We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My 2nd home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My 2nd home”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've just returned from my 9th trip to Budapest in 3 years and every time I've chosen to stay at the Carpe Noctem. Nothing beats it. What makes this hostel so great is that it's small, so you become friends with everybody; the staff are all backpackers, so they know what you want, and they become your friends too; and every night is party night! My tip would be to make sure you're there on a Sunday night, but every single night of the week is awesome, so don't worry.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    24
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
10
221
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaerbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I must say I virtually loved everything at Carpe Noctem!!!! For me probably one of the 2 best hostels I've ever stayed in. The place is ideally located less than 5 minutes away from the main train station, and is very easy to find. From here, you are at a walking distance of all the main attractions of Budapest too.

The hostel is based on the last floor of a flat building, and is particularly safe: one digicode at the main entrance, and one to access the hostel. It's even so secured, that you don't really need any locker for your personal belongings, even if you can use one if you want, or put your valuable staff in the safe.

In the hostel, you immediately feel at home. I arrived at 21:00, and was very warmly welcomed by Joel, who also gave me countless tips about what to do and what to see in the city. If you have any question, the staff will do everything possible to help you.

Moreover, it's a small hostel with only 22 beds, which means that you have a great chance to meet everybody, and quickly turn friends, either by chating in the comfortable and pleasant common room, by sharing a lunch together, or by joigning one of the many incredible activities organized every day and evening. Don't miss the Jager train, and the open micro nights, they are just amazing!

Last but not least, the place is perfectly clean day and night. The staff is constantly sweeping, cleaning the flour or the bathrooms to make your stay in their place absolutely perfect.

Frankly speaking, an amazing hostel, really worth the money, all the great reviews, and rewards it has already got. I had the best time ever here, and met really amazing people. By the way, I would not even speak of a hostel crew: they are all so friendly, and take part in all the events, so that they can rather quickly be considered as friends too!


Apart from that, that's true that nothing's perfect, so indeed the Carpe Noctem still has one huge weak point: it's TOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOD so that when you pass the door for the first time, you can't leave the place. Carpe Noctem you try, Carpe Noctem addict you turn!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotauvergnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Carpe Noctem is a family,
Carpe Noctem is a destination,
Carpe Noctem is a way of life.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Ganzinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I am still full of smiles just thinking about this magical place, so again - :DDDDD
I can't put in words how I feel about it, but if I could it would be a combo of awesome+hilarious+amazing+best ever+looove!
There is absolutely nothing I would change about it! The location is super sweet, they provide you with all the info you might need, they're very well informed and very helpful with everything. The place is clean and cozy and the atmosphere is amazing! I do couchsurfing, and I still did more sightseeing, had more fun and made more friends at Carpe! I had the time of my life, partied with the most awesome people one could meet and nothing can compare to the THE STAFF!!! They all live there, so they basically spend 24/7 with you and they are so amazing that not even those 24 hours are enough! It's definitely them who make it so special. Hanging out and having fun with these people every single night makes it a unique experience and makes you never want to do anything else. Not one day is boring. I haven't met a single person who hasn't overstayed. Some of them just stay there and never leave, wish I could be one of those lucky peepz. Even when they're overbooked they're nice enough to put you in the staff room.
I can't wait to see you all again, which is probably going to be in less than a month and then I'll kiss and hug the hell out of youz! I LOVE YOU, Carpe, you rock my world <3

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jovana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Carpe Noctem was a great hostel in many ways, the staff were friendly, rooms were clean, well organized event nights everynight and a GREAT PLACE to PARTY. I don't need to go into detail about those things, because im sure you will read the same reviews i did, and choose the hostel because of those reasons. BUT! although the hostel was great for getting people together and making them get out and party together, they were not very professional. Yes, the guy working that night will be great at enthusiastically rousing you into a cheap Jager night, but good luck getting him to help you check out and direct you where to book you're train in the morning. The relatively cheap "all in" laundry service seems nice, but when the guy who is supposed to dry and fold it leaves it on top of the washer because he is to hungover to do it for you on the morning you are checking out, it isn't such a great deal. If you are merely in Budapest for a 5 day binge (which we sort of were) than the hostel can be a ton of fun. But if you have places to be after Budapest, or are hoping for some type of control over the booze fueled chaos than maybe you should reconsider this hostel (or at the very least, organize the important stuff the day before). I mostly LOVED this hostel for its laissez-faire attitude, but it is important to know what you are getting yourself into before you go!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank General D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Ive been travelling all around the world and have stayed in countless amounts of hostels.

Like most good hostel, word of mouth travels fast amongst fellow travellers. Im so glad I ended up staying at Carpe Noctem.

Its a small intimate hostel with a family feel. 3 nice size rooms with a awesome common room to chillout and mingle with other travellers.

Why do I think that this is the best Hostel in Europe?
Firstly the staff. Big shout out to Scrumpy, Charlie and Sly. These guys will go out of their way to make sure you know the ins and outs of Budapest, met the other guests and to insure that you have the best night out on the town. Ask anyone who has stayed there, they become your family.
Location is close to Octagon and major metroline. Short walk to awesome pubs, clubs and cheap places to eat.
Because of the design of the hostel, the common room is a awesome place to meet others. With only 22 beds, everyone seems o be willing to party together or even just chillax during the day.
The downside to Carpe Noctem... I booked and rebooked to stay longer and longer. I never wanted to leave. This place is hard to move on from...
For a laugh, ask the staff about the story of the The Wolfpack and the Leopard Skin.
As soon as finished backpacking the rest of the Balkans, Ill be back to Carpe!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamingwithroan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is actually the best hostel i've ever stayed in. Even if you don't leave the hostel, you'll fall in love with the city and everyone in it just by sitting on carpe noctums sofa.

Room Tip: You probably won't sleep, so don't worry to much about which room you end up in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becky693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,646 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Hostel

Property: Carpe Noctem Hostel
Address: Szobi utca 5/3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 641 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a group of more than 4, please stop reading here and choose a different hostel; we are mostly for single or solo travelers - we recommend our sister hostels Grandio Party Hostel, Retox Party Hostel or Carpe Noctem Vitae! We don't accept groups of any kind (see conditions below). If you are a sociable or solo traveler and want to meet other people in a welcoming, friendly, and voted the most fun hostel in the world (2009) environment, please read on: Atmosphere: Do you want to...- Be a SINGLE TRAVELER or SOCIABLE BACKPACKER meeting other similarly like minded people in a friendly, lively and social atmosphere?- Go out EVERY NIGHT on PUB CRAWLS, karaoke nights, cheap drink nights, live music nights?- Be taken out by staff to cool UNDERGROUND PLACES unseen on the common traveler's route?- Be given a WARM WELCOME and a detailed introduction of the city with all the hot spots for PUBS, BARS, RESTAURANTS, CLUBS and SIGHT SEEING?- Be INTRODUCED TO OTHER GUESTS so you can instantly make friends for your travels...if not life?- Feel like you are STAYING AT A MATE'S HOUSE, chilling on bean bags and drinking free tea and coffee until beer o'clock?- Feel like you are staying in a SOCIAL place not just a bed in a room?- SAVE MONEY by taking staff recommendations for cheap places, and using the specially negotiated food and drink deals for you?- Be given all the HELP, ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE for your entire stay in Budapest and beyond if needs be?- Stay in a place that doesn't believe in hidden charges and wants to give you as much for FREE as possible?- Have LIVE-IN native English/Australian English speaking staff who have all moved to Budapest because they came and fell in love with it and are passionate to show you why? Carpe Noctem ('seize the night', for those who rightly gave up Latin just after it died) is the perfect hangout and base for single travelers and young, sociable people who want to be part of an interactive and lively hostel experience as well as maximising the city in the day time and seizing the night when the sight seeing has ended. Facilities: We are Aussies and Brits who having traveled widely and decided we wanted certain things...* Free tea and coffee, not just when you arrive, all the time (and none of this European yellow label stuff, we get PG Tips imported from UK)* Free padlock hire* Free use of lockers* Free use of electronic staff safe* Free towel hire* Free bed linen (who charges for that anyway???)* Free internet use and free wifi* Orthopaedic mattresses* Air conditioning* Electronic entry system... (no more charges for lost keys!)* Free use of skype headsets* Smoking area* Laundry service available* 24 hour check in* Very relaxed check out times (you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!)* Free use of guidebooks and book exchange available* Free use of kitchen for you to cook...or for us to cook for you!* No curfew (it's called Carpe Noctem..... so seize the night!). Location: Walking distance from: House of Terror, Oktogon, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, City Park, Andrassy Avenue, St Istvan's Basilica, Freedom Square, The Danube & Parliament - all within 10-15 minutes. For lazy travelers....public transport is in our immediate location: the blue metro (for direct metros from nepliget coach station), and yellow metro are only a few streets away; the trolley bus and tram are 1 street away and the night bus route is at the bottom of the road. We even have a direct train from the airport 2 streets away! We are just off the main road which has pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants, 24 hour shops and clubs on it so there is no need to stray far for whatever you need, yet we are located on a quiet cobbled side street so you don't have to listen to the noise from traffic. Building: We are located in a 19th-century heritage listed building. We have a very cosy and intimate set up which means it is impossible not to meet people and make instant friends. Our apartment on the top floor is newly renovated and we have added our personal touches; hand made bean bags which means you can chill wherever you want around the house, a large corner sofa to watch films on, tables to eat on or play drinking games, depending on your mood, murals of the sights of the city across most walls so you can decide what to see that day (if our 30 minute run through of everything hasn't been enough info for you!). We have a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, apart from the times when we are cooking up roast dinners, gypsy gulyas (goulash), breakfast of champions, or whatever else we think the hostel needs to prepare it for a good night out or to deal with a hangover! We are located on the top floor, and due to the status of the building we have no lift...so if you are lazy, you may be better off going to a ground floor hostel! Conditions: We are ideally suited to single travelers, or groups of two or three who wish to meet people so if you just want an isolated stay with just a bed in a room, groups who don't wish to mingle or couples who want alone time only, we are probably not for you. Regrettably and due to previous experience we can no longer accept groups of any kind (more than 4 people), nor can we take bookings for guests over the age of 40. Nor can we accept bookings for people taller than Craig. We reserve the right the refuse any bookings that fall outside this criteria. On a final note, we are from England and Australia and often miss certain things from home....if you want to bring us something from home to put a smile on our faces or potentially knock a euro or two off your stay, please email us!!!!! Carpe Noctem awards: 2010- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Most fun hostel in the world, 2009- 5th Best hostel in the world, 2009- Best hostel in Eastern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Carpe Noctem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing