We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with a lot of character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Prima Fashion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Prima Fashion Hotel
Ranked #52 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a lot of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you're tired of faceless luxury hotels and want to branch out into something a bit more boutique with some individual character while in Budapest, look no further than La Prima fashion hotel. Located in the middle of Vaci street (one of main shopping streets on Pest side), La Prima was the perfect choice for my brief stay.

It delivered on many of my important metrics - excellent location, reasonably priced, substantive breakfast included in the room price, artfully designed and comfortable rooms, etc. Note that the rooms are actually pretty decently sized too, so you won't be walking into a space the size of your closet.

Finally, the language barrier was no issue at all, which might be a concern at smaller, non-chain hotels; all staff that I interacted with spoke English well. One of two places and locations I stayed on my long weekend trip to Budapest and this was hands down the winner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corey_schwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    570
    131
    14
    11
See reviews for
199
652
71
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Booked through laterooms and got a great deal - £185 for 3 nights bed and breakfast for 2 of us. It really is superbl located just where the Vaci Utca (main shopping street) crosses teh Elizabeth Bridge approach, just 200 metres from the Danube next to the Elizabeth Bridge with superb views of the Citadel and Castle Hill. The location couldn't be better to be honest.There are many restaurants within easy walking distance including the italian restaurant which the hotel sits above (although we didn't eat there) which seemed very busy. Staff were all very helpful and courteous and the room was an excellent size and very well furnished. Even though it is very close to many of the sight it is very quiet in the room. I would happily go back and/or recommend to anyone planning a short break.

Room Tip: There seem to be few differences that I could see and all seemed very quiet, even those on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Hotels location is probably one of the best in the city, just in the corner of the main shopping street Vaci Utca. Reception staff was very helpfull and also sold us tickets to Gellert thermal spa and booked us massages, which was super helpful!
Decoration and design of the hotel is beatiful ,but at least our room (standard?) was not very spacious. Normal size person hardly fits to the shower cabin ;)
For short stay it didnt matter, but for longer stay I would recommend deluxe room or suite.
Also our room had wall-to-wall carpet which made our nose get stuck.
The internet page of the hotel seems to have only pictures from deluxe rooms and suites.
Beds were very comfortable! Cleaning was very good, couldnt find even a spot or slight dust nowhere! Breakfast was basic but good, different coffee options were definete plus =)

Room Tip: Court yard room is very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudy-Jasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed there for 7nights (16th to 23rd March).The hotel is in throwing distance of the Danube.It also just off Vaci utca where there are alot of shops and restaurants.Its also in walking distance of most of the attractions.The main door to the hotel is quite small.It could be easily missed.We had two double rooms on the inside of the hotel.The room was a decent size and looked over the reception that I had.The mattress on bed is of agood standard(I slept very well).The cleanliness of the hotel was without question(immaculate).Breakfast starts at 7am and had agood selection of food and drink.The bar is in a strange place.Its at the reception.So when you had a drink at the bar.You have people coming past you.But,there are alot of places around there to go for a drink.The staff are very helpful and answered questions quite happily.I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I am just back from a 3 night stay in the La Prima with my boyfriend to celebrate our anniversary which falls on St Patricks day so thought it would be nice to celebrate it away from the drunkeness of Dublin on the 17th March!!! Only regret we wish our stay had of been for longer. The pictures of the rooms on the website are exactly what you get. The location is brilliant because you are literally on the pedestrian walkway were all the big shops and restaurants can be found. The Danube is a two minute walk from the hotel and can be seen from the entrance. The breakfast was nice with a small but good variety of food. The bed was really comfortable and we had a little walled courtyard balcony with table and chairs onto our room which was a nice surprise. There was no noise at night from other rooms or out on the corridors which you would normally get in a city hotel. The reception staff are great and we were able to book tours with them directly rather than searching for the people to do it with. All in all it was a wonderful stay and would recommend this hotel and Budapest to anyone! Would love to go back!

Room Tip: I booked this room through arrowtours.ie as the rates for this hotel are a lot cheaper than direct w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cussy-funt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4days. It's in a great location not just for shopping (out the door of hotel turn left 30 seconds ) but for the hop on hop off boat (it is only 2 mins walk to the river out the hotel door turn right) and 3 mins from the bus stop on the pest side of the city.
In fact everything is within easy walking distance.

The breakfast that was included was a buffet with both some limited hot food which we did not expect. The bedrooms were a good size and the mirror with the TV in it on the wall was a different touch. The rooms were very clean as you would expect for a new hotel.The staff could not do enough to help and even arranged pick up from and to the airport for us
The welcome pack is a nice touch with all the information on things to do and a nice little map of the city.

We will use it again when we return to Budapest

Room Tip: Look for a room with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headwrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We spent 4 nights there and found tgis hotel very comfortable, with amazing choice of food for breakfast : croissants, ham, cheese, scrambled eggs, tomatoes and paprika....this hotel is also well located, on Pest side, 5 mns walking to the marcius Square where are departures of riverboats on the Danube river, next to Vaci Utca, a shopping street with lots souvenir shops. in the same street of the hotel is the oldest hungarian restaurant, very tasty with music. The hotel staff is very friendly, available 24hours/24. the rooms are not so big but comfortable with a safe inside.. I recommend it and about the price, it wasn't really expensive as it was also not during holidays: less than 260 euros for 2 people, 4 nights including the huge breakfast. Moreover, the hotel can book for you airport shuttle : 2500 Forint = less than 10 euros per person.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirouchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#76 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#51 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Prima Fashion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Prima Fashion Hotel

Property: La Prima Fashion Hotel
Address: Piarista utca 6. | (previous street name: Pesti Barnabas utca 6.), Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Prima Fashion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylishly appointed trendy hotel, La Prima Fashion Hotel Budapest offers modern 4-star hotel facilities from 1st March 2011 in the heart of Budapest, as a member of the Fashion Hotels brand, dedicated to Mellow Mood Hotels.La Prima Fashion Hotel Budapest offers 80 fashionably decorated rooms, incorporating the latest trends in hotel facilities, high-tech conference installations and a cool breakfast restaurant ensuring a relaxing and comfortable stay whether travelling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your La Prima Fashion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing