... The city is already so alive, and the staff, Claws whom I loved the moment she bear hugged me upon first meeting me, Scrumpy who is just adorable and always playing great music, Scotty who seems to charm every person with his ridiculous personality, as well as others like Rikki, Jakes, Germany, really everyone, I fell in love with each of their quirky personalities, and I have no problem calling each of them friends at the end of the day. (You get close when you spend your mornings and afternoons hungover as a community, as well as drunk off your head during the evenings.)
Love the hostel
Love the people
Love my stories
And I def. will be returning...
(although I'll need a break to recover from my last trip in particular.. It was too epic.)
:3 So Stay at Carpe, collect some stories, and you'll be trying to get back there in no time, no doubt.

Room Tip: Stay in Simpla, there is a progressive piece of art that the staff let me draw on the back of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    24
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
11
233
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friend and I ended up at Carpe Noctem on accident, but its was an accident we loved. The staff rivals that friendliness of a 5 star hotel with a crazy party edge of course. The whole staff is like one big family only happy to adopt anyone who walks through the door. The hostel was extremely clean, secure, and had an awesome, friendly, and considerate atmosphere. The night we arrived I happened to be turining 21 and the staff and group made my birthday the best one I've ever had. I even accidently left some money and a debit card out all night and someone found it and returned it to me the next day. The Bar crawl lead by "Claws" was amazing and gave you a very different view of the city, though the bars/nightclubs got a bit hazzy and more difficult to remember as the night wore on. The next day I woke up dragging and still a bit drunk and got a breakfast made by "Scrumpy" which was delicious. I've stayed in quite a few places all over the world and nothing compares to Carpe Noctem, it was the best hostel/city/experience/Birthday ever! I can't wait to go back and no hostel or hotel can or will ever be able to compare to Carpe Noctem. Love you guys!!! Be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Kildare, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hostel was AMAZING. The staff was friendly, funny and helpful. I felt safe, in a clean enviornment, and thanks to them I never had a boring night. A few people suggested I stay at Retox (another hostel in the same group), which I did before switching, it was NOT for me. I am so glad I ended up at Carpe Noctem for the rest of my stay. The experience was soooo much better. This hostel is now the high bar to which I compare all other hostels. And really they have made my other hostel stays look like $h!t. I will remember the people I met there and the fun that I had for many years to come. They made my time in Budapest the best it could have possibly been. I would definitely stay there again, and I have already told about a dozen people to look them up if they go to Budapest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A long time ago...

It was early in the morning - grey sky - and I decided to go on the road on with a sign written on it: Budapest! Two days later... I reached it. It was late in the night.. and I was really tired. Heading for a internet cafe looking for a hostel. And I saw this sign and name "Carpe Noctem"....and my brain remembered this one guy (I met in Riga) who told me about this place. So I thought... go for it - sleep! 40 minutes later and a crazy walk through the city I came there.. 5 minutes later on the stairs I finally reached the "top floor" and the entry to a new incredible awesome episode of my life.
Carpe Noctem is just the place you enter and feel home - even if you enter it after a trip like mine. You easily get together with all the people in this little family hang out on the couch during the day and hang out in the best pubs, clubs, on a boat or where ever in the night.
I dont wanna tell to many stories because my introduction was already to long...and there are just to much so I just end with this: "Carpe Noctem means fun, crazy nights and awesome people - just an amazing time!"

Thank you guys for everything!

Room Tip: Every bed is good even the couch! Go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio de Areco, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

hello my friends from Budapest! we love your hostel it's such a nice place. We will for sure recommand it to our friends from argentina/chile. next time we will also saty in our place, I hope we will come back there soon! love you x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne Lincolnshire
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I arrived at Carpe Noctum quite early after an overnight train, and as my bed wasnt ready yet I sat in the lounge area and watched as random crazy characters emerged, pushing through the effects of the previous night. My first impression then was of a bunch of mates hanging out together, and importantly I couldn´t tell who was staff and who wasn´t; there´s no reception area, I just walked straight in and hung out on the couch. Everyone was so relaxed together, and with only 2 dorm rooms I didn´t feel like I was in a hostel at all, brilliant!
Being un-organised and un-knowing of the city has never mattered so little. Right from check-in the staff told me everywhere to go, from restaurants to caving, and even put my name down for the caving so all I had to do was turn up. They really are happy to help.
Then of course the organised nights out blew my expectations of any night out I´ve been on. Where else would I be able to party on a night cruise up the river, go to a techno rave in the thermal baths, and witness a 150 drink Jager-train, all in about 4 days! The fact that the four party hostels will often go to the same venues means that you feel like part of a huge family, and knit even closer to the people in your own hostel. The companionship in these hostels is amazing. Being a part of these hostels also means discounts on drinks, free entry to bars (and the bars in Budapest are unique), and the opportunity to go out in a dress and do an open mic night without feeling like a muppet.
The hostels are cleaned daily, as are the staff, so the facilities are always comfortable and clean.
Fantastic location, within a few minutes of clubs, food, the river, and walking tours - and right by nyguati station and the metro; everything´s reachable from carpe.
Budapest is a beautiful city, but the people I´ve met at Carpe have made this trip for me; if there is any hostel you want to stay at in Budapest, go to Carpe, make some friends and a bag full of crazy memories. A truly unique place.

Room Tip: Every rooms a gooden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

To start off, I'm usually paranoid of hostels, so I tend to avoid them. But I was travelling with a friend who had stayed here before and loved it, and now its easy to see why. From the moment you walk in, you feel right at home. The staff are genuinely nice and very helpful. There are nightly events organized to keep the fun rolling. The other guests are easy to get along with, the hostel isn't noisy and the beds are comfortable. The hostel is centrally located, very tidy and above all very safe. Would highly recommend staying here if your going to Budapest...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,093 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
978 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,193 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,743 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 654 in Budapest
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Hostel

Property: Carpe Noctem Hostel
Address: Szobi utca 5/3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 654 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a group of more than 4, please stop reading here and choose a different hostel; we are mostly for single or solo travelers - we recommend our sister hostels Grandio Party Hostel, Retox Party Hostel or Carpe Noctem Vitae! We don't accept groups of any kind (see conditions below). If you are a sociable or solo traveler and want to meet other people in a welcoming, friendly, and voted the most fun hostel in the world (2009) environment, please read on: Atmosphere: Do you want to...- Be a SINGLE TRAVELER or SOCIABLE BACKPACKER meeting other similarly like minded people in a friendly, lively and social atmosphere?- Go out EVERY NIGHT on PUB CRAWLS, karaoke nights, cheap drink nights, live music nights?- Be taken out by staff to cool UNDERGROUND PLACES unseen on the common traveler's route?- Be given a WARM WELCOME and a detailed introduction of the city with all the hot spots for PUBS, BARS, RESTAURANTS, CLUBS and SIGHT SEEING?- Be INTRODUCED TO OTHER GUESTS so you can instantly make friends for your travels...if not life?- Feel like you are STAYING AT A MATE'S HOUSE, chilling on bean bags and drinking free tea and coffee until beer o'clock?- Feel like you are staying in a SOCIAL place not just a bed in a room?- SAVE MONEY by taking staff recommendations for cheap places, and using the specially negotiated food and drink deals for you?- Be given all the HELP, ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE for your entire stay in Budapest and beyond if needs be?- Stay in a place that doesn't believe in hidden charges and wants to give you as much for FREE as possible?- Have LIVE-IN native English/Australian English speaking staff who have all moved to Budapest because they came and fell in love with it and are passionate to show you why? Carpe Noctem ('seize the night', for those who rightly gave up Latin just after it died) is the perfect hangout and base for single travelers and young, sociable people who want to be part of an interactive and lively hostel experience as well as maximising the city in the day time and seizing the night when the sight seeing has ended. Facilities: We are Aussies and Brits who having traveled widely and decided we wanted certain things...* Free tea and coffee, not just when you arrive, all the time (and none of this European yellow label stuff, we get PG Tips imported from UK)* Free padlock hire* Free use of lockers* Free use of electronic staff safe* Free towel hire* Free bed linen (who charges for that anyway???)* Free internet use and free wifi* Orthopaedic mattresses* Air conditioning* Electronic entry system... (no more charges for lost keys!)* Free use of skype headsets* Smoking area* Laundry service available* 24 hour check in* Very relaxed check out times (you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!)* Free use of guidebooks and book exchange available* Free use of kitchen for you to cook...or for us to cook for you!* No curfew (it's called Carpe Noctem..... so seize the night!). Location: Walking distance from: House of Terror, Oktogon, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, City Park, Andrassy Avenue, St Istvan's Basilica, Freedom Square, The Danube & Parliament - all within 10-15 minutes. For lazy travelers....public transport is in our immediate location: the blue metro (for direct metros from nepliget coach station), and yellow metro are only a few streets away; the trolley bus and tram are 1 street away and the night bus route is at the bottom of the road. We even have a direct train from the airport 2 streets away! We are just off the main road which has pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants, 24 hour shops and clubs on it so there is no need to stray far for whatever you need, yet we are located on a quiet cobbled side street so you don't have to listen to the noise from traffic. Building: We are located in a 19th-century heritage listed building. We have a very cosy and intimate set up which means it is impossible not to meet people and make instant friends. Our apartment on the top floor is newly renovated and we have added our personal touches; hand made bean bags which means you can chill wherever you want around the house, a large corner sofa to watch films on, tables to eat on or play drinking games, depending on your mood, murals of the sights of the city across most walls so you can decide what to see that day (if our 30 minute run through of everything hasn't been enough info for you!). We have a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, apart from the times when we are cooking up roast dinners, gypsy gulyas (goulash), breakfast of champions, or whatever else we think the hostel needs to prepare it for a good night out or to deal with a hangover! We are located on the top floor, and due to the status of the building we have no lift...so if you are lazy, you may be better off going to a ground floor hostel! Conditions: We are ideally suited to single travelers, or groups of two or three who wish to meet people so if you just want an isolated stay with just a bed in a room, groups who don't wish to mingle or couples who want alone time only, we are probably not for you. Regrettably and due to previous experience we can no longer accept groups of any kind (more than 4 people), nor can we take bookings for guests over the age of 40. Nor can we accept bookings for people taller than Craig. We reserve the right the refuse any bookings that fall outside this criteria. On a final note, we are from England and Australia and often miss certain things from home....if you want to bring us something from home to put a smile on our faces or potentially knock a euro or two off your stay, please email us!!!!! Carpe Noctem awards: 2010- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Most fun hostel in the world, 2009- 5th Best hostel in the world, 2009- Best hostel in Eastern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Carpe Noctem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing